Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celtic Quality
As stated by the previous reviewer, this is quality Slaine. Bisley's painted artwork serves the genre and Mills has researched the source material far more than adequately. The storytelling is deft and the subtexts are potent. This is culurally educational carnage. A thick softcover with no fillage [The few endpages pages of Commentary are welome and fascinating]. Not so...
Published on 28 April 2011 by Mr. I. C. G. Bell

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great book, not a great e-version
I love the book, that's not the problem but on the ipad kindle app the pages don't fill the screen and there's no way to zoom apart from into the panel view which is not great resolution. Very cheap ebook so not really worth complaining but I wish I'd bought a PDF/CBZ direct from 2000AD instead.
Published 13 months ago by Stochasticus


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celtic Quality, 28 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slaine: The Horned God (2000 AD) (Paperback)
As stated by the previous reviewer, this is quality Slaine. Bisley's painted artwork serves the genre and Mills has researched the source material far more than adequately. The storytelling is deft and the subtexts are potent. This is culurally educational carnage. A thick softcover with no fillage [The few endpages pages of Commentary are welome and fascinating]. Not so graphically gorgeous as the Invasions books but purer celtic tale telling in my view. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great book, not a great e-version, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the book, that's not the problem but on the ipad kindle app the pages don't fill the screen and there's no way to zoom apart from into the panel view which is not great resolution. Very cheap ebook so not really worth complaining but I wish I'd bought a PDF/CBZ direct from 2000AD instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolute classic comic, 30 Sep 2008
This review is from: Slaine: The Horned God (2000 AD) (Paperback)
this is one of the best,if not the best comic i have ever read, everything about it is fantastic. simon bisleys artwork is beautifully painted the whole way through it and perfectly suited to the story. the writing behind it is very well researched (pat mills has obviously spent a lot of time reading the tain and other works of celtic poetry as well as reading about early celtic culture). its extremely violent but has quite a lot of humour as well as tackling serious issues.i could not put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing story, layout on the kindle and res is a bit disappointing, 29 Sep 2013
By 
M. Bennett "mb" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember this story being one of the first 2000 AD comics I ever read and the quality is about the same as the old megazines.

It's impossible on the ipad to really see the quality of the artwork and I just found it overall really hard to read, scroll around or zoom in, I don't think the kindle really gives it the justice it deserves, I would say, go find a second hand paper version as you'll probably enjoy it more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story, excellent artwork, massive nostalgia trip, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slaine: The Horned God (Hardcover)
Read this when it initially came out in 2000AD. Always loved the artwork, now have it in a decent hardback graphic novel....happy days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if you know whats good, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Then why haven't you got this ? More well written and beautifully drawn stories of the past. This make conan look like a wimp and stomps on most anything you'll read nowadays
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All time classic graphic novel, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Simon Smith "Alty fan" (West Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This collection dates from the late 80s where comics were aiming at a more adult market in the wake of things like Dark Knight Returns. It was a good time for 200AD resulting in some classic Judge Dredd story lines and some other character driven epics from writer Pat Mills. Slaine was an established character when THG was written and the storyline, based on Celtic mythology, tells of his epic battle with the Lord Weird, Slough Fegg - a story full of sex, paganism, battle field violence, ancient and capricious gods and tongue in cheek humour. Simon Bisley's art work astonishes more than 20 years on. An exceptional collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Horned God, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First read The Horned God back in the pages of 2000 AD years ago, out was great to read it all over again. Think I was about 10 so I missed a lot of the point, it was like a Conan comic to me. Ukko is great as the story teller, it is one of the things that always made me like it so much. There is more to the story than chopping heads off and dwarves who eat bogeys. There is the horned God story of man getting in touch with nature and value of women. Art work is fantastic also. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not readable on kindle for Android, 23 Dec 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Sunbury-on-Thames, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have the paperback - the story and artwork is superb however this version for Kindle is completely unreadable. I cannot zoom in so you can't see the glorious detail of the art work or read the text bubbles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 23 Oct 2013
By 
danny (gateshead, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this many years ago when it was first published in 2000 ad, I remember loving it at the time and drooling with excitement each week as I picked up my new "prog". Having just purchased the digital book for my kindle I find that the story is every bit as good as I remember and the art work is superb. If you like fantasy/Conan/2000ad stories then you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slaine: The Horned God (2000 AD)
Slaine: The Horned God (2000 AD) by Pat Mills (Paperback - 14 Aug 2008)
Used & New from: £13.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews