Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars17
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 October 2013
Really good book, with lots of recipes that you actually want to cook, rather than pages that look nice but are over complicated.

Great restaurant, great book.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2011
I bought this book on the strength of a newspaper article which mentioned in passing that this was the best Spanish cookbook there was. It's a very nicely presented book, perfect for getting inspiration and has useful advice on Spanish ingredients. Being a restaurant tie-in it is not comprehensive (not like eg the Silver Spoon book on Italian cookery) but certainly has enough ideas to get you (or at any rate, me) started.
11 comment18 of 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
I bought this book after my partner and I visited Barrafina and loved it. Because he's a chef, the waitress mentioned their book and let us have a look through it while we were eating. After having an amazing night and admiring the book I decided to buy it. Was definitely not disappointed - it's packed with information and great recipes that you'll recognize from the menu if you've eaten there, and I think they did a really good job of capturing the vibe of the restaurant in the way that it's written. And the best thing is, the recipes are totally achievable for the average person and will definitely inspire - I'm really liking the way they've got a sauces section, as it's so important and often brushed over in other books. Their list of suppliers for the less common ingredients is also really useful as long as you live in the UK. Definitely recommend.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
What a great book. Beautifully written and illustrated and the recipes work brilliantly. Can't recommend highly enough for fans of Spanish food.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2011
In this publication the chef shares her recipes & tips thus making this easy to produce non fancy restaurant food, at times gutsy, sometimes fresh, sometimes delicate, other times hearty food, that the home cook would be able to prepare with simplicity.
When or if you are fortunate enough to eat at this establishment you will nearly always see some London's or even the UK's best chefs enjoying the ambience and fantastic food on offer,so its no mean feet of where this restaurant sits in the current food scene .
Here is a small insight into the publication:
First, category is finger food: fried peppers de Padron, salt cod fritters and delicias, the Spanish Devils on Horseback. Then cold Then meats; followed by fish then shellfish - from simple razor clams on the grill, to more sophisticated dishes such as turbot with cavolo nero; followed by fantastic rice dishes and paellas; fantastic big dishes of roast and braised meat - from suckling pig for a special occasion to rabbit stew or roast cumin-rubbed pork with quince sauce or the simple Pistou and duck eggs wow.... to finish desserts like: chocolate and almond tart,Rhubarb salad, cakes and the classic Crema Catalana. There is everything here to help you recreate great Spanish food at home.
With over 120 recipes, Nieves (head Chef), Sam and Eddie (restaurant owners & quo Vadis and Fino aswell) will whisk you through step-by-step instructions, showing you everything, from how to make the more difficult things, such as arrocina beans with chorizo, morcilla and pork belly, to how to cook a simple but perfect tortilla.
Its a great book for anybody who loves Spanish cuisine Enjoy
33 comments18 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
I'd been searching for a Spanish cook book for a while and seeing the glowing reviews on here prompted me to purchase this one. Some of the ingredients are difficult to source if you don't live near a decent deli or food market but there are enough recipes featuring easy to find ingredients to make it a worthwhile purchase. Not as great as some have suggested, at least in my opinion, but a useful addition to your cook book collection.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
Really nice book of recipes enjoyed at the restaurant
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
Went to restaurant and just had to buy book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2011
Barrafina brings the sumptuous tastes of Spain into your own kitchen. Mostly easy to do once you have stocked your larder properly. This is a fabulous Cook Book for all occassions and makes a truly great read as well. Can't wait to go to their Restaurant in London for a taster!
0Comment13 of 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
Good book for Spanish food lovers
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.