Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pudding fever...
I think this is an excellent addition to my (large!)collection of cookbooks. There are a very wide variety of recipes included - most contain dessert storecupboard staples (e.g honey, syrup, sugar, flour), so I can now whip up several puddings without trudging to my local supermarket for ingredients. The recipes vary in complexity but I can always find something that can...
Published on 22 Feb 2009 by Nomesky

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't Create a Stir!
For someone who has never made a pudding, or was brought up to only nibble vegetables, this book could be a useful introduction to the world of puddings, but experienced cooks could consider it a little disappointing in content. It neither has a comprehensive range nor includes any of the lesser known puddings and almost all puddings described can be found in most other...
Published on 4 Feb 2009 by smudge


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pudding fever..., 22 Feb 2009
By 
Nomesky (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Good Old-fashioned Puddings (Hardcover)
I think this is an excellent addition to my (large!)collection of cookbooks. There are a very wide variety of recipes included - most contain dessert storecupboard staples (e.g honey, syrup, sugar, flour), so I can now whip up several puddings without trudging to my local supermarket for ingredients. The recipes vary in complexity but I can always find something that can be produced within a convenient time frame for the occasion.

There are some favourites included (the 'icky sticky toffee pudding' is to die for!) - I agree that several recipes are available in other cookbooks but one must appreciate that no two recipes for the same pudding are ever exactly the same & anyway this book brings them conveniently under one book. There are also very rare 'vintage' puds' included that without this volume would be lost in time.

Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love to bake, 6 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Old-fashioned Puddings (Hardcover)
i saw this book and had to have it a lot of old fashioned recipes have tried some which are great besst cook book ever for puddings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Old-fashioned Puddings (Hardcover)
Many old favourites in this lovely book and also some I have never tried. Look forward to using more often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Old-Fashioned Puddings, 14 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Good Old-fashioned Puddings (Hardcover)
I love this book, it's the best recipe book I own. I get excited every time one of these puddings is ready to eat. Every single recipe in this book tastes deliciously fabulous and is easy to make. The book has beautiful illustrations, clear instructions and even a little bit of history about the origins of each pudding. This is an absolute MUST!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't Create a Stir!, 4 Feb 2009
This review is from: Good Old-fashioned Puddings (Hardcover)
For someone who has never made a pudding, or was brought up to only nibble vegetables, this book could be a useful introduction to the world of puddings, but experienced cooks could consider it a little disappointing in content. It neither has a comprehensive range nor includes any of the lesser known puddings and almost all puddings described can be found in most other recipe books. So, if you are looking for something different or nostalgic to prepare for a winter's Sunday lunch, this probably isn't the book for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5*, 28 Aug 2014
By 
A. D. Harding "The Nomad" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Old-fashioned Puddings (Hardcover)
Top quality book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm..., 31 July 2009
This review is from: Good Old-fashioned Puddings (Hardcover)
Rushed to buy this as soon as I became aware of it; It is so difficult to find the classics, oldies and particularly 'puddings' when you actually want a recipe even though you imagine that all the standards cover them.
This book does include a great collection of 'classic, old school puddings' and I am delighted to have it in my library.
The 3 star reality is that I am yet to cook anything from it. I have owned it 4 or so months now and am hoping I will feel more inspired in the winter. Either way I do enjoy a book were there is at least 1 dish that I am scrambling to make as soon as possible.
I will update this review when/if I test it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Old-fashioned Puddings
Good Old-fashioned Puddings by Sara Paston-Williams (Hardcover - 7 Sep 2007)
15.61
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews