Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and informative
A superbly presented book which shows each National Trust house individually with the relevant photographs and historical facts. The quality of the book is reflected in the photographs, the quality of the paper and the informative and highly interesting texts. If you enjoy visiting these places, then this book is a "must" but it's just as relevant if like me, you just...
Published on 19 Dec. 2009 by V. Ballinger

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many houses, not enough attention to each
I would like to give this book (and its unofficial sister publication "treasures from the national trust") a better review, but I can't in all honesty.
The next best thing to visiting these dwellings is a video tour of the houses in question. The next best thing to that are books dedicated to each specific mansion.
After that there are books such as this...
Published on 4 Dec. 2010 by Peter Wijnand


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and informative, 19 Dec. 2009
By 
V. Ballinger "Remy booker" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Houses of the National Trust: Outstanding Buildings of Britain (Hardcover)
A superbly presented book which shows each National Trust house individually with the relevant photographs and historical facts. The quality of the book is reflected in the photographs, the quality of the paper and the informative and highly interesting texts. If you enjoy visiting these places, then this book is a "must" but it's just as relevant if like me, you just enjoy reading about the historical houses of Great Britain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely Presented Overview of National Trust Properties, 3 Feb. 2011
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Houses of the National Trust: Outstanding Buildings of Britain (Hardcover)
This is a nicely presented book which, due to space limitations, can only give a broad overview of the properties it covers. It does not claim to be a comprehensive coverage of all National Trust buildings, but does include most of the houses and a representative selection of other properties, such as castles, watermills etc.

Generally two to three pages are devoted to each property, except for the very small ones, and this covers the history of the building itself and interesting facts connected to the building such as information on former owners, contents etc. The book is lavishly illustrated and is a substantial volume so not one which you will want to carry around on National Trust visits!

I have found it most useful in checking out properties which I am planning to visit so as to get a bit of background. If you are going to a different part of the country and are a National Trust member it is interesting to do some pre planning of NT places to visit and this book is very helpful in that respect. A very acceptable pressie for an NT member too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many houses, not enough attention to each, 4 Dec. 2010
By 
Peter Wijnand (Weesp, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Houses of the National Trust: Outstanding Buildings of Britain (Hardcover)
I would like to give this book (and its unofficial sister publication "treasures from the national trust") a better review, but I can't in all honesty.
The next best thing to visiting these dwellings is a video tour of the houses in question. The next best thing to that are books dedicated to each specific mansion.
After that there are books such as this (touring several houses), giving each house plenty of space. Alas, it doesn't hit the spot.
Too many houses are crammed into it and therefore each house is given scarce attention.
You could (and should) go into more depth with each house. Maybe you have to publish more than one book! But the result would have been so much better and I would gladly have paid the price to own all of them.
I already have returned the book so I can't go into detail describing the contents for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An superb informative companion for any NT visitor, 19 Oct. 2010
By 
This review is from: Houses of the National Trust: Outstanding Buildings of Britain (Hardcover)
Being a National trust member I quite often pick this great book up to plan days out or weekends away. The NT has some fantastic properties and the book does great justice to them. Contains most of the key information and historical notes about the numerous houses under it's remit. Well worth the money for the beautiful photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Things Historical, 15 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Houses of the National Trust: Outstanding Buildings of Britain (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a birthday present for my wife. She loves all things historical and I couldn't have given her anything better. It has opened up a whole new world of places to go and buildings to see which should keep us both busy for some time. If you want to be in somebody's favour then buy this book for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trust guide, 15 July 2010
By 
Mr. J. Coates "John C" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Houses of the National Trust: Outstanding Buildings of Britain (Hardcover)
An excellent reference for those visiting NT properties who want more detail than in the members' list but don't want to delve through detailed guide books.
Equally good to browse through as a "coffee table" book, and to get ideas of places to visit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for browsing and planning trips, 4 Oct. 2012
By 
A. Christian (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Houses of the National Trust: Outstanding Buildings of Britain (Hardcover)
This book is full of lovely big pictures of different National Trust properties all over the country. It's very inspiring to flick through and think about where you would like to visit next! Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 24 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Houses of the National Trust: Outstanding Buildings of Britain (Hardcover)
A gift for someone who loves visiting the houses, it has lovely photos of the houses inside and out, and a fair amount of basic info about them.
very helpfull in planing a visit,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Houses of the National Trust, 16 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Houses of the National Trust: Outstanding Buildings of Britain (Hardcover)
Well set out publication with excellent photographs. Ideal to give a flavour of what can be seen for real. Good price too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars National Trust houses- book, 11 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Houses of the National Trust: Outstanding Buildings of Britain (Hardcover)
Bought for a friend who has used it several times as a source of information. Lovely use of photographs and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Houses of the National Trust: Outstanding Buildings of Britain
Houses of the National Trust: Outstanding Buildings of Britain by Lydia Greeves (Hardcover - 30 Sept. 2008)
Used & New from: £8.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews