Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really nice book
I bought this book on the strength of a newspaper article which mentioned in passing that this was the best Spanish cookbook there was. It's a very nicely presented book, perfect for getting inspiration and has useful advice on Spanish ingredients. Being a restaurant tie-in it is not comprehensive (not like eg the Silver Spoon book on Italian cookery) but certainly has...
Published on 3 Sep 2011 by Shove Coupler

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK but not the best
Having read the other reviews I was disappointed with this book. Yes there are some good, easy to follow recipes and nice photographs but overall I just didn't feel that this was the best Spanish cookbook I had ever seen.
Published 7 months ago by C.D.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really nice book, 3 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barrafina: A Spanish Cookbook (Hardcover)
I bought this book on the strength of a newspaper article which mentioned in passing that this was the best Spanish cookbook there was. It's a very nicely presented book, perfect for getting inspiration and has useful advice on Spanish ingredients. Being a restaurant tie-in it is not comprehensive (not like eg the Silver Spoon book on Italian cookery) but certainly has enough ideas to get you (or at any rate, me) started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, great recipes, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barrafina: A Spanish Cookbook (Hardcover)
I bought this book after my partner and I visited Barrafina and loved it. Because he's a chef, the waitress mentioned their book and let us have a look through it while we were eating. After having an amazing night and admiring the book I decided to buy it. Was definitely not disappointed - it's packed with information and great recipes that you'll recognize from the menu if you've eaten there, and I think they did a really good job of capturing the vibe of the restaurant in the way that it's written. And the best thing is, the recipes are totally achievable for the average person and will definitely inspire - I'm really liking the way they've got a sauces section, as it's so important and often brushed over in other books. Their list of suppliers for the less common ingredients is also really useful as long as you live in the UK. Definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great variety of amazing recipes, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barrafina: A Spanish Cookbook (Hardcover)
Really good book, with lots of recipes that you actually want to cook, rather than pages that look nice but are over complicated.

Great restaurant, great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Spanish Cuisine at home, 16 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barrafina: A Spanish Cookbook (Hardcover)
In this publication the chef shares her recipes & tips thus making this easy to produce non fancy restaurant food, at times gutsy, sometimes fresh, sometimes delicate, other times hearty food, that the home cook would be able to prepare with simplicity.
When or if you are fortunate enough to eat at this establishment you will nearly always see some London's or even the UK's best chefs enjoying the ambience and fantastic food on offer,so its no mean feet of where this restaurant sits in the current food scene .
Here is a small insight into the publication:
First, category is finger food: fried peppers de Padron, salt cod fritters and delicias, the Spanish Devils on Horseback. Then cold Then meats; followed by fish then shellfish - from simple razor clams on the grill, to more sophisticated dishes such as turbot with cavolo nero; followed by fantastic rice dishes and paellas; fantastic big dishes of roast and braised meat - from suckling pig for a special occasion to rabbit stew or roast cumin-rubbed pork with quince sauce or the simple Pistou and duck eggs wow.... to finish desserts like: chocolate and almond tart,Rhubarb salad, cakes and the classic Crema Catalana. There is everything here to help you recreate great Spanish food at home.
With over 120 recipes, Nieves (head Chef), Sam and Eddie (restaurant owners & quo Vadis and Fino aswell) will whisk you through step-by-step instructions, showing you everything, from how to make the more difficult things, such as arrocina beans with chorizo, morcilla and pork belly, to how to cook a simple but perfect tortilla.
Its a great book for anybody who loves Spanish cuisine Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK but not the best, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barrafina: A Spanish Cookbook (Hardcover)
Having read the other reviews I was disappointed with this book. Yes there are some good, easy to follow recipes and nice photographs but overall I just didn't feel that this was the best Spanish cookbook I had ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars decent addition to your book shelf, 14 Jan 2014
This review is from: Barrafina: A Spanish Cookbook (Hardcover)
I'd been searching for a Spanish cook book for a while and seeing the glowing reviews on here prompted me to purchase this one. Some of the ingredients are difficult to source if you don't live near a decent deli or food market but there are enough recipes featuring easy to find ingredients to make it a worthwhile purchase. Not as great as some have suggested, at least in my opinion, but a useful addition to your cook book collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spanish Food Comes Home!, 2 Aug 2011
This review is from: Barrafina: A Spanish Cookbook (Hardcover)
Barrafina brings the sumptuous tastes of Spain into your own kitchen. Mostly easy to do once you have stocked your larder properly. This is a fabulous Cook Book for all occassions and makes a truly great read as well. Can't wait to go to their Restaurant in London for a taster!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real spanish food!, 2 Jan 2013
By 
A. Azul (Lisbon,Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barrafina: A Spanish Cookbook (Hardcover)
Great iberian food. Easy to do for an amateur! Thanks for the guide on where to shop! A must to improve the food you are serving at home or parties!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Gift, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barrafina: A Spanish Cookbook (Hardcover)
The birthday gift recipient was very pleased with this book as she has visited the restaurant in London and had a superb meal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an inspiration, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barrafina: A Spanish Cookbook (Hardcover)
Lovely cook book, different in its approach and style with simplicity , it's a look at the page and scrape the food off and enjoy. More please !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Barrafina: A Spanish Cookbook
Barrafina: A Spanish Cookbook by Nieves Barragan Mohacho (Hardcover - 7 July 2011)
20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews