Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most helpful treatment for pain
Having been diagnosed with referred pain caused by compression in the spine, I was told to carry on taking the prescribed painkillers and do some exercises set by the consultant. These exercises did help with the pain I got in my feet, but did nothing (if not actually made it worse)for the pain in my back, shoulder and hip joints. So I took up Yoga for Healthy Lower...
Published on 1 Dec 2011 by Linguist

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Basic Back Maintenance stretches
A little difficult to follow in places. Easy back stretches that should be suitable for most people. Definitely better with a class tutor to work through the book with.
Published 21 months ago by Jane


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most helpful treatment for pain, 1 Dec 2011
This review is from: Yoga for Healthy Lower Backs (Paperback)
Having been diagnosed with referred pain caused by compression in the spine, I was told to carry on taking the prescribed painkillers and do some exercises set by the consultant. These exercises did help with the pain I got in my feet, but did nothing (if not actually made it worse)for the pain in my back, shoulder and hip joints. So I took up Yoga for Healthy Lower Backs, a course offered by one of the Yoga teachers who took part in the trials on which this book is based. After 7 weeks, I'm virtually off the codeine-phosphate tablets (only rarely needed now) and I'm pain-free a lot of the time. And if I am experiencing pain, I can do a posture and find relief - even at work.

The book itself is very clear, with detailed instructions and clear photographs. The postures are explained in more detail in a later section of the book, allowing you to just look at the quick descriptions while you are doing the postures, and reading up in detail later. It gives you a course to follow, so you don't necessarily need to attend a class and allows you to practise at home, in the knowledge that you are doing the right kind of things safely. It is very gentle, taking into account that you might not be able to have the full range of movement / flexibility to do a classical posture, and it offers you lots of alternative ways to do the posture without hurting yourself.

I love the section "What to Do if You Get a Painful Back Episode", as it quickly gives you useful advice and postures that you can do almost on the spot, using office or home furniture to get relief. If you do decide to make Yoga part of your life, it also provides details as to how to go about finding a good teacher / class.

Finally, the book details the research the book is based on, which you can use to persuade sceptical medics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really helpful, 12 Mar 2012
By 
J. W. Wade (Oakley Hants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yoga for Healthy Lower Backs (Paperback)
I have had sciatica for a number of years for which I have been given painkillers by my GP practice and referred to physio at my request but had no resolution of the problem, if anything it was getting worse. I have practised yoga for many years but had virtually stopped because of the pain.

I bought this book after reading about it on the British Wheel of Yoga website. It is absolutely brilliant. Very informed. Very useful for beginners through to the experienced yoga practitioner. Lots of information presented in an easily accessible manner. I would say it is an extremely safe way to resolve lower back pain and get some movement back without doing any further damage.

I too love the Section "What to do if you get a painful back episode" which quickly gives you useful advice on some "first aid".

Unfortunately there are no teachers trained in this method local to me but hopefully that will change as more teachers take up the training.

Oh, and my sciatica is a lot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good clear instructions, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga for Healthy Lower Backs (Paperback)
I am a yoga teacher and bought this as many people come to class with lower back issues. I found it easy to use, I liked the easy to follow programs that were devised. The photos are in black and white and each is accompanied with an easy to read observations section and a benefits section. Many if not all of the poses are already known to yoga teachers, but having a nice structured plan and easy to read narrative makes it easy to get the benefits across to those not already converted to yoga. A diligent practitioner would benefit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy for yoga homework, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga for Healthy Lower Backs (Paperback)
I bought this book because I signed up for a yoga for healthy lower backs 12 week programme and the course tutor recommended this book as essential reading.
It's proven to be a handy reference book containing useful photographs and guidance when practising the yoga positions at home in between classes.
Even if you're not signed up to a specific yoga programme, this book is still useful to help you learn and practice specific yoga positions for lower backs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Basic Back Maintenance stretches, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga for Healthy Lower Backs (Paperback)
A little difficult to follow in places. Easy back stretches that should be suitable for most people. Definitely better with a class tutor to work through the book with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yoga course, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga for Healthy Lower Backs (Paperback)
Bought the book to go with other products for a course in lower back pain. It's easy to follow ad the pics are great for following the course. It will be invaluable once the 12 week course has finished. Anyone attending a course for lower back problems I would suggest buying this book anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 19 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga for Healthy Lower Backs (Paperback)
I bought this as an aid to teaching but it's so basic I have learnt nothing new. It's very repetitive with the majority of the book showing the poses in detail which isn't really needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yoga for Healthy Lower Backs, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga for Healthy Lower Backs (Paperback)
Informative with good photographs and clear instructions.
Teaches gentle yoga and how to progress with care.
It would be a useful adjunct to those attending Yoga for Healthy Lower Backs Courses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The no medicine treatment for bad backs, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga for Healthy Lower Backs (Paperback)
Very comprehensive and thoroughly researched, this book is a must have for back pain sufferers and those who want to improve the health of their back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A handy reference manual, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga for Healthy Lower Backs (Paperback)
The book is clear, easy to use and builds up from the basic foundations of yoga for a beginner, even someone who isn't at all mobile and progressively works towards better stretch, strength and mobility of the back. It's best used in conjunction with the Yoga for Health Lower Backs course. The guidance of an experienced yoga teacher is invaluable when treating back complaints. Definitely worth keeping as a handy reference manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yoga for Healthy Lower Backs
Yoga for Healthy Lower Backs by Alison Trewhela (Paperback - 4 Nov 2011)
£14.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews