Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended
This is an extremely well-written and gripping treatment of a fascinating subject, and the integrity and bravery of the striking Leicestershire miners leaps off the pages. The combination of thorough research, an extremely readable style, and the availability of primary sources make this book a must for anybody who is researching the 1984 Miners' Strike - or indeed...
Published on 7 Nov. 2011 by J. B. L. Rhodes

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not accurate
David wrote this book very selectively. By selectively, I mean that when someone from the Dirty Thirty spoke the truth about the nitty gritty of the strike or about the tension which sometimes occured... he was not interested. For a book to be accurate you need to include both positive and negative, and you certainly need to include the truth rather than some of the lies...
Published 23 months ago by Miss.GVS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 7 Nov. 2011
By 
J. B. L. Rhodes "Judith Rhodes" (Leeds, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dirty Thirty: Heroes of the Miners' Strike (Paperback)
This is an extremely well-written and gripping treatment of a fascinating subject, and the integrity and bravery of the striking Leicestershire miners leaps off the pages. The combination of thorough research, an extremely readable style, and the availability of primary sources make this book a must for anybody who is researching the 1984 Miners' Strike - or indeed anybody who is interested in the social history of the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the dirty thirty, 31 Aug. 2009
By 
Mr. M. J. Goodman (derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dirty Thirty: Heroes of the Miners' Strike (Paperback)
a compelling must for anyone interested in social history and the great strike of 1984-5.David bell manages to capture the full extent of these working class heroes from leicestershire and the hardships they go through as well as the people and friends they meet through this period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving and informative, 18 Mar. 2014
By 
Harry Paterson (notts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dirty Thirty: Heroes of the Miners' Strike (Paperback)
A tiny band of heroic men defying their colleagues and Thatcher. Here, David Bell tells the story of their remarkable year and shows professional and unselfish writerly restraint and allows much of the story to come from the men themselves.
Moving, fascinating and essential for any student of the dispute that largely shaped the Britain we know today. Excellent stuff indeed and well-written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the dirty thirty tribute, 6 May 2014
This review is from: The Dirty Thirty: Heroes of the Miners' Strike (Paperback)
As a striking miner from South Wales I must applauded the dirty thirty.We had very few crossing the picket lines,and mostly stood firm,together.However being a tiny minority they went through the dark year mostly alone.
When in Wales we went back,as did the dirty thirty with our heads held high.We were lucky that very few of us broke the strike.
The other big difference is when the dirty thirty went back to work,within a few weeks they were talking to those who went through the picket lines.We did not talk to those who walked past us then,and still refuse to talk to,or even acknowledge them now.
But the dirty thirty I applauded you for you bravery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not accurate, 17 April 2013
This review is from: The Dirty Thirty: Heroes of the Miners' Strike (Paperback)
David wrote this book very selectively. By selectively, I mean that when someone from the Dirty Thirty spoke the truth about the nitty gritty of the strike or about the tension which sometimes occured... he was not interested. For a book to be accurate you need to include both positive and negative, and you certainly need to include the truth rather than some of the lies contained in this book.

I recommend it if you want a glossy, rose tinted picture. If you want the truth then go elsewhere.

I say this as someone who is a direct relative of one of the dirty thirty, a good friend of a number of members and as a witness to the strike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dirty Thirty: Heroes of the Miners' Strike
The Dirty Thirty: Heroes of the Miners' Strike by David Bell (Paperback - 20 Feb. 2009)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews