Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read
I am not a person that reads a lot of books, but this one grabbed my attention. It is a good read and i only picked it up 4 times and by then i had finished it.
Worth a read if you want to know more about the real reasons that some Thai women turn to doing this.
For us westerners it is a way to have our eyes opened to some of the real Thailand that as tourists...
Published on 7 Dec 2008 by I. Griffin

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok beach read
promising start but got a little boring ..ok beach read but forgotten as soon as you read last page .. v easy to pick up n put down again
Published on 16 Aug 2008 by JEANIE


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 7 Dec 2008
By 
I. Griffin (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miss Bangkok: Memoirs of a Thai Prostitute (Paperback)
I am not a person that reads a lot of books, but this one grabbed my attention. It is a good read and i only picked it up 4 times and by then i had finished it.
Worth a read if you want to know more about the real reasons that some Thai women turn to doing this.
For us westerners it is a way to have our eyes opened to some of the real Thailand that as tourists we dont see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok beach read, 16 Aug 2008
By 
JEANIE (LANCASHIRE) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Miss Bangkok: Memoirs of a Thai Prostitute (Paperback)
promising start but got a little boring ..ok beach read but forgotten as soon as you read last page .. v easy to pick up n put down again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Undemanding tale., 19 Oct 2012
This review is from: Miss Bangkok: Memoirs of a Thai Prostitute (Paperback)
This is a slim, uncomplicated book that skips along at a brisk pace but, without belittling the hardships of the author's life, it is fairly standard fare and there are few surprises here. Anyone expecting lots of juicy and titillating stories based around her activities as a bar girl will be disappointed. She does not even pour her first beer till half way through the book and then the tales she tells do not rise above the mundane.

There are some interesting insights into Thai life and custom, particularly the concept of 'face' that are revealing to Western readers and it is from her fellow Thais that she suffers most, not the sex tourist 'farangs.' It is due in general to her poverty and in specific to the Thai men in her life that she ends up becoming a sex worker. In the notorious bars of Patpong where she works, she stereotypes all 'farang' customers as leering, overweight and over 50 whilst admitting that, for the most part, they treat her better than her fellow Thais.

She discusses the social and moral shortcomings of her clients but tends to skate over her own failures to be truthful when it suits her needs. While I felt no sympathy for the Japanese punter who lavished gifts upon her for the implied gift of her virginity {actually I thought him an idiot} neither did I feel any for this deceiving mother of three as she continued a web of lies to deceive and fleece him.

She does tell the story of a 'farang' she fell 'in love' and played out a long term relationship with and you do feel some sympathy as she grows to realise that he is unable to commit to her preferring instead the 'romance' of dating a bar girl. A common enough scenario in Thailand with 'farangs.'

Ultimately the book falls into the category of an interesting but undemanding read. It does show some aspects of Thai life beyond the nightime neon that the reader is unlikely to be familiar with and clearly hard choices have been forced upon her but ultimately the tale is too blandly told and needs more punch. It seems to be under the impression that just to feel sorrow for the author because she is poor is enough to make it a worthwhile tale but it needs more depth. If any male tourist is dissuaded from visiting Patpong or any other of Bangkok's 'pleasure palaces' as a result of this book I will be very much surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good that it will make you cry, 7 May 2011
This review is from: Miss Bangkok: Memoirs of a Thai Prostitute (Paperback)
Different type of story for us farangs. I hope you read and see to the other side of the fence. 5-stars recommendation for any expat or farang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining read., 5 Oct 2010
By 
K. Seabridge (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miss Bangkok: Memoirs of a Thai Prostitute (Paperback)
Easy to read but with very few surprises, if you've never been to Thailand then this may give you an idea on life in such a country of contradictions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 12 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Miss Bangkok: Memoirs of a Thai Prostitute (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. Great for a holiday read, and shows a side to Thailand that largely gets hidden away. I would recommend it toanyone going to Thailand to learn more about the truth of the lives behind the neon lights of the GoGo bars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book about a great person, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Bangkok: Memoirs of a Thai Prostitute (Paperback)
I love thailand. So this book is a must read for most guys. Gives a good insight into a real thai girls life. Respect them. Its not an easy life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sad story, 6 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. G. Casey "starbrush" (helensburgh, scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sad story. Is it true? It certainly could be. There are many ways other than prostitution for Thai women to earn money. Is it the lure of the big buck which drives them. Many are proud of the fact they have 2, 3, maybe even 4 or 5 falang(farang) boyfriends each sending a not inconsiderable sum, and indeed boast of this procurement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Life of a Thai bar girl, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miss Bangkok: Memoirs of a Thai Prostitute (Paperback)
This book tell the true story of life as it is for many Thai girls facing poverty and their plight as they slide into prostitution. How they feel about what they do and why they do it. A harrowing account of a life from which there seems no escape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok read, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read about half of this book but found it quite repedative and in a style which didn't hold my attention
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0a4e240)

This product

Miss Bangkok: Memoirs of a Thai Prostitute
Miss Bangkok: Memoirs of a Thai Prostitute by Bua Boonmee (Paperback - 6 Sep 2007)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews