Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
It's the manliest cook book ever made! I bought it and immediately strangled an ox.
Published 9 months ago by Michael Stockton

versus
38 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I found there was important information missing from this book ( tells you how to make a cure mixture but doesn't tell you for how long until the curing process is complete ! an important point I think. So I had to do other research to get this information.Much of the same occurred throughout the book - Disappointing
Published 20 months ago by Sandie Hunt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Amazing Book, 17 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Food DIY: How to Make Your Own Everything: sausages to smoked salmon, sourdough to sloe gin, bacon to buns (Hardcover)
This book isn't about a brand new style of recipe or anything like that. It is for those who want to discover 'How' How to make Bacon, Smoked Meats and Fish, Bread, Potted foods, Pickled foods and more. It offers great ideas of how to make not only food but Smokers and Fire pits even a Kebab spit! I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More BBQ than B&Q, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food DIY: How to Make Your Own Everything: sausages to smoked salmon, sourdough to sloe gin, bacon to buns (Hardcover)
I've been looking forward to this book for a while. Over the past eighteen months or so we've seen a plethora of videos and pictures appear in Tim Haywards Twitter Stream, all offering a delicious hint of what was to come in the book. Food DIY does not disappoint. Superb photography and illustration together with the natural enthusiasm of the author for his subject make for a book to behold. The simple instructions on smoking, salting, drying, and deep frying, as well as the recipes it contains, make this book a great aid for having a go and reclaiming some of those lost skills of the food DIYer. It's so heavy, that if you bought two copies, you could use it as a DIY cheese press!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Has produced some great food from it too, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food DIY: How to Make Your Own Everything: sausages to smoked salmon, sourdough to sloe gin, bacon to buns (Hardcover)
Bought this as a gift for my partner and he loaves it. Has produced some great food from it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Food DIY, 28 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Food DIY: How to Make Your Own Everything: sausages to smoked salmon, sourdough to sloe gin, bacon to buns (Hardcover)
The book arrived well packed and soon.
The book itself is a one of the cleverest and innovative I have in my collection. It describes how you can make your own food, the complete process, like making bacon being one example.
Each subject is covered thoroughly with safety as key.
It has become an invaluable read, and rates in my all time top five cookbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny as well as having great recipes., 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food DIY: How to Make Your Own Everything: sausages to smoked salmon, sourdough to sloe gin, bacon to buns (Hardcover)
A great read, fabulous recipes and a lot of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The complete beginners guide to adventurous cooking, 16 Oct. 2013
By 
Pete109 (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food DIY: How to Make Your Own Everything: sausages to smoked salmon, sourdough to sloe gin, bacon to buns (Hardcover)
I can't ever remember reading a cookery book from cover to cover before. This is an absolute joy with Tim Hayward's obvious enthusiasm shining out from every page. I've already been out and bought a smoker and am busily trying some of his recipes and cooking techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A novel cookbook!, 31 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food DIY: How to Make Your Own Everything: sausages to smoked salmon, sourdough to sloe gin, bacon to buns (Hardcover)
Ordered this for my "foodie" son-law for Christmas. He loves it and is looking forward to experimenting with some of the recipes, having read the reviews and now the book itself. Different!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good you want to read it out loud, 18 Nov. 2013
By 
Andrew Hawken (Redhill) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food DIY: How to Make Your Own Everything: sausages to smoked salmon, sourdough to sloe gin, bacon to buns (Hardcover)
Its not often I buy a cookery book that's so wonderfully written I want to read bits of it out loud! Tim is funny and informative, the recipes are well written, and I'm gradually putting on weight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal present for a man!, 4 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Food DIY: How to Make Your Own Everything: sausages to smoked salmon, sourdough to sloe gin, bacon to buns (Hardcover)
I have enjoyed Tim Hayward's writing and appearance in other media over the years and this book has a stack of suggestions, instructions and recipes that appeal to anyone who has an interest in creating or transforming their food. There are a load of ideas that you may only try a couple of times, like creating a smoker in your back garden, but there are enough things in here that you can do on an 'everyday' basis. An ideal present for Christmas, I'd be asking for it if I hadn't already bought it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like me you may not attempt it all but...., 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food DIY: How to Make Your Own Everything: sausages to smoked salmon, sourdough to sloe gin, bacon to buns (Hardcover)
Having been amused by Tim Hayward's writing in the past I was keen to see how he would fill the pages of a book. Entertainingly - it turns out.

Living in a city centre flat, I'm unlikely to ever build my own barbecue pit or smoke generator but I'll enjoy reading about how to do it whilst snacking on the bread and preserves I've made courtesy of Tim Hayward's lively instructions.

A great gift for the cooking curious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews