Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable little trip
Read this book in the space of two evenings, a gripping story of Leary's interesting and fairly unique life. the book covers his role of spokesperson of the late 60's Acid generation and the influence he had on many bands, poets and well known figures of the era. Its well written and an easy read and is a bargain compared to many other Kindle books. If you're interested...
Published on 2 Sept. 2011 by Mr. M. J. Payne

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Do you really care what this whacked out guy thought?
Okay, I shed not a lot of tears when this doper died, but I bought the book in case he'd written it in a lucid moment. He didn't have any lucid moments. Not the fault of the author, the fault of the subject and antipathy to drugs and drug lifestyle, I guess.
Published 12 months ago by Mr. J. H. Wheeler

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good book on Leary, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Have America Surrounded: The Life of Timothy Leary (Paperback)
Learys a man has always been there. Growing up in the 80s, he still garnered quite a bit of media coverage. Recently ive been reading up on the changes that swept through the states after the 2nd world war up to the early 70s. Largely changes for good. After that it all lturned sour. No one personifies this trajectory quite like Leary. And this book, covers it all in an easy to read, entertaining way without being a work of hero worship. Anyone, with a mild interest in the counter culture - you could do a lot worse than reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and informative, 24 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Have America Surrounded: The Life of Timothy Leary (Paperback)
An entertaining, and informative biography which sheds a lot of light on the roots and aims of the counter-culture whilst also being fun to read. I knew next to nothing about Leary before reading this book, but was tempted by the 99p Kindle edition, and am rather glad I was. Leary was no doubt an extraordinary guy; hugely charismatic, highly intelligent, and fearless, but also narcissistic, selfish and a sucker for the limelight. He must have had the constitution of an ox to have survived the quantity and variety of substances that he consumed, and at one point it does appear he comes slightly off the rails.

I came away from this book understanding a lot more about the reasons Leary was so keen on the use of LSD and other psychoactive substances, although not entirely persuaded by the wider role claimed for LSD in fields as diverse as music, the discovery of DNA, post-modernism and chaos theory.

However, I was also left feeling that I'd just read an entertaining adventure story; which I think is probably how Leary saw his own life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tune in but don't drop out!, 17 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Have America Surrounded: The Life of Timothy Leary (Paperback)
This book isn't just a bio of Timothy Leary, its an eye opener of psychedelic radicalism, its about the God behind the eyes, the God Tim Leary said was within within you and I and its also got loads of celebrities inside.

The title of this book is borrowed from a thing Timothy Leary's sloganized after prez Nixon called him a danger to the youth of the day. Timothy Leary was the psychedelic piper of the counter culture, who told the youth about this version of God, this was after investing magic mushrooms. Things are never the same after experiencing the sacred mushroom.
Before he tried magic mushrooms, Timothy Leary was a stiff Harvard academic, after trying the mushroom, Leary wore beads and guiding a generation of black and white conformist's out of the 1950's and into the light. For his labours, Timothy Leary got his butt thrown into maximum security. Prison was a bitter pill for one of the most prestigious psychologists working in America at the time. Why did he get thrown into prison? Was it for saying that he learned more from an 8 hour mushroom experience than studying psychology for 20 years (the clip was on You Tube for ages but its been taken down now)?

Dr Leary experienced the God within, the God, incidentally, that they never tell you about in kindergarten. The cardinals of the academy, and their political stooges, recoiled in horror at the suggestion that running rats in a maze was not the way to do psychology, and because of their refusal to experiment, Leary called them flat Earthers. We see these flat Earthers today, in the towers of the academy and in the halls of philosophy.

If an idiot looks into a mirror don't expect a genius to look back. Culture is the mirror. Make of that as you may. Why are today's luminaries of psychology so boring and have nothing to offer the world and why is the world so corrupt? Can it be that, like the cardinals in Galileo's time, who refused to look through Galileo's telescope, psychologists today are refusing to look inside themselves? Timothy Leary thought so and it sure looks that way from here.

This is a radical biography of a love him or hate him character. Leary didn't invent the movement, he only added much needed colour. However, there is a lot of sh't flung at Timothy Leary by envious people. Ok, I suppose he was a terrible father and did date the most gorgeous women on the planet at the time, but hey, no one is perfect!

There are parallels with today's occupy movement and the Lsd movement and the way both movements are being dismissed by the misinformed is striking. If you know the lies about the banking rip off and what is being said about the world recession, then you will understand the propaganda wing we live under. They are the same lies about psychedelics and the 60's. Read this and you will realize how lucky that generation was to have a figure-head like Tim Leary.

We could dig up his dead body, if it wasn't shot out into space!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top stuff. I grew up with punk and so ..., 5 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Top stuff. I grew up with punk and so dismissed Leary as a grinning hippy twit. This book shows what a counter-cultural force he really was. A huge contributor to the impact of the 1960s, without which we'd all still be Peter Hitchens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well balanced, not at all preachey, 21 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Still a bit of an LSD crusade, and without a little background knowledge itd be tough going.
Still a good read and I like John Higgs writing style, so a big green tick from me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars John Higgs is a good writer, I really like his informative style, 5 Nov. 2014
By 
Alun C. Oddie "Streeb-greebling" (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
John Higgs is a good writer, I really like his informative style. This book is really good - an interesting character. I would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 9 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a life Mr Leary had.a brilliant mind and a wizard and charlatan combined.the stuff that dreams are made of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for the trip, 15 April 2014
By 
Emma Bourke "emmyh55" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the 7 million - IT changed everything and it was interesting to find the roots of wisdom x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every 96 minutes., 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Have America Surrounded: The Life of Timothy Leary (Paperback)
Loved it. A real spaceman locked in a human body.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The book is long and very long winded at times but I did finish it and I suppose I did enjoy it when I got on to the home stretc, 2 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had no idea who Timothy Leary was and what this was going to be about. I downloaded it on a free download and it seemed a bit different. The book is long and very long winded at times but I did finish it and I suppose I did enjoy it when I got on to the home stretch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Have America Surrounded: The Life of Timothy Leary
I Have America Surrounded: The Life of Timothy Leary by John Higgs (Paperback - 1 May 2006)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The KLF: Chaos, Magic and the Band who Burned a Million Pounds
The KLF: Chaos, Magic and the Band who Burned a Million Pounds by John Higgs (Paperback - 26 Sept. 2013)
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (79)   
Buy new£8.24
In stock

The Illuminatus! Trilogy
The Illuminatus! Trilogy by Robert Shea (Paperback - 25 Jun. 1998)
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (127)   
Buy new£10.68
In stock

45
45 by Bill Drummond (Paperback - 1 Nov. 2001)
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17)   
Buy new£10.99
In stock