Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


174 of 174 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and extremely sensible advice from an experienced nutritionist.
If you are looking for a weaning book that is written by a self-styled celebrity cook, which strongly pushes a particular weaning method and disregards all others, and focuses on weird combinations of food that the rest of the family would not dream of eating..... then this book is NOT for you!!!

I cannot rate this book highly enough. I was looking for a book...
Published on 6 Jan 2012 by Alex's honest reviews

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars All explained
This is ok. Although bought for iPad and discovered probably best to buy actual physical book so can flick through much easier.
Published 16 months ago by km Shinn


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

174 of 174 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and extremely sensible advice from an experienced nutritionist., 6 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weaning Made Easy: All you need to know about spoon feeding and baby-led weaning - get the best of both worlds (Paperback)
If you are looking for a weaning book that is written by a self-styled celebrity cook, which strongly pushes a particular weaning method and disregards all others, and focuses on weird combinations of food that the rest of the family would not dream of eating..... then this book is NOT for you!!!

I cannot rate this book highly enough. I was looking for a book about weaning that explained traditional (puree-based) and baby-led weaning so that I could choose the best way to wean my first child (now seven months). This book starts off by explaining both methods, the research behind them and the pros and cons of each (for example, that research clearly shows that using BLW alone can cause nutritional deficiencies or that puree-based weaning alone can lead to a lack of independence at meal times). It goes on to suggest how the two methods can be successfully combined in order to overcome the disadvantages of each method. The book is written by a qualified nutritionist with over 18 years of experience, who has established herself as an expert in nutrition for pregnancy and childhood, and has carried out nutrition research at leading universities. She also has three children. It's your choice, but I felt much more comfortable following advice from someone with these credentials, who backs up all her suggestions with proof from controlled scientific studies, rather than someone like Annabel Karmel who is a bit of a celebrity but has no actual nutrition qualifications as far as I can find out. Also, this book has only just been published and so the research quoted is recent and relevant.

There are comprehensive explanations at the start of all the different nutrients required and how to incorporate them, which foods to avoid and how to spot hidden "dangers" such as high salt, sugar etc. She also discusses what "organic food" actually means and gives advice on deciding whether this is for you or not, how to avoid being "taken in" by the baby food industry and buying baby foods you don't actually need, and when to start weaning (based on scientific research). Surprisingly for some perhaps, the advice is that it has not healthy to start weaning before four months of age but that it should be started before six months to avoid your child becoming anaemic. The advice of many health visitors to start after six months is actually outdated, and Dr Conway explains the research which backs up her advice regarding this matter.

There are then chapters according to age of baby (4-6 months, 7-9 months, 9-12 months, toddlers and beyond) with advice for each stage, sample meal plans and recipes. There are comments throughout from parents about their own experiences of weaning. The recipes are extremely tasty in my opinion and introduce the baby to a wide variety of healthy flavourings (e.g. lemon juice, herbs, garlic, black pepper, etc.) Overall, the emphasis is on encouraging your baby to eat a completely balanced diet, gradually gaining experience of finger foods whilst being supplemented with pureed or mashed food to ensure all nutrients are provided, gradually learning to eat more and more "chunky" food rather than purees, and teaching your baby to (a) eat similar meals to those that he or she will be expected to share with the family later on (although without added salt etc.) and (b) eat with other members of the family to learn about the social aspect of eating. I think this is much more sensible than finding ingenious ways to disguise certain foods within other foods, as some other weaning books advise, because the child will still need to learn to eat normal food combinations later on.

At every stage, the author advises how many breast-feeds per day or how much formula per day is required for optimum nutrition so that you know when to start dropping milk feeds and replacing them with food and water.

The final chapters are dedicated to combating fussy eating (including babies that aren't keen to drink water), food allergies and intolerances, other dietary problems, premature babies and vegetarian babies.

As a result of this book, I have a seven month old baby boy who loves meal times, eats a wide variety of foods (including many fruits and vegetables, fish, meat, poultry, dairy foods, etc, in fact the only thing he is not keen on so far is extra-mature cheddar cheese!), eats very lumpy textures with no problems, drinks plain water happily from a cup, and is rapidly gaining confidence with finger foods. I am sorry to have wittered on so extensively about this book but I am so thrilled with how weaning is progressing that I feel the need to share this book with everyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of its kind, 11 Jan 2012
By 
Mr Gumby "DH" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Weaning Made Easy: All you need to know about spoon feeding and baby-led weaning - get the best of both worlds (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
We'd rate this book as probably the best of its kind, having looked closely at many. We found it comprehensive and felt it inspired confidence that the author really knew her subject. It is eminently readable, with chapters for different age ranges, and advice offered is sensible and practical. Rather than being prescriptive, the book offers guidance to help readers come to their own conclusions on the approach that's right for them. Recipes incorporate a wide range of foods and flavours, making it easy to offer a balanced diet. The section dealing with problems such as fussy eating and allergies will be invaluable to many.

This is a first-rate book that we are delighted to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does what it says weaning made easy covers from babies to toddlers . Some great recipes . It covers pureed food and baby led weaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sensible, balanced view on the introduction of solids, 27 Dec 2012
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Weaning Made Easy: All you need to know about spoon feeding and baby-led weaning - get the best of both worlds (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The baby-led weaning vs spoon feeding debate is dealt with here in a really well-written, balanced account that favours an inclusive rather than either/or approach. Conway's accessible book evaluates both approaches in terms of dietary impact, but also looks at developmental and social factors. For instance, the practical effect of having a child who is used to BOTH finger food and purees is that your child is happy to eat a proper, cooked meal at home - but will happily eat a sandwich when you're out (more manageable than having to worry about heating up a casserole!).

Although there is a lot of information, it is presented in a very readable format that includes a variety of practical tips and recipes. I received my first copy as a review item, but have willingly paid for copies since.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flexible approach, 21 Mar 2012
By 
Dave (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Weaning Made Easy: All you need to know about spoon feeding and baby-led weaning - get the best of both worlds (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My daughter works with new parents and midwives and this is her review.

I was pleased to find a book that doesn't take the approach that new parents need to be told what to do . They may be anxious about new phases they encounter, but in my experience telling most new parents what to do with their baby from an 'expert' standpoint is a waste of time.

This book addresses some of the concerns that feed a parents anxiety about the right time to introduce solids into their baby's diet and what on earth they might give them.

It clears up some of the mystery that surrounds 'baby led weaning' and helps put the current guidelines in to context so that parents can decide for themselves whether they feel the 'guidelines' are something they want to stick to rigidly or maybe perhaps they might want to make a slightly different decision as it suits their baby and the rest of the family better.

I enjoyed the tone of the book and felt it was very balanced - helping parents to take the bits of each approach as they feel might work for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weaning Made Easy: All you need to know about spoon feeding and baby-led weaning - get the best of both worlds (Paperback)
great book with very good advices. I wish I had it with my first baby as well. highly recommended. nina
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy and helpful advice, 16 Feb 2012
By 
pacem et amorem (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Weaning Made Easy: All you need to know about spoon feeding and baby-led weaning - get the best of both worlds (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great little book, written by a professional with good credentials. It can be difficult to know what to do when the world and his wife is trying to tell you what they did with their little precious bundle of joy. This book hopes to solve the confusing mass of mixed messages received by already overwhelmed new or prospective parents.

Well written, with good advice from a trusted source. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Informative Read, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weaning Made Easy: All you need to know about spoon feeding and baby-led weaning - get the best of both worlds (Paperback)
Great as an informative read on how to wean a baby, though my little girl didn't like any of the recipes in the book and I found it a a bit critical of mums who don't wean babies at 4 months.

Covered all the basics and had good information on nutrition. Also had good guidelines on how much of each food group to aim to give a baby each day. I did feel that it implied that it was too late to start weaning at 6 months, though my little girl wasn't interested in food until just before she turned 6 months. The recipes from the later weaning stages were a bit bland, especially when other books I had were recommending introducing herbs and garlic into recipes for baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful and easy to digest book, 3 Feb 2012
By 
Janie (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Weaning Made Easy: All you need to know about spoon feeding and baby-led weaning - get the best of both worlds (Paperback)
As a first time mum I found this book very helpful. It explains why there is confusion about weaning babies from 6 months and 4 months which makes it easier to make your own decision on when to start. It gives examples of how to start weaning and what foods to give. It has a few basic receipies for making your own purees too. I would recomend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful book for weaning, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weaning Made Easy: All you need to know about spoon feeding and baby-led weaning - get the best of both worlds (Paperback)
This book is comprehensive and beneficial for anyone wishing to consider options for weaning and offers information re the pros and cons of baby led weaning and purées etc. There is also a very useful section at the back of the book which includes information re babies with allergies or other dietary requirements. I particularly enjoyed the section about vegetarian weaning. All in all a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews