Customer Reviews


159 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly excellent - An essential and easy read for dads-to-be!
There are hundreds, possibly thousands, of books aimed at women to guide them through pregnancy, but very few books aimed at the fathers. This book aims to redress the balance a little, by providing a guide for daddys-to-be that will help them to understand how their child is developing, and how to support and help their partner along the way.

The book has an...
Published on 6 April 2010 by Miss

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lads mag tone puts me off... Needs a Fry re-write!
Given the plethora of such titles for women, it's good to have something for the guys, but I have to confess that I prefer to read stuff that assumes I'm a bit more mature. All too often, for my tastes at any rate, this reads like something from a lads mag, and, whilst I did admittedly chuckle on cue, I found myself constantly not feeling the urge to continue reading it,...
Published on 16 Sept. 2010 by Sebastian Palmer


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly excellent - An essential and easy read for dads-to-be!, 6 April 2010
By 
Miss "crazyminx" (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Pregnancy For Men: The whole nine months (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There are hundreds, possibly thousands, of books aimed at women to guide them through pregnancy, but very few books aimed at the fathers. This book aims to redress the balance a little, by providing a guide for daddys-to-be that will help them to understand how their child is developing, and how to support and help their partner along the way.

The book has an incredibly easy to read, personal style that drew me in instantly and made me want to keep reading. I never knew a book like this could be such a page turner, and that is almost entirely down to the excellent style. It is very funny and had me laughing out loud often. As a woman, I was a little worried that the book might turn out to be one that made fun of women and their hormonal changes etc., but I was pleasantly surprised to find that women are treated with nothing but total respect in this book and the emphasis is very much on how the fathers should be taking care of the ladies during this time.

I found that this book really does cover everything you would want to know. It deals surprisingly sensitively with the worries and possibilities of miscarriages and ectopic pregnancies during the early months and tells you the signs to look out for in your partner and how to respond to them. It describes all the changes a woman's body will go through, from morning sickness to heartburn, and suggests ways to help and to be sensitive to them. It lists things that are safe to do and eat in pregnancy, things you will need to buy, decisions you will need to make about the birth itself, and even takes you right up to labour, encouraging overdue babies to arrive, and holding your little arrival.

The book is also laid out in a helpful month-by-month way and at the end of every chapter is a round-up of how your baby will have developed during the past weeks, and how your partner will be feeling/changing/coping. There is also a list of things to do at the end of each chapter, which range from the practical (don't let your partner do heavy lifting or change cat's litter trays, put a nighlight up on the path to the bathroom), to the forward-thinking (book into the best antenatal classes ahead of time), to the sweet and thoughtful (arrange a pregnancy-safe massage or pedicure for her).

I can't recommend this book enough. It is a fantastic starting point for any guy who is planning to be a good partner and dad before, during and after the pregnancy process, and it is informative and useful without ever being dry or boring. If you're a guy, buy it for yourself, and if you're a woman hoping to conceive, buy it for your partner - he'll be able to understand you so much better, and I wouldn't be surprised if this actually saves a few relationships!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, funny and extremely easy to read, 11 May 2010
By 
Ms. J. Harris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pregnancy For Men: The whole nine months (Paperback)
This book had me laughing out loud within the first two pages. The chapters are informative, telling me pretty much everything I need to know about pregnancy, with interesting facts thrown in and a lot of humour carefully sprinkled throughout for good measure. It's a very useful guide and cleverly gets all the raw info across without the reader feeling feel like they're wading through a text book. It's quite brilliantly done and is a step away from the other pregnancy books I've read. It certainly shouldn't be kept under wraps by soon-to-be Dads - why let them have all the fun? I would recomend this book to both mums and dad's-to-be who want a genuinely informative, entertaining and engaging guide to the weird and wonderful nine months of pregnancy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant, 22 April 2010
By 
Darren Simons (Middlesex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pregnancy For Men: The whole nine months (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My wife and I are expecting our first child in a few months, so we were both really keen for me to read up a bit more on the pregnancy/childbirth process. However, most such books are geared very much to the mother-to-be and to be honest will lose the attention of the father-to-be within a few pages (from friends I see this is a common trait for men so if it applies to you, don't worry).

This book's different though... written by a man for men, with comment and feedback from recent fathers, it's a fairly quick read yet really tells you a vast amount (my wife was quite impressed with what I'd learnt!). Each chapter deals with a different month of the pregnancy and then of course the 9th month deals with the birth itself. There is a good mix of useful ideas, a splattering of science, things to do/not to do, as well as humour and wit (needlessly to say regarding the mother-to-be's breast size!). The fact v humour balance is spot on with proper attention given to medical conditions and complications, yet the wit returning soon after (yup, those breasts again!)

Best of all I thought was the feedback from recent rathers at each stage - they're quite open and really give a good indicatioin of what it feels like from a father's perspective.

I really cannot recommend this book enough for future fathers. Good luck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 27 May 2010
By 
Tim (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pregnancy For Men: The whole nine months (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is not your typical pregnancy guide. First, it is directed at men. Secondly, it is extremely funny.

While not all the jokes hit their mark, the majority do, and make the book very easy and enjoyable to read. My wife, who is expecting twins, also enjoyed dipping into sections of it. It is not a detailed, medical text book, but contains various helpful sections on diet, ultrasound scans, miscarriage, etc. within a generally chronological run-through of the different stages of pregnancy.

My only criticism is that, at times, I found the "laddish" style and needless profanities somewhat grating. Jokes about "not firing blanks", for example, might offend readers who have undergone fertility treatment. Despite the laddish moments, the author is, however, very respectful of women and provides lots of practical encouragement to the man on supporting his wife or partner.

Overall, I would highly recommended it for an alternative take on pregnancy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and very informative for dads to be as well as the mum to be as well, 17 Jun. 2010
By 
This review is from: Pregnancy For Men: The whole nine months (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Interesting book detailing what changes the body go through from the moment of conception to the birth, with a factual monthly guide of what to expect, as well as the various options available to help the birth go as well as possible.
It covers areas such as natural vs assisted births, hormonal changes, and the fascinating way that the womans body adapts throughout the entire process, in preparation for labour.
For the dad it is an essential book as it does help to demystify the entire trimester (the whole 9 months) and offers monthly ideas of things that can be done to assist the mum to be, as well as prepare for the new arrival.
A somewhat riveting read, whether you are actually facing the imminent arrival of a child, or looking into planned parenthood.
it would make a great present for a family member going through this for the first time, as some of the information is, of course superfluous the second time around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read for my partner!!, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pregnancy For Men: The whole nine months (Paperback)
I bought this dorky partner, as he was becoming a 1st time dad. He really enjoyed it, plus found it very informative.
It's written from the male perspective, honest and funny!! I even picked it up myself when I had questions about my pregnancy.

My partner often told me facts about my pregnancy that I didn't know, even though this was my 3rd baby!!
The book explains what a pregnant woman may experience, but in a language which men find easier to understand, and as my partner put it, its not boring like a lot of the standard pregnancy books.

My partner ended up reading it twice, as he got through it in the diary few months. He then went over it month by month as our pregnancy moved on.

I will be looking out for a new dad book now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to be a superdad and uber-husband, 19 May 2010
By 
Mr. Murray J. Barnett (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pregnancy For Men: The whole nine months (Paperback)
Trying to understand what my wife went through (and is going through again!) was very difficult. Unfortunately this book wasnt out when we had our first baby. This time round I am able to empathise much more and actually look like the caring sharing husband I aspire to be. In fact the author has made me look better than that - i'm able to anticipate my wifes needs and defuse some of my own reactions to her behaviour by understanding better what she is going through.

This book is also written in a way that doesnt feel too 'medical' or patronising. I had a couple of books for our first baby but it felt like going back to school and reading text books rather than something I wanted to absorb and enjoy. The second time round has been a more enriching experience in part because of this book. I would strongly recommend it. Look like a super dad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 27 Feb. 2015
By 
PPS076 (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pregnancy For Men: The whole nine months (Paperback)
Pregnancy can be like getting married somewhat as we often find that most of the attention is directed towards the woman and when the mother in law gets deeply involved men can sometimes feel that they are being squeezed out of the equation. Not only can this be extremely stressful for the man but it can make him get more distanced from his partner which sadly can be misinterpreted as not caring, especially when mood swings caused by fluctuating hormones are around.

Sent for review the book is 275 pages long and contains the equivalent of 9 chapters which in this book each relate to each month of pregnancy. Before and after these chapters we find the introduction, the 9.5th month of pregnancy (being overdue) and an epilogue (holding the baby) with a reminder at the end that although it's a roller coater ride it should still be thoroughly enjoyable. Immediately before the index at the back there is a particularly useful glossary section which walks you through the A-Z terminology of the whole process and more.

There are a significant amount of different topics covered and these range from scans, symptoms, premature births, diet, morning sickness, women's hormones, mens hormones and hospital visits to name but a few.

The book is very well written and presents all the information very nicely in small chunks which makes everything much easier to read and remember and this makes it far more enjoyable. Rather than making the whole process sound like a daunting 9 month task it injects humour into the book at certain stages and this is more likely to make you more relaxed and give you the impetus to want to continue reading. However when serious and upsetting topics such as miscarriage are discussed the humour quickly disappears with a great deal of sensitivity shown.

To make things even more interesting we find sections called 'Words from your fellow man' - documented experiences of a wide range of men from different backgrounds on different topics. Reading these testimonials is more likely to make you feel that you are not alone and is an useful addition to the book. The 'must does of the month' feature also brings together a wide range of critical tips and this makes them stand out very well from less important information.

In summary I found that the book contained a significant amount of varied and relevant topics and the delivery was first class. The combination of good writing and clever layout structure made the book interesting, enjoyable and very much educational. The book did a grand job at providing men with the tools to be able to cope with the A-Z roller coater ride of pregnancy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lads mag tone puts me off... Needs a Fry re-write!, 16 Sept. 2010
By 
Sebastian Palmer "sebuteo" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pregnancy For Men: The whole nine months (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Given the plethora of such titles for women, it's good to have something for the guys, but I have to confess that I prefer to read stuff that assumes I'm a bit more mature. All too often, for my tastes at any rate, this reads like something from a lads mag, and, whilst I did admittedly chuckle on cue, I found myself constantly not feeling the urge to continue reading it, and I got it because I'm hoping to become a father in the near future.

In fact, I never did make it to the end of the book, mostly because of the style of the writing. Don't get me wrong, it's not poorly written, it's just not to my tastes. If you're a 'geezer' who enjoys GQ, Nuts, Esquire, or whatever other men's title you care to think of, this might be just right for you. I guess I wish Stephen Fry had written it, but then he's gay isn't he, so I guess that book's not coming out any time soon.

PS - This book's full of the kind of facts and information prospective fathers probably ought to know about: the content is there, no question. Even so, I couldn't quite bring myself to read it all. Perhaps I'll give it another shot, so to speak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, funny and informative!, 16 April 2010
By 
South Londoner (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Pregnancy For Men: The whole nine months (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a medical professional I was very impressed by this book. It's hilarious and yet manages to convey all the information you need in an accurate, no nonsense way. If you're a man bewildered by the whole process of pregnancy and childbirth and want an insiders guide that does what it says on the tin (with style!) then buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pregnancy For Men: The whole nine months
Pregnancy For Men: The whole nine months by Mark Woods (Paperback - 3 May 2010)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews