Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best - WHAT IF ?... - book i ever read.
Like most people interested in this type of subjects, i think i've already seen all the documentaries there is to see, read most of everything available and listened to some fascinating radio interviews over the years about this moon hoax thing.
I had reached my own conclusions and altough i had left a door open inside my mind for new future arguments, i thought this...
Published on 8 Jan 2010 by Luis Peres

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT BUYING THIS DRIVEL
Oh for heaven's sake. Another one..Why do these mushwits feel the urge to publish this drivel ? The idea that NASA could not have gone to the moon because it's too big a concept for some x-box addled, sofa-dwelling, potato-shaped moron to work out how to get there is becoming a bore. The "science" GW uses to attempt to debunk the Apollo missions would be...
Published 1 month ago by Geoff S


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT BUYING THIS DRIVEL, 25 July 2014
By 
Geoff S (London England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Small Step?: The Great Moon Hoax and the Race to Dominate Earth from Space (Paperback)
Oh for heaven's sake. Another one..Why do these mushwits feel the urge to publish this drivel ? The idea that NASA could not have gone to the moon because it's too big a concept for some x-box addled, sofa-dwelling, potato-shaped moron to work out how to get there is becoming a bore. The "science" GW uses to attempt to debunk the Apollo missions would be laughable were it not so pathetic and, as has been pointed out elsewhere, it would have been very easy for the USSR, China any of the non-aligned states - even France, who were no great fans of NASA - to debunk the whole Apollo project with two simple directional antennas and a stretch of road. That did not happen, so to suggest the Moon landings were false is to suggest the whole of world history from 1945-1990 was faked too. This book is a symptom of pernicious anti-science, another manifestation of the fundamentalist nonsense that seems to be taking hold of religions in the modern world and a wilful, defiant ignorance of anything outside a very narrow frame of personal reference. This is not just a bad book, but a malignant one - it seeks obscurantism over discovery and superstition over science. Don't buy it, on any level..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 78 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book if you believe in the healing power of crystals, 2 July 2010
By 
Mr. K. Papas "kleopapas" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Small Step?: The Great Moon Hoax and the Race to Dominate Earth from Space (Paperback)
This book is for the gullible, the credulous and for those people that shrilly proclaim that one needs to keep an open mind. I agree but not to the extent that my brain falls out. What is so depressing to me is the fact that any sensible person with just a mere semblance of reasoning, would quickly grasp that successfully faking a moon landing is actually harder than going to the moon. Period. Apollo 11 sent TV and radio signals that came from lunar coordinates, these cannot be faked and nobody had more of a vested interest than uncovering the alleged hoax than the Russians. And they didn't because they couldn't. Fact. By picking up the same signal from 2 separate locations, far enough apart to form a base line for triangulation, a grade school student using simple maths could tell you the signals came from 240,000 miles away. And even if they managed to fake it, why risk it by faking it a further 5 times right up to Apollo 17 in December 1972? The real story of Apollo, Gemini, Mercury and Soyuz is infinitely more interesting. The 6 moon landings were in my humble opinion the absolute pinnacle of human achievement, demonstrating what incredible things we can achieve through application, dedication and sheer determination. Finally, what does the author make of the footage and pictures taken just last year of ALL 6 descent stages from low lunar orbit? One can clearly see them, with their gold foil still gleaming, the tracks of the lunar rovers, the debris and even the footsteps of the Apollo astronauts still clearly discernible. If you thought this was a good book then you clearly have not even a basic grasp of science, and yes flags can move in a vacuum. If you liked this book then why not try "JFK - Alive and Well and Living in Vegas" or "How BSM Killed Princess Diana - When Driving Lessons Go Wrong"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best - WHAT IF ?... - book i ever read., 8 Jan 2010
By 
Luis Peres "Luis Peres" (Portugal - Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Small Step?: The Great Moon Hoax and the Race to Dominate Earth from Space (Paperback)
Like most people interested in this type of subjects, i think i've already seen all the documentaries there is to see, read most of everything available and listened to some fascinating radio interviews over the years about this moon hoax thing.
I had reached my own conclusions and altough i had left a door open inside my mind for new future arguments, i thought this whole thing was more or less well debunked, particulary the statments about multiple shadows, photographs or the radiation belt around the earth.
Until now.
Now that i've read this book it seems i might be right at the same place where i begun when i first took notice of this subject years ago.
"One Small Step?" is so detailed and well researched (at least it seems so), that manages to -debunk the debunkers- whithout being a book about that.
If you expect another to find something similar to what Bart Sibrel has done and with that same "i know i'm right" egocentric feeling, forget it, because "One Small Step?" doesn't even tries to be one of "those kind of books".

I know it will be very easy for it to be classified as -another conspiration- book (particulary by those who allready have their mind set), but go beyond that feel, give this work a chance. If you go into it with an open mind and a desire to learn more about this fascinating polemic ,i guarantee that you'll finish this book at least thinking that there really was something weird about the whole moon landing projects and that there's really a lot left unexplained that should be cleared.

If you thought you already read everything about the moon hoax, well...think again.
If you already feel most of everything was totaly debunked you're in for a surprise.
If you're looking for aditional information about this trully fascinating thing look no further as "One Small Step?" delivers way beyond what you think you already know. The research that went into this book is nothing short of amazing and the best of all is the way all the information is presented to the reader.
Don't expect one of those ultra-technical conspiracy books filled with tons of diagrams and all sorts of generic babble based on wacky assumptions. This fascinating book reads like a giant and very, very informative magazine article and you'll go through all the pages without even remembering you're reading "one of those types of books".
"One Small Step?" asks all sorts of new questions based on things you thought were already cleared by the debunkers or by honest based oficial scientific opinions.

The author managed to dig into some of the most famous hoax details and presented them under a new light, all backed up by some really good research work all detailed inside this pages.
The author might be considered to be just another conspiracy theorist cashing in the moon hoax thing by some people, but usualy these are persons who have decided what they think about the whole thing even before picking up the book.
If you go into it with an open mind you'll fascinated by the seriousness of all its content.

I recomend "One Small Step?" not to the people who already believe everything in this premise is true, and definetely not to the people who already "konw" it to be just a pile of unscientific garbage, but i realy, realy recomend it to the persons like myself.
I recomend "One Small Step?" to everybody who thought there was nothing more left to see about this and thought everything was well debunked by the mainstream opinions out there.
But what about conclusions ?
Will you leave this book thinking everything in it to be true ? Was there realy a giant moon hoax ?
I believe the answer will allways be in between as like the author states inside the book there is no way anyone on this planet wil ever know the truth because we can't travell to the moon and so all arguments will always have both sides. But now this doesn't mean one side will have the full thruth.
Personaly i think "One Small Step?" must be read as a real - WHAT IF ?..- book.
The information and research presented here are enough to make anyone wonder about the real truth behind this whole thing and so i guarantee you that you won't find a better (and serious) book about it anywhere.

Now, i only would love to know the author's thoughts about the recent fake moon rocks discovered in the Dutch museum. When you'll read the chapter about the authitencity of the moon rocks the conclusions might seem a little bit subjective but now that it was proven that some of the famous moon rocks presented by Nasa to the Dutch government were realy nothing more than petrified wood...you'll be thinking what else might be fake behind this whole story.
Someone also mentioned in a review that the whole moon landings were recentely proven to be real by the new photographs taken of the moon landing areas with all the stuff still there. Now...you must really read this book and see those photos by yourself. ;)

Do i believe the moon landings where a hoax after reading this book ?
I want to believe they were not as much as most of the world, so i guess i still choose to believe in them, but now i find my position almost as if it was some religious point of view...because after reading "One Small Step?" i can't help thinking ... "what if ?...".
One thing is certain, i'm recommending this book to everybody and i'll never look at the moon at the same way.
"One Small Step?" managed something i thought it would never happened in my opinion, it debunks the debunking and does it incredibly well and it's not even intended to be that type of book. What it does, does it with class. Instead of arguing, it lets the (new and very well researched) information speak for itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid review of the case against a genuine moon landing, 16 July 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Small Step?: The Great Moon Hoax and the Race to Dominate Earth from Space (Paperback)
Overall this is a good book, well worth your money.
It is divided in 3 parts. The first one examines the problems with the official Soviet narrative of the Gagarin flight, the second (and largest one) is a systematic analysis of the evidence that suggests the moon landings never tok place as NASA suggests they did, while the third part (and for me the most useful, since I was already familiar with the various Apollo problems) suggests that 'peaceful' exploration of space is nothing but a myth. The entire affair is mostly powerful vested interests in the military/industrial complex that manipulate public opinion to perpetuate their grip on taxpayer money.

