Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars15
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 January 2008
which finds this particular bear on a mission to find a solution for his unusual problem!

Paperback format, 26 pages in the popular double page spread format, with superb pastel illustrations throughout, from Judith Blake.

Text example:
'...."Do you mind!" cried a mole, appearing from a small mound of soil nearby.
"I'm trying to do some serious digging down here.
Go and scratch somewhere else!"

"Oh dear," thought Bear.'

Repetitive theme throughout, to the Bear's thoughts and further good use of vocabulary replacing the word, 'said' with
e.g. shrieked, yelled, demanded & asked.

Having recently seen this book acted out by local Montessori school children, it certainly provided great entertainment with infectious laughter spreading and just a teeny bit of a hint of stress from the teachers!
The star was the young lady narrator who finally managed to conquer the challenging word, 'cautiously', then amazed us all by spelling it out loud!
review image
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2011
You really feel for poor Itchy Bear in this story - he is woken up from a lovely sleep by itching and desperately searches for somewhere to scratch. But every time he finds the perfect spot, he upsets another creature. 'Oh dear', 'Oh dear, oh dear'...what is he to do? Finally, he seems to have found the perfect spot...but has he? Judith Blake's bright illustrations convey the story beautifully. Hidden in the pictures are lots of little creatures - see how many your child can spot as you share this story, and increase your child's vocabulary and understanding of location - behind. on, under... This story also comes with a DVD to further extend enjoyment.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2005
Used this book with a group of special needs students as story for term.They quickly recognised the characters,recognised the repeated phrases and were able to create their own version of the story using pictures and symbols.We created our own story box and the students chose which items went in the box.Am now using another Neil Griffiths book as text for the term.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2010
The Itchy Bear book is creative,imaginative and entertaining.
My class of 3 and 4 years olds love acting out and singing along.
The book allows young people to excercise and express themselves in a way which is fun, it allows them to laugh, stretch,dance and play together and create a scene. A lovely little piece of Theatre for the young person.
The illustration is superb and as a whole the book is highly recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2010
My car is full of these books so that my Grandchildren can chose one to listen to when I am ferrying them about. This one proved to be a hit and we listen to it often.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
Although the book took a bit longer than wanted, it seems like a fun story book our grandson will enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
Lovely book!! My 5 year old loves it and the Audio CD is fab. Highly recommend :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
This book was in good condition, and it met expectations, thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2011
OMG what a hilarious book this poor bear how cute all he wants do do is sleep again wonderfuly written also good within a school setting or at home get children or child involved must admit this is my favourite book out of my collection even better with the cd very clever man well thought out again 5* book for any age best buy aswell two things book and cd what more could you wish for very happy!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
Lovely story to share with my grandson.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.