Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Awaited Female Role Models
The beauty of this book is its simple approach. All interviewees are high acheiving individuals, down-to-earth people who just happen to be women. Reading how they overcame various obstacles and acheived financial success running their own businesses can only be inspiring and encourage any would-be female entrepreneurs!
Published on 2 Nov 2005 by Tracey Jefferies

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as helpful as I thought
Interesting book but I am not sure the book delivers what the title promised. I felt let down by the content
Published 1 month ago by Francesca Donati


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Awaited Female Role Models, 2 Nov 2005
This review is from: Secrets of Successful Women Entrepreneurs: How Ten Leading Business Women Turned a Good Idea into a Fortune (Paperback)
The beauty of this book is its simple approach. All interviewees are high acheiving individuals, down-to-earth people who just happen to be women. Reading how they overcame various obstacles and acheived financial success running their own businesses can only be inspiring and encourage any would-be female entrepreneurs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable business reading!, 23 July 2006
By 
Sarah J. Steel (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Secrets of Successful Women Entrepreneurs: How Ten Leading Business Women Turned a Good Idea into a Fortune (Paperback)
Sue Stockdale's book, 'Secrets of Successful Women Entrepreneurs' is a rare thing; it is an enjoyabe, easy to read, but very informative business book, which once started is hard to put down. The series of interviews with an amazing collection of successful women entrepreneurs are incisive and inspiring and I found myself finishing one and rushing straight on to the next. At the end of the book I found myself wanting to ask more questions of them all - there isn't time in this fascinating snapshot to delve as deep as you would like, once your interest has been awakened. However, I felt inspired and enthused by these individuals and returned to my own business with an extra spring in my step!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Access To What They Did To Make It, 22 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Secrets of Successful Women Entrepreneurs: How Ten Leading Business Women Turned a Good Idea into a Fortune (Paperback)
It's not often you find a book that covers successful women in business and it's even less often you actually find one that shares the stories "warts and all".
This book delivers on the promise in a punchy, fast and easy to read style that enables you to learn from these role-models' attitudes, successes AND mistakes.
The 7 Steps at the end also really helps you to structure your own actions as a result of the inspiration found in the profiles. So you're not left feeling motivated but with no direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration for any woman entrepreneur, 12 Sep 2008
By 
This review is from: Secrets of Successful Women Entrepreneurs: How Ten Leading Business Women Turned a Good Idea into a Fortune (Paperback)
I'm a great believer in learning from others and I found this book both inspiring and educational. I knew of some of the women in this book, but the others were new to me and their stories and triumphs were very encouraging. The biggest thing that came out of this book was the importance of believing in yourself and being persistent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is The Future Female?, 18 Feb 2010
This review is from: Secrets of Successful Women Entrepreneurs: How Ten Leading Business Women Turned a Good Idea into a Fortune (Paperback)
Many years ago, when a management consultant, my research took me into a model of the world that polarised organisations into machines or as living entities. This concept has global implications.

Owners and managers who saw where they worked as a machine would tend to be autocratic, look for problems to solve, view suppliers, competitors and other stakeholders as manageable or potentially undesirable elements. This model lends itself to work study, rigid quality improvement programmes, a `tight ship' mindset and overall it is very yang, very masculine.

The living organisation model, which for me was the only place I was motivated to work in [or the goal of my `interventions' was to get from machine to living entity as soon as possible] holds immense promise. It is the opposite of the above, and most significantly, is female, yin.

Sue Stockdale opens her excellent book with seven steps to success, to quote her these steps `focus on the softer issues...'
This book is much more than how ten women turned good ideas into fortunes. And it gives examples of women who use the more masculine style of leadership.

I was drawn to it, because my wife is a successful entrepreneur, albeit at first a reluctant one. It appeals to me for reasons already given. It has value because passion, having a vision, being committed, having courage all pay dividends.

Ask anyone `in the street' to name geniuses, and almost all will name men. Ditto entrepreneurs. And yet interestingly, when I worked with dozens of boys in a tough Walsall Comprehensive, almost all of them regarded their mums as role models.

So, the future might well be female; God help us all if it's the extreme machine mind-set. Nearer to home, read this book, be inspired by the fascinating women chronicled in it, and start up your living business. You might also find some geniuses in there...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 2 Jun 2009
This review is from: Secrets of Successful Women Entrepreneurs: How Ten Leading Business Women Turned a Good Idea into a Fortune (Paperback)
All the entrepreneurs are very inspiring for women. I have read about Penny Streeter's story before and how she overcame adversity to achieve so much success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read., 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book for any woman (or man!) serious about going into, or growing, their business. Easy and quick to read and dip into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read this!, 1 Dec 2009
By 
E.Z.M (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Successful Women Entrepreneurs: How Ten Leading Business Women Turned a Good Idea into a Fortune (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this book. It was both realistic and motivating. It makes you realise nothing is easy and you have to work extra hard to acheive what you aspire to in life. And you fail many times before you actually reach your goal. I encourage any woman who wants to be successful to read this. It also is nice that it is all written from the womens perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not as helpful as I thought, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Successful Women Entrepreneurs: How Ten Leading Business Women Turned a Good Idea into a Fortune (Paperback)
Interesting book but I am not sure the book delivers what the title promised. I felt let down by the content
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stories, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Successful Women Entrepreneurs: How Ten Leading Business Women Turned a Good Idea into a Fortune (Paperback)
Buught by mistake, flicked through and it looks like an ok read but not for me as needed more advice rather than others success stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa587f390)

This product

Only search this product's reviews