But if you really wanna know whether or not the moon landings were faked, you need not even open this book. If you have the faintest idea about photography, a careful examination of its cover will suffice. The perfect exposure, focus and composition of the cover picture was supposedly accomplished by an astronaut on the surface of the moon...without a viewfinder!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big shot at exposing a big lie, 30 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Small Step?: The Great Moon Hoax and the Race to Dominate Earth from Space (Paperback)
If you are able to view events with a mind which is 30% open, by the time you have read this book you will no longer believe we went to the moon. The inconsistencies in the official story, coupled with the missing information and attempts to prevaricate and deceive, force the objective thinker to consider that the story as given simply is not complete. And an incomplete story which is sold as a definitive version of events is by its nature a deliberate deception. It really is that simple.

Gerhard Wisnewski has done a superb job of marshalling the main points of the moon landing hoax theory into an easily-readable package with plenty of illustrations and easy-to-follow language throughout, despite the translation from German and the technical subject matter. Starting in the USSR with an overview of the Russian space effort, the author necessarily devotes 80% of the remainder to the USA, with the last part an overview of the implications for the future. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exhaustive research, solid evidence, 9 May 2008
By 
Lyric (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Small Step?: The Great Moon Hoax and the Race to Dominate Earth from Space (Paperback)
I've been a little confused about the moon landing conspiracy for many years. I was aware that there were considerable holes in the photographic evidence presented to to the world by NASA, however was not yet prepared to accept that the entire Apollo program was fraudulent. Until I read this book. I am now 100% certain that this was a grand swindle and PR exercise. Wisnewski presents the evidence quietly, dispassionately and in detail. He sticks to the facts, and even goes so far as to prove that the claims of some conspiracy theorists are false in relation to some aspects of photographic analysis. He approaches his subject scientifically and maintains credibility at all times. No where in this book will you find claims regarding aliens, atlantis, or any other bunkum. Instead you get analysis for splash down accuracy, the descriptions and photographs of NASA's massive 'Simulation" facilities and a whole wealth of other data which leaves you with only one natural conclusion. Apollo was fake from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know to realise the moon landings ..., 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Small Step?: The Great Moon Hoax and the Race to Dominate Earth from Space (Paperback)
All you need to know to realise the moon landings were staged is the following: The earth's atmosphere & magnetic field are the equivalent of 3 feet of solid lead, & are just sufficient to protect us from the deadly solar & cosmic radiation continually coming our way. Therefore the lunar astronauts needed 3 feet of solid lead insulation around them at all times to go to the moon & come back alive. I don't remember Armstrong or Aldrin, etc struggling with this 10 ton entombment. This is why I can't understand physicists who glibly remark about the 'moon landings'. Talk about holding contradictory ideas in your head simultaneously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Sarcastic Tone!, 26 April 2011
By 
nmollo (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Small Step?: The Great Moon Hoax and the Race to Dominate Earth from Space (Paperback)
One Small Step? by Gerhard Wisnewski

The debate concerning the Moon Landings is often emotional and derogatory. The official narrative is supported and sustained by an intolerant lobby that often fails to answer skeptical questions empirically and dispassionately. On the other side, are the skeptics that fall into many different polarized groups. The moderate skeptic that bases skepticism on reasonable doubt, is often ignored.

One Small Step? by Gerhard Wisnewski clearly suffers from translation, not from spelling errors or grammatical faults but from a sarcastic tone that dominates most of the prose.

Gerhard Wisnewski clearly sees the issue of landing on the moon as politically charged with dangerous implications that still resonate today. If this is the case then Gerhard Wisnewski should deal with the subject with a more authoritative and less flippant tone.

Interestingly enough, the writing begins to improve as Gerhard Wisnewski explains the dangerous world of 1960's America. The Cuban Missile Crisis, the Vietnam War and CIA sponsored terrorism.

The idea that the Moon Landings were faked is not such a shocking assumption because in training, simulation and rehearsal, the moon landings were already being faked or more correctly simulated. As Gerhard Wisnewski explains it would have been irresponsible for NASA not to have rehearsed and simulated most aspects of the Moon Landings.

There are two arguments that are often heard in support of the official narrative and both have nothing to do with science. Yet these two logical fallacies block any attempt at a rational and empirical debate because by there very nature, the arguments paint doubters and skeptics as unworthy of debate.

The first is that, as a quarter of a million people worked for the Apollo program, it would be impossible to keep faked Moon Landings a secret.

Gerhard Wisnewski talks about this at length in One Small Step? He uses the word "cellular" to explain the different cells that worked on a "need to know basis". A better and more succinct explanation would be "compartmentalization", which was used very effectively to keep the Manhattan Project secret from the world while employing 130,000 people. Gerhard Wisnewski fails to mention the compartmentalized success of the Manhattan Project.

The second is, if the Soviet Union had known that the moon landings were faked, it would be impossible believe they would not have exposed the fraud to the world.

Again, Gerhard Wisnewski talks at length about the collaboration between the Apollo program and the Soviet space program. It is often the case that opposing political parties may appear for public consumption to be in passionate contradiction, while behind closed doors objectives and ideologies are often mutual. This is particularly true of establishment European and American political parties. Tony Blair's Labour Party followed to the letter the corporate friendly policies of Margaret Thatcher's Conservative Party just as Barack Obama extends the criminal policies of George Bush Jr.

After October 1962, the political situation between the Soviet Union and America had changed. This culminated in the signing of the Test Ban Treaty on August 5, 1963 in Moscow. Premier Khrushchev later that year, admitted the Soviet Union was in a "difficult position" due to a poor harvest and in response the US administration prepared to send three million tons of American wheat to the Soviet Union. These examples of American and Soviet reciprocity expand on the many reasons why the Soviet Union would not want to purposely sabotage intergovernmental relations. The question also remains that secrets beget secrets within national security states.

Turning to science, I have one question concerning the Moon Landings that leads me into a degree of skepticism concerning the official narrative.

That question is Radiation, meaning the Lunar Radiation, Solar Flares and the Van Allen Radiation Belts.

NASA's response to the questions of the Van Allen Radiation Belts and Solar Flares is that the hazards are minimal. NASA found it unnecessary to provide any special radiation shielding. No large solar flares occurred during the Apollo missions and typical radiation doses received by the astronauts were very low.

An official NASA article from September 8, 2005, is called "Radioactive Moon", it states;

The surface of the Moon is baldly exposed to cosmic rays and solar flares, and some of that radiation is very hard to stop with shielding. Furthermore, when cosmic rays hit the ground, they produce a dangerous spray of secondary particles right at your feet. All this radiation penetrating human flesh can damage DNA, boosting the risk of cancer and other maladies.

"We really need to know more about the radiation environment on the Moon, especially if people will be staying there for more than just a few days," says Harlan Spence, a professor of astronomy at Boston University.

Finally, would it have been easier to fake the Moon Landings than to do them in reality? The answer is yes because the infrastructure was already in place to make simulations appear as genuine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well researched, evidence-based and thoroughly readable, 14 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. R. Harrison "richard" (LONDON, UK England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Small Step?: The Great Moon Hoax and the Race to Dominate Earth from Space (Paperback)
This is a far better book than detractors will want you to believe. A lot of vested interests do not want you reading this! It is far better than the very sketchy efforts of Phillippe Lheureux which I found unconvincing and rambling. This is a great book which raises many interesting questions, but does so carefully and methodically. The author brings up much interesting data which points to fakery. He examines the historical and political context of the whole Apollo programme which is significant. It is not as one-sided as you may expect - he is in places writing as if he is almost hoping that the detailed satellite imagery which may be possible in the future (to identify accurately the lunar "junk" left from the missions) may prove him wrong - so he is not stating his case dogmatically, instead presenting much salient evidence which points to the lunar landings being the hoax of the century simply because there are so many holes in the official accounts, so many omissions, errors, inaccuracies, inexplicable oddities and coincidences as to make the whole affair too suspicious to go unchalleneged by any reasonably minded thinking person. Highly recommended, and very readable, this book should be compulsory reading for every person who still subscribes unquestioningly to the great Moon Myth. Keep an open mind! We all WANT to believe in fairy tales, it is human nature after all, but occasionally a jolt back to reality is not a bad thing. Don't believe the naysayers - this is a very good piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Small Step?: The Great Moon Hoax and the Race to Dominate Earth from Space (Paperback)
It's rare that I don't have any negative criticism of a book, but this one is flawless. The case is made well for the world military domination desire of the US, and that is what NASA is actually about. This one is worth the money, it'll be really interesting for anyone interested in the moon landings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Small Step?: The Great Moon Hoax and the Race to Dominate Earth from Space
12.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews