Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A look at the bigger picture - what Inedia could mean
I've read the book, and tried the techniques. Most of the book is devoted to testimonials from people - and what is interesting is their universal claims of benefits from not eating, but also showing how they couldn't continue because their families and friends directly or indirectly applied social pressure to stop. If you go out, for example, how often is what is we do...
Published on 10 Mar 2011 by Lawrence Brightman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Life without food
Is it possible to live well without food and drink? This book answers the question and poses some interesting challenges to the scientific community.
Published 9 months ago by Wolf Woman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A look at the bigger picture - what Inedia could mean, 10 Mar 2011
By 
Lawrence Brightman (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Life from Light: Is it Possible to Live without Food? - A Scientist Reports on His Experiences (Paperback)
I've read the book, and tried the techniques. Most of the book is devoted to testimonials from people - and what is interesting is their universal claims of benefits from not eating, but also showing how they couldn't continue because their families and friends directly or indirectly applied social pressure to stop. If you go out, for example, how often is what is we do in socializing revolve around drinking or eating something? These testimonials always seem to end with this: that we are so based in our instincts that we have to relate to other people through ingestion as a background activity.

The book is dismissive of Jasmuhinn. Jasmuhinn was not the originator of the process - she simply quoted someone else who came up with the idea in Australia, and filled out a book and career based on it. There are plenty of historical claims of those who stopped eating - usually in a religious context. Any reviews, such as above, that mention Jasmuhinn miss the mark entirely. Are all the stories, including those in the 20th century, of individuals not eating, of being isolated for observation and not getting ill (Jasmuhinn plainly has problems here) to be dismissed as nonsense?

As a primary condition, it is stated that if anyone in following the technique starts to get a pain in their liver after 3 days they should stop immediately. People who go beyond that pain are ignoring the advice given, and really only have themselves to blame. Michael Werner is not making a career out of this - his book reports on others who purport to have done this, and he is asking those with enough curiosity to read it. It is not for everybody, but the fact that there are people who are claiming to have actually stopped eating, who have no reason to defraud or make money out of it, points to a phenomenon that needs to be studied rather than dismissed because a few have been hurt or died while not following the primary cautions. We have to be careful, but not childish in trying to avoid everything that might hurt us.

Michael Werner is not making a career out of this - he is a research scientist. Nor is the MD who is doing the same - the word for this is inedia - who has written the forward of the book.

My take on this: I have found that stress in work directly affects whether I can do this or not. The result is this: I eat, but my daily food intake is half (1,200 calories) of what is claimed that an adult needs as a regular intake to stay healthy. Without work stress, I can get by on very little - much less than 1,200 calories. As a result, I am healthier than I have ever been - all pains and aches and colds and little illnesses have gone, while I observe all those around me continuing to get ill as they eat 2 or more times what I do. Michael Werner can drive 18 hours without tiring - I can do the same but for 12 hours. I think I conceptually know what is happening, but cannot actually physically describe the mechanisms. Neither can Dr. Werner. That is what needs to be studied, and researched objectively - not dismissed because it doesn't agree with one's view of reality. If you do that, all you will ever see is your own reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A courageous researcher, 26 Feb 2014
This review is from: Life from Light: Is it Possible to Live without Food? - A Scientist Reports on His Experiences (Paperback)
I have met Dr Michael Werner and stayed in his house; I even had dinner with him, though he did not eat; I have also met Thomas Stoeckli.
I wished to investigate this alleged phenomenon because it challenges 1) the tired and limited materialist paradigm and 2) the conceits of those closed mind that negate the scientific method.
I found no reason to disbelieve the evidence and in fact believe that the proponents are telling the truth.
I entirely agree with the first reviewer, who suggests such a phenomenon merits serious research, not angry dismissal.
Michael Werner's story make some people angry, because, I would suggest, it cuts across comfortable assumptions and people don't like that.
On the other hand Michael's story is inspiring to those who feel there is so much more to life than meets the eye.
The scientific method exists to reveal reality, not to suppress it.
Its revelations can sometimes upset the existing social construct of reality and interests related to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Philosophical materialism overturned, 7 Feb 2014
By 
P. Carline "truth will out" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life from Light: Is it Possible to Live without Food? - A Scientist Reports on His Experiences (Paperback)
Subatomic physics has overturned the idea of 'solid' matter - there is no 'ultimate particle' that will allow the materialist's hopeless theory to be preserved. Science still does not know what sunlight is - or how it performs the miracle of photosynthesis. In reality, everything is formed of light - including human bodies. Michael Werner has lived healthily without food for some 13 years. He has been tested several times and no proof of cheating has ever been found. He is not alone. Thousands have converted to "living on light". Werner is interviewed in the recent documentary film: "In the beginning was light".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book about LIVING WITHOUT SOLID FOOD, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life from Light: Is it Possible to Live without Food? - A Scientist Reports on His Experiences (Paperback)
I bought this book after hearing about the unusual water held in human cells, the fact there's a lot we don't know about how the body functions ... and light. E.g., the circulation in capillaries is affected by light broadly conceived.

In it (published in English 2007) Michael Werner (born 1949), a PhD chemist who is MD of a research institute in Switzerland, says he has been living without food - living on light [LOL] - since 2001. The book talks about e.g., a 21 day conversion that can allow people to change to LOL, the practicalities of doing so (for example what to do at family mealtimes), historical precedents of inedia (not eating ... e.g., Therese Neumann, 1898-1962), problems that can arise, the meaning of light, the need to see reality as partly spiritual as well as material, and the need for further research.

Werner attaches relatively little importance to the fact he doesn't eat (though he feels better for it); what's important to him is that not eating demonstrates the possibility of LOL, so he argues - and demonstrates - there is more to reality than is commonly realised.

Do I believe him? Well, probably yes. Reality is more thought-stuff than the materialists would have one believe, e.g., read Dean Radin's "The Conscious Universe" or the "Studies in Consciousness" series edited by Russell Targ. And there is information from mediums that (throughout the universe) thought creates (and sustains) phenomena. But to those thinking of LOL I recommend careful research and absolutely not getting carried away by enthusiasm. If you don't eat and drink, you could die, and though Werner says beginning to LOL can be as simple as deciding to do it, the state of mind (and body) needs to be right ... and that's not so simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Life without food, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life from Light: Is it Possible to Live without Food? - A Scientist Reports on His Experiences (Paperback)
Is it possible to live well without food and drink? This book answers the question and poses some interesting challenges to the scientific community.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The amazing man who doesn't need to eat a thing...., 10 Mar 2008
This review is from: Life from Light: Is it Possible to Live without Food? - A Scientist Reports on His Experiences (Paperback)
Michael Werner is the real thing - a doctor of Chemistry with a full-time job running a cancer research institute. He has a wife and family and plays sport (tennis is his favorite). But he doesn't eat! Don't believe it? Then read this book, which challenges all scientific certainties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life from Light: Is it Possible to Live without Food? - A Scientist Reports on His Experiences (Paperback)
Interesting idea, would like to try it one day..I would recommend it, think it's a worthwhile read for anyone. Really easy to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent just what I would have expected from a Scientist of Steiner's persuasion., 29 July 2012
By 
Mr. R. Mitchell "bobby" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life from Light: Is it Possible to Live without Food? - A Scientist Reports on His Experiences (Paperback)
Compared to all the other stuff written about "Life from Light" this is nothing short of excellent.

It lets you know how to do "it" and also the problems associated with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dangerous, 26 Feb 2013
This review is from: Life from Light: Is it Possible to Live without Food? - A Scientist Reports on His Experiences (Paperback)
It isn't physically possible for the human body to utilise light to synthesise the wide range of organic compounds our bodies need to provide energy and the building blocks our cells are made of, because we are not photosynthetic organisms. Our cells do not contain the chloroplasts requisite to capture & store sunlight & consequently fix carbon from carbon dioxide in air. We need to consume compounds such as essential fatty acids and certain amino acids which the body cannot make from other materials. You need calories to survive, it's that simple.

This is complete trash, and dangerous trash to boot. If you do not eat, you will die. If you do not eat or drink, you will die that much faster.

Thoroughly disgusted Amazon allows this kind of material to sell on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More DEATHS, 20 Dec 2010
This review is from: Life from Light: Is it Possible to Live without Food? - A Scientist Reports on His Experiences (Paperback)
Verity Lynn is dead. Two Australian women who call themselves 'breatharians' have been found guilty for their part in the death of someone who attended their 21 day 'meditation diet'. Another woman was found dead with her book still by her side. How many more?

When Jasmuheen, who promotes these outrageous ideas, was offered $30,000 to take a blood test which would verify her claims of not eating she refused. I wonder why? You can give me a blood test for $30,000 any day.

In 1983, most of the leadership of the Californian cult resigned when Wiley Brooks, its 47-year-old leader, who claimed not to have eaten for 19 years, was caught sneaking into a hotel and ordering a chicken pie.

Most people involved in this are genuine, decent people. They don''t want to leave their families without a mother, they don't want to be instrumental in the deaths of others either. But that is what happening. Please, just have a great life and ignore people who may not have your best wishes are heart.

I know I haven't reviewed this book, but I hope I've written enough about this sham to convince you not to give your money to those who might be genuine, but are definitely mistaken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa99c9594)

This product

Only search this product's reviews