Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of wit
This is a book that you can read at home and it will jog your memories of the tastes , scents and sounds of Catalonia. But if, like me, you haven't been to Barcelona and Catalonia for a couple of years it offers a witty and insightful guide that you can use on your next trip to discover
new and even greater pleasures. Well done Simon !
Published on 29 Aug 2008 by Iain Jones

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good overview
The book was good on the 'feel' of Catalonia - the personality of the region, it's people and food. It begins with a very interesting overview of the historical events that defined the region and goes on to look at aspects such as food, sights to see etc. A little more detail on some of the individual locations would have been helpful, but a worthwhile purchase.
Published on 31 Aug 2009 by Lisa78


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of wit, 29 Aug 2008
By 
Iain Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going Native in Catalonia [Catalunya] (Paperback)
This is a book that you can read at home and it will jog your memories of the tastes , scents and sounds of Catalonia. But if, like me, you haven't been to Barcelona and Catalonia for a couple of years it offers a witty and insightful guide that you can use on your next trip to discover
new and even greater pleasures. Well done Simon !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Homage to Catalonia, 28 July 2012
By 
Going Native in Catalonia is the most enlightening of reads. A resident (expert) of the region for more than 20 years, Harris shares recommendations which other writers might wish to keep secret for their own enjoyment. For example, Reus, despite its size, is often overlooked by visitors to the area but what Harris writes about the town makes me want to base myself there for my next Catalonian trip.

At times, Going Native in Catalonia feels like a lecture, particularly in the exhaustive sections on architecture. However, forget the image of a dreary old professor drumming on about the history of Catalonia. Harris is more like a groovy lecturer, entertaining his students with off-curriculum references which educate at the same time.

Harris has fully immersed himself into his locale, revealing he's become a massive fan of Barça. A seemingly natural-born culé, he compares Real Madrid fans celebrating a goal to the response of their FC Barcelona counterparts in a two-TV bar he used to frequent. "Madrid's goals were celebrated with 'Olé' and flamenco twirls, whereas when Barça scored, "recalls Harris, "the tables were hit in a way that was full of restrained aggression and pride." "The Catalan reaction was less attractive than that of the Spanish, but much closer to how I naturally reacted myself."

Having consumed Going Native in Catalonia in one sitting, I now know a lot more about the author's adopted region. And not only that the Catalan word for cold is fred. A very human narrator, admirably many of the anecdotes shared by Harris feature the author with a beer in his hand. After all, the drinking stories are always the best.Going Local in Gran Canaria How to Turn a Holiday Destination into a Home
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for regulars, 30 Aug 2010
This review is from: Going Native in Catalonia [Catalunya] (Paperback)
What this book is not is a rival for the "Lonely Planet" type guide that you would buy ahead of your first weekend trip to Barcelona. Instead it goes under the skin of life in the Catalan capital and surrounding areas. Where this book differs from the dozens of "guide books" available are the sections where the author takes us on a tour of the districts of Barcelona recalling observations, anecdotes, humour and sharing his experience of a Catalan life, the depth of these you would not find elsewhere.

What comes across throughout the book is a clear passion for life in Barcelona and I would recommend this book as essential reading for travellers returning to Barcelona having first skimmed the surface with a guide book and tourist map.

Overall it is a very good read and the more the reader knows of Barcelona and Catalunya the more they will enjoy (or even envy) what is presented in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real Spain, 15 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Going Native in Catalonia [Catalunya] (Paperback)
A facinating insight into Catalonia, well written with sections for everyone; the tourist, the would be 'native', the curious, the historian and everyone in-between. The personal anecdotes made me smile while the facts were enlightening and often surprising, a book to read before you explore this region but also one to take with you as a reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good overview, 31 Aug 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Native in Catalonia [Catalunya] (Paperback)
The book was good on the 'feel' of Catalonia - the personality of the region, it's people and food. It begins with a very interesting overview of the historical events that defined the region and goes on to look at aspects such as food, sights to see etc. A little more detail on some of the individual locations would have been helpful, but a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No parlo catala, 19 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Going Native in Catalonia [Catalunya] (Paperback)
The book is aimed squarely at the British. The authour`s views on "Sunday Roasts", sandals with socks and a lack of asassimilation of the average Brit with the Spanish are very similar to my own.

Come to Spain and integrate. I had forgotten how important Catalan is in the provence. We had a house in Argeles Ville, just across in the border in France and one time had a three way conversation with our agents, Catalan for the Father, Spanish (Castilian , we had just returned from Colombia) and English for us and all three for the Son. Great fun.

Learned many things about the area. I had not realised how interesting Tarragonia is and it is now on my list of places in Spain to visit.

Could have done with a bit less history or maybe move it to the back of the book.

I live in Murcia province. If we are in a restaurant, we have to leave if there are more than two Brit couples in there. And dont get me started on "L" or "P" registered vehicles - CHANGE YOUR PLATES!

Thoroughily enjoyed the book and would recommend it to anyone thinking of living (anywhere) in Spain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better to trust an authority, 15 Sep 2012
This review is from: Going Native in Catalonia [Catalunya] (Paperback)
A lot of travel guides and geographical region information books appear to me to be one step removed from reality. Maybe they have been too much about curation than actually living, working and physically experiencing their topical places. Going Native In Catalonia is not one of these books. Investigate the author and you discover authority. A university professor, tri-linguist speaking Catalan and Castillian, a passionate Barcelona football expert with an impressive intellect and knowledge about culture, architecture and the arts in Barcelona now running cultural guides and producing a new web site too. And it's this blend of indigenous experience seen from the inside and translated with a sharp English East Midlands wit that makes his book the authoritive guide to Catalonia. And he's still there, loving it and writing his blog about it every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Criticism aabooks.uk.com and Amazon uk, 25 Aug 2010
This review is from: Going Native in Catalonia [Catalunya] (Paperback)
I bought "Going Native in Catalonia" which was advertised as a phrasebook. It is a guidebook only with a few phrases at the back of the book. I contacted Amazon and aabooks for a refund with a criticism. I was refunded the cost of the book minus shipping and minus my shipping cost to return this item that was misrepresented. I am out euros 9.39. I will think twice before I order a book from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb577551c)

This product

Going Native in Catalonia [Catalunya]
Going Native in Catalonia [Catalunya] by Simon Harris (Paperback - 21 May 2008)
£9.73
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews