Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Four Years too Late!, 16 Feb 2008
By 
B. A. Price (Radcliffe, Manchester,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buying Property in Murcia: Insider Tips on Buying, Selling and Renting Property in South East Spain (Paperback)
How I wish that I had had a copy of this book four years ago when I bought our house in Los Nietos,Murcia.Then I had to struggle with dealing with banks,solicitors, notaries,builders etc all by myself. This book is full of good practical advice and takes you through the buying process stage by stage.There was just one note of caution that was not mentioned,you have to be very careful with the exchange rates. A property can cost thousands more if the rate goes against you, in our case we paid 14%more, but you can insure against this by buying currency at a set rate. There are several firms that will do this for you and make the funds available when you come to purchase possibly 2 or 3 years later on a new build.Of course you pay a percentage for this service.
I like the way Debbie describes Murcia area by area and unlike other books presents Murcia "warts and all "eg. you need heating in the winter months." I especially like the inclusion of other peoples experiences of buying in Murcia. In fact I would reccommend this book to anyone thinking about buying in Spain, Debbie makes it so easy, just follow the tick-lists and before you know it you too will have your own place in the sun. Thanks Debbie for such a smashing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taking the pain out of buying property in Spain, 9 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. G. A. L. Ellis (Hampshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buying Property in Murcia: Insider Tips on Buying, Selling and Renting Property in South East Spain (Paperback)
Debbie Jenkins has just published the second issue of her book "Buying Property in Murcia" which is a first class read and information source if you are thinking of buying property in Spain. Whilst the main thrust of the book is reviewing the property market in Murcia, my wife and I are using the book to help us buy property in Valencia.

The use of the Property-o-Meter makes it simple to see what is on offer in each town and the potential for the property buyer.The check lists and flow charts in the buying process section take you through a logical step-by-step sequence to ensure that you get it right first time, it is amazing how many people I have met over the past year who got it badly wrong and are blaming everyone but themselves, Debbbie's guides should help you minimise that risk.

The "who does what" section takes you through the different people you will have to deal with to get a house or land purchased and the description of what each bit of paper does is essential reading. The Spanish are known for their love of red tape, get it wrong and you could wait months to purchase a property, get it right and you are talking weeks!

If you only want to buy one book on buying Spanish property in an area then this is the one. It comes with our personal recommendations.

Graham & Celia Ellis
Hampshire.
England
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy in Murcia without it!, 21 Feb 2008
By 
M. Rutter (Murcia, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buying Property in Murcia: Insider Tips on Buying, Selling and Renting Property in South East Spain (Paperback)
This is the ideal handbook if you are thinking of buying a book in Murcia or the Costa Calida. It starts not only with detailed information about the region but it also gives a balance view of the current property market.

The mini area guide is useful when you are doing initial research and wondering what a town or area is really like. I especially like the "Location-O-Meter" - it's a great overview and unbiased as everybody has their own location likes and dislikes.

The chapter on the buying process is essential reading for any house hunter in Murcia - it explains the whole process clearly with some great tips for decision making.

We purchased our first house in the region 7 years ago - and I wish this book had been available then!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crammed full of useful info and practical tips, 8 April 2008
By 
Nick Harvey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buying Property in Murcia: Insider Tips on Buying, Selling and Renting Property in South East Spain (Paperback)
Deb Jenkins' latest book is a great read for anyone contemplating buying property in Murcia. In a refreshing no-nonsense style she reveals where to look and what to expect. Oozing up-to-date information and practical advice, this book will certainly help readers save time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy House Hunting, 15 Mar 2008
By 
Angela Oliver (Cartagena, Murcia, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buying Property in Murcia: Insider Tips on Buying, Selling and Renting Property in South East Spain (Paperback)
Buying Property in Murcia is an extremely well researched book, bursting with information about the region and the process of buying property, yet written with a sense of humour. Not only is it a good read but is an excellent reference book to dip into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thorough and well researched, 12 April 2008
This review is from: Buying Property in Murcia: Insider Tips on Buying, Selling and Renting Property in South East Spain (Paperback)
A very thorough and well researched guide to buying property in Murcia, packed with excellent information, useful websites and nice stories dotted about to make it "real." It is clearly presented and easy to read. Whilst obviously aimed at Murcia, it could also provide a valuable resource for other regions of Spain, as many of the things that apply to Murcia will equally apply to other areas. In fact, much of the common sense stuff written by Debbie and her contributors is relevant to other countries where people are looking to buy. A nice mix of "buyer beware" and positive outlook. Well done, Debbie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best!, 30 April 2008
This review is from: Buying Property in Murcia: Insider Tips on Buying, Selling and Renting Property in South East Spain (Paperback)
Yes, this is simply the best guide to buying property in Murcia, and even if you are buying elsewhere in Spain, you will find invaluable information about the process of buying your dream home in the sun.

Debbie's Location-o-Meter is a particularly useful, visual way to assess different locations within Murcia, to help you identify the areas that will suit you best even before you start looking for your new property. I only wish Debbie had written it before we started the buying process!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth having, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buying Property in Murcia: Insider Tips on Buying, Selling and Renting Property in South East Spain (Paperback)
This book gives a very useful insight into 'living in Spain'. Covers a lot of areas but for the uninitiated it is invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews