Customer Reviews


309 Reviews
5 star:
 (240)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bull or bear?
I don't own a single share but would like to try to make a little bit of money through the markets. I read this book in a day (and will be re-reading it shortly) and I found it enormously useful and - naff though this might sound - really quite inspirational.

Like some other reviewers I found the plugging of the author's seminars and the Advfn website a bit...
Published on 14 Jan. 2010 by lifeclearout

versus
92 of 102 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent introduction
It would be unfair to rate this book very low. But I do have a number of issues with it which give some cause for concern. From a positive perspective it is an excellent and up to date introduction to trading and current internet information systems. However; having stated this and effectively recommended the book to the novice, it is very worrying how willing the author...
Published on 28 Mar. 2012 by cyman


‹ Previous | 128 29 30 31 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worth every penny - Mike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thanks great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A tiny bit of information, littered with bad jokes and advertisements, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book could have been a 100-page introduction to trading, which I would have given maybe 3.5 stars. However, the little useful information in this book is heavily diluted to nearly 400 pages by awful jokes that make you cringe, and various advertisements for products, websites, the author's seminars, and affiliate links to data services (the author gets paid a commission every time you follow one of the "special offer" links in the book).

If you're absolutely new to trading and don't know the difference between spread betting and a normal trading account, or if you want to know what level 2 data means, there might be a few bits of useful information in the book, but as I said, you have to wade through the nonsense in order to get to it.

Be warned however, that some of his advice is dangerously simplistic. For example he tells about how he asked his wife about who makes the most popular handbags, and bought shares in that company. Or he went into a shop and received bad service, and therefore shorted the stock. This kind of trading can easily lead to big losses.

I'm not exaggerating about the bad jokes; they significantly detract from the reading experience. For example, on page 78 he devotes an ENTIRE PAGE to a nonsensical "The Naked Trader Guide to Market Jargon", containing things like "Profits: what you used to make before you started share trading", and "Stock split: When your ex-wife and your lawyer split your assets equally between them". Oddly enough, there is actually no serious explanation given later for any of these terms, thus demonstrating that trying to be funny is more important to the author than actually getting useful information across.

Overall, the book is very gimmicky, is aimed at novices, and is basically a facility for him to advertise his website, his seminars, and make money from commissions he gets from you clicking on his links.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dividend 20% to 25% ?, 2 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are transferring your pension into a SIPP. Get this book.

I looked at the page that said, we should aim between 20 to 25% dividend yield from all the companies we invest in.

But adding all the dividend percentages together and dividing by the number of companies I invested £1000 in, had only calculated a dividend yield of 5% from all the shares maximum.

If you could get 25% dividend a year,from your shares, you would not need to bother trading on the stock market because you would also double your investment in 3 years, just like the author did with just dividends.

On the ADVFN website, I did see an advert looking for traders to invest in recycling metals at 20% profit a year and SIPP Legal. But you would have to take care that it is not a Ripoff company who is advertising.

If you have transfered your Pension into a SIPP. I would advise you to BUY this book before you start trading. The reason is, the book will tell you in it's own words for example, that if the Stock market represented a river. The FTSE 100 is on the surface, FTSE 250 is below the Surface and the rest are below the FTSE 250.

So what its trying to say is the shares still have a long way to rise before it reaches the surface for small companies that might make you greater profits than the FTSE 100 which is already on the surface and is unable to rise as much. The FTSE 100 would just be bobbing up and down on the surface of the river and would only rise after heavy rain.

This also includes all the companies you might decide to invest in individually in the FTSE 100.

In the book it also Say's that shares Go Down with a company after they have paid out their dividends. This could be an opportunity to spread bet the shares to go down, in the anticipation it will go down after the dividend pay out. You might be able to set it up. Just obtain the dividend calender on the INTERNET, which will tell you the dividend dates. This information is not in the Strategies section of the book. So don't bother Looking for it.

The only way to get 20% to 25% out of the Stockmarket is to put your money into Gold, and rent out the commodity by writing Options against the security. Again the book does not show you how to trade in Options, you could use options to compound your investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for begiiners!, 13 Aug. 2009
This review is from: The Naked Trader: How Anyone Can Make Money Trading Shares (Paperback)
I found this an entertaining and very imformative book, it explains everything you need to know about trading on the stock market.

The author literally explains all you need to know to get going, after reading this book i am very confident and plan to start trading next week, he explains in plain english no jrgon and big words.

I strongly recommend this to anyone who wants to start trading or is just curious how it all works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading, 9 Dec. 2012
I ploughed through The Naked Trader and The Guide to Spread Betting in a couple of weeks and really enjoyed them both. Entertaining and educational. Making trading entertaining and explaining complex strategies simply and clearly is where Robbie comes into his own. Essential reading for newbies to share trading or spread betting. Great work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paid for itself in days, 16 Oct. 2009
By 
R. Small - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Naked Trader: How Anyone Can Make Money Trading Shares (Paperback)
I began trading a few months ago and just last week decided I should learn what the hell I'm doing.

Read Robbie Burn's book in 5 days and have already saved the cost of it by dumping a share I should have never got into.

The Naked Trader is a no nonsense, no jargon, "This is how you pick a share" book. If you don't want to get bogged down by picking apart charts and accounts, this is the book for you.

Of course, Robbie doesn't say, "You can make money without doing any work". Quite the contrary, he says, if you do your research and follow a few hard-learned rules, you'll increase your chances of picking winners. Just don't get bogged down with the minute details.

Plus, if you have a question you can email him directly and he will answer (replied to me just 6 hours after I mailed him - I don't even reply that quickly to my mates).

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Irritating style, 3 May 2014
Some useful info but his style and constant self promotion is irksome. Having read most of it, I won't be revisiting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !!!, 11 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just Brilliant!!! absolutely brilliant, I am reading it for the 3rd time now, on my Blackberry Playbook with Kindle installed.
A very informative book if you want to learn about stocks and shares, it's a must read.
Thank you Robbie!!!
AAA +++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have never worked or ventured in finance you should read., 22 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was looking for a book to ease me in the financial world and this was it, very easy to read and understandable, went easy with the jargon.

For a novice like me a great read and recommended some good books that has kept me interested even though I hate working with numbers.

Definately worth reading if new to investing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 128 29 30 31 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Naked Trader: How Anyone Can Make Money Trading Shares
The Naked Trader: How Anyone Can Make Money Trading Shares by Robbie Burns (Paperback - 10 Dec. 2007)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews