Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Very good!
Published 3 months ago by Nicanor G�mez-Villegas

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but superficial - could do better
The General part of the book about history, production etc is very basic
The Tea Descriptions are good for the teas listed.
What is missing is, instead of listing say 3 teas from a particular area, and giving great details of that particular tea (which is probably not on our stockists list), we are still left without an understanding of the nature, flavour,...
Published 12 months ago by Marcus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but superficial - could do better, 24 Oct 2013
By 
Marcus (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tea Classified: A Tealover's Companion (Hardcover)
The General part of the book about history, production etc is very basic
The Tea Descriptions are good for the teas listed.
What is missing is, instead of listing say 3 teas from a particular area, and giving great details of that particular tea (which is probably not on our stockists list), we are still left without an understanding of the nature, flavour, colour, aroma or what may delight or disgust us...

So not very helpful all in all... Shame, it promised well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tea Classified: A Tealover's Companion (Hardcover)
Very good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tea Classified: A Tealover's Companion (Hardcover)
This was recommend to me by a member of staff at Twillings for my daughter who is opening a tea shop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!!, 8 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tea Classified: A Tealover's Companion (Hardcover)
I love this book it’s so detailed. I didn’t know much about tea at all, It’s got about leaf grades, blends and brewing. About the tea plant, tea and health, tea blends. And what each type of tea looks like dry and wet. It’s so fascinating to learn all the health benefits too. This book is amazing if you want to learn more about diffrent types of tea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for tea lovers!, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tea Classified: A Tealover's Companion (Hardcover)
Excellent coverage by very knowledgeable people. Informative but easy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Promising... but it's not gold everything that shines!, 30 Jun 2011
By 
Iigo Aguirre Polo (spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tea Classified: A Tealover's Companion (Hardcover)
I bought this book through Amazon about two weeks ago, and, as one doesn't have the possibility of browsing the book like at a proper bookstore, read reviews, and product description and decided for this one.

I was so let down!: the book contains loads of typos that in my criteria are intolerable: misplaced photos, an inverted world map diagram, photos of teas that were not the variety they were talking about (for instance, when explaining a green tea variety it appeared a photo of a Japanese green tea with toasted rice and the "wet tea" photo next to it had no toasted rice, probably the proper photo)...

The text seemed ok, and didn't spot out anything doggy, but the whole lack of care put into the editing made the text lose its credibility. Come on, this is a book meat for people passionate about tea who are searching for credible info and expecting it!

Also the print seemed very nice, using very good quality paper, but somehow it was not comfortable to use as the bind was sticked to the hard cover and therefore could not be completely opened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great present, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tea Classified: A Tealover's Companion (Hardcover)
Bought for a friend-she's really pleased with it.
There's lots of info about tea, types of leaves, history etc. also includes some recommended places to visit, although I don't know how up to date these might be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very authoritative, 31 Dec 2012
By 
Henrik Sandin (Liding, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tea Classified: A Tealover's Companion (Hardcover)
Authors have taken time to veer away from traditional reviews of blends and focused on the real down-to-earth kinds of tea. Surprising is the inclusion of two representatives of English (Cornwall) teas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Book., 23 Mar 2010
By 
E. E. Hughes (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tea Classified: A Tealover's Companion (Hardcover)
This book was bought as a present for me. It is very beautiful with an elegant dust wrapper and filled with pictures. It sits very well on my shelf and would work as a coffee table book as a lot of my friends have taken it down and perused it.

It is very informative about white and green teas, and especially teas from Asia. However there is a lack of information about Rooibos (there is only one brief mention of it's existence) and Honeybush (which is not mentioned at all). I also feel that there could have been a section on the flavourings of tea (there is only a vague paragraph), such as Jasmine, and not just a focus on the leaves themselves. Similarly it would have been nice for the book to have gone into detail about modern blends.

Having said all that there is already a lot of information in the book, which has been well presented. It is informative without being too overloading or in-depth. It is a book you can easily dip into.

I would recommend it to all tea lovers, and having received it as a gift and been delighted I can recommend it as a gift to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tea Classified: A Tealover's Companion
Tea Classified: A Tealover's Companion by Jane Pettigrew and Bruce Richardson (Hardcover - 16 Oct 2008)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews