Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another slice of Judge action from Mega-City One, 12 May 2007
By 
C. J. Richardson "foop" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files v. 7 (Paperback)
More of the same - if that's what you want, then the rest of this review is redundant.

This volume of the complete case files covers progs 322 (25th June 1983) to 375 (30th June 1984). It's another solid slice of Dredd-related action. There's none of the grand story arcs that we've seen so far in the series, but the writing seems to have settled down to a consistently good quality. The backdrop of Mega-City One had been well established by this stage, and this has allowed the writers to set their stories within the city without having to constantly explain the city.

As far as storylines go, we have werewolves, dinosaurs, angry spirits, PSI division, orangutans, rookie judges, and the usual assortment of perps and weirdos. If you've read volumes 1 to 6, then 7 isn't going to be a great surprise. But if you've got this far then, like me, you're probably wondering how much shelf space you're going to have to create for the rest of the series.

Rebellion seem to be going at a fair old speed through the Complete Case Files series. Of course, a lot of this material has been reprinted before - in some cases, six times already. The quality of the reproduction isn't bad, although I don't like the paper stock they've used. And despite the fact that there's little in the way of additional content - just artist and writer biogs - they could have spent a little more time on it. Steve Dillon is credited twice on the cover as an artist, and in the back they don't explain who Emberton was (Ian Gibson?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 11 Sep 2012
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files v. 7 (Paperback)
At this stage in the Complete Case Files customers are still getting great value for money.
352 pages of Dredd goodness with most of the stories of the shorter variety.
The writing and artwork is of a very high standard.
There are some great stories in here such as "Cry Of The Werewolf", "Requiem For A Heavyweight", "Suspect" (a great example of a superb one chapter story), and "The Haunting of Sector House 9".
Crammed packed with werewolves, dinosaurs, fatties and chaps with huge noses.
What's not to like?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files v. 7 (Paperback)
This was a great gift for my hubby, i have purchased many volumes, he loves them all, great value and make a great collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New artists and a selection of stories, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files v. 7 (Paperback)
We are probably just leaving the so-called golden era of 2000AD at this point in the Dredd timeline, but this is by no means a criticism of the stories. No artwork from Bolland or McMahon in this volume, but there is much to admire from Ron Smith, Steve Dillon and Carlos Ezquerra, as well as some new artists to Dredd. During this period, the stories are all still penned by Wagner and Grant during their highly prolific period on the comic (under the name T B Grover) and the variety of story lines is very impressive; dinosaurs running amok, werewolves rise from beneath the city and a welcome return of the Fatties! The stories I remember from my youth are Citizen Snork, the man who grows a huge nose to be on TV and attracts some unwanted attention from a master criminal, The Weatherman, whose concerts are filled with extreme, and deadly, climate changes and Dredd's female rookie, Dekker, who I always thought must be a bit of a looker under that helmet!

No mega-epics here, but an awful lot of variety. It is testament to Wagner and Grant that the differing story lines keep you interested when read in a back to back in this compilation, rather than week by week as they would have been intended.

Other volumes are better, but this is a worthy edition to any Dredd fan's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner, 19 Nov 2014
By 
Mark Davies (Mitcham, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always the writing and artwork are superb from all the old favourites. What made this collection work for me was the haunting of sector house 9 - an almost genius twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic collection!, 14 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files v. 7 (Paperback)
What can you say about this series of books other than if you are a fan of 2000AD and fancy revisiting a few old memories than these are must have buys. I actually stopped reading 2000AD at about the same period covered in this volume (girls and beer ate into my spare cash to much), but I can assure you based on the quality of this volume I will almost certainly be getting all the following volumes. This volume has lots of one and two part adventures rather than epic stories but that does not mean that it is in anyway inferior to previous volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug 2014
By 
L. Hurley (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files v. 7 (Paperback)
Judge Dredd- excellent !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files v. 7
Judge Dredd: Complete Case Files v. 7 by Alan Grant (Paperback - 30 Mar 2007)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews