Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars82
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2012
I have been taught on some CPD courses by John, and his book compliments his teaching style. I am a Sports Therapist and a lecturer in Sports Therapy and find this book very useful for both clinical and teaching elements.

The images are very good, clear and effective. The terminology is also very good - easy to read and understand.

I would recommend this book for any student studying sports therapy, physiotherapy, or similar, and would recommend this book for any qualified therapists working in the industry as an excellent support book for work.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2012
Having attended previous courses with John Gibbons, I am a fan of his teaching style, and the presentation of this book is no different, and it certainly does not disappoint.

As a lecturer in sports therapy, I have found the book an invaluable tool to accompany my own teaching, with the excellent images and clear and concise diagrams.

The main selling point of this book is the quality you get for the price, highly recommended and a must buy for all sports therapists, physio's, chiropractors, osteopaths and remedial massage therapists, whether qualified or currently studying!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2012
Having worked as a sports masseur and osteopath for the last 15 years it is refreshing to come across a text which provides such a clear and logical presentation of the theory and application of METs. The author has presented quite a technical subject with the clarity that only comes from truly understanding the subject area. Clearly, this level of understanding can only be gained through years of thoughtful practice. The author also exhibits an excellent appreciation of how we learn. This is reflected in the balanced use of text and imagery which together provides the user with an invaluable aid to effective practive. A must have for the established and aspiring soft tissue specialist alike!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2012
This is a clearly written book with great pictures to complement the description of the techniques. It is written in such a way that it can appeal to a student of manual therapy but can also make a useful reference book for the practicing therapist because it is easy to navigate through. I believe it will de-mystify METs for many therapists and greatly assist students in making the most of an extremely effective treatment modality much earlier in their careers. Because the book is laid out so clearly and the techniques are presented so concisely I think it could be a great help in increasing a student's/therapist's confidence in utilising these techniques in the treatment of key dysfunctional areas of the body. In addition I think it is good value for money!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
This book is fantastic and working as a clinical pilates instructor i have found it invaluable. For anyone in the pilates field who cares about furthering their knowledge (particularly after doing his workshops) this book is a must as it is a clear, concise, uncluttered reference book. You will not regret buying it for a single second.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2011
This Practical handbook has been skillfully written by the author with the student and therapist's needs in mind. Initial Chapters cover musculo-skeletal anatomy, postural dysfunctions as well as core stability and myofascial sling systems so that MET are put into perspective for their uses.
However in my opinion the MET section is the highlight of the book, its fantastically clear photos and well structured presentation allow easy understanding for the student as well as easy referencing for the already experienced practitioner.
The author goes through assessment of the area/muscle, which includes functional assessment before clearly demonstrating the specific MET move and its variations if appropriate. Care has obviously been taken to demonstrate good delivery of the technique which takes into consideration the importance of practitioner s posture.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2011
I have been a practising therapist and lecturer for nearly 20 years and have found this book to be one of the best I have ever come across. It is well laid out, explained simply yet informatively and illustrated with some excellent photographs to enhance the text.

I have attended