Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ''You've got to keep fighting, you've got to keep looking for America''
I was absolutely blown away by this comic! It is without doubt - a masterpiece. It is a stunning piece of work which can easily sit alongside such comic books greats as Watchmen or The Dark Knight Returns. But the subject matter is more resonant than the mentioned two, it is something more vital, and is like a chilling prophecy on where the our world is heading towards,...
Published on 10 Oct 2012 by Mabs (Nexus Wookie)

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Original story still shines, but the sequels disappoint
This volume collects the original 'America' storyline plus two sequels ('Fading of the light' and 'Cadet'). 'America' is still as good as I remember. Intelligent, politically astute and beautifully rendered by Colin MacNeil, whose work on 'Chopper: Song of the Surfer' I so admired. The story is self-contained, but provides a nice entry point to the larger 'Democracy'...
Published on 4 Jun 2009 by CraigAS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual Dredd Story line, but still very good, 27 April 2009
This review is from: Judge Dredd: America (Paperback)
AMERICA is the name of the titular anti-hero in this Graphic Novel, and its basically her/his story (you'll see why when you read it). Dredd is almost a commentator to the story as a whole, but despite that, I found myself enjoying it a lot. Dredd Graphic Novels are the weekly comic stories 'stitched' together for your convenience. This one covers quite a space of time (as Dredd is told in real time), but obviously you don't realize that when you read this compendium. I cant get away from the fact that Dredd is not the main character, but rest assured the novel holds up anyway. The art is first rate and the story builds to a satisfying conclusion. Well bound as they all are, a worthy addition to your Graphic Novel collection. 4 stars because Dredd should really feature more, but they didn't write the weekly strip with a Graphic Novel in mind I'm sure. IF you only want to buy one Dredd Graphic Novel, don't buy this one as it wont give you the clearest look at Dredd, but if you have a long history with Dredd, you should.Enjoy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judge Dredd at its best, 1 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd: America (Paperback)
As a long time fan of Judge Dredd I've been slowly working my way through the complete case files. However I decided to pick this up as I'd never read the story before and had heard good things about it.

For me one of the interesting aspects of Dredd is the seeming conflict between his own views on justice and fairness when compared to that of the overall Justice Department. This story seems to blur that line and challenges whether Dredd is actually a 'hero'. I would agree with other reviews that the second and third stories do not live up to the first, but they do form an interesting on-going thread, how ever Joe Dredd does redeem himself to a certain degree as a 'good' character. As it would seem that America is not included in the Complete Case Files it would seem that this is your best opportuity to read this classic story so I'd highly recommend it. In my opinion this story is as good as Watchmen.

The art work is first class and the cript work is brilliant; overall a thoroughly enjoyable read. Buy with confidence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd: America (Paperback)
I was recommended this as a starting point into the Judge Dredd franchise, it definitely ticked all the boxes. Great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic must own., 5 Feb 2014
By 
S. Stubbs (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd: America (Paperback)
one of the best dredd stories.split into three. the fight against the judges,living in meg one,living with the judges.
can you change anything? what would you do ? democracy / control..
just like our universe then!!!
brill story and a must have for anyone who reads graphic novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Judge Dredd -America, 19 Oct 2013
This review is from: Judge Dredd: America (Paperback)
There are those comic stories which are simply a perfect amalgamation of prose and artwork. New Gods 7, Mister Miracle 9, Fantastic Four 51. Judge Dredd - "America" follows this same tradition, presenting us with a gritty, violent picture of a possible future tinged with pathos and words which have never been bettered. This is the quintessential Judge Dredd,: uncompromising, bent on upholding the law and seemingly blind to the sadness of his situation. However, it is our recognition of this which makes this story so gripping. If you only ever read one Judge Dredd story make it this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Long time, 6 Oct 2013
By 
N. Edge "Nick Edge" (Halifax England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's been a long time since I read Judge Dress but I'm glad that I took the chance to 're-visit. Good story, well told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An odd one, but a great story, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the stranger dress stories in my opinion, but one I thoroughly enjoyed. The first of its three parts is the best and well worth buying the volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the three act story spans years, creates some great, but flawed characters. Dredd takes a back seat, but the story is not weaker for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Dredd Stories Ever, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Made up of three separate stories America,Fading the Light & Cadet. America and Cadet are both great but Fading the Light is a bit of a let down in the middle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great value, but..., 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...terrible waste of space on the page, and unusual method to navigate - honestly, a pirate PDF using one of the many good CBZ readers makes for easier reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Judge Dredd: America
Judge Dredd: America by John Wagner (Paperback - 15 Mar 2008)
£11.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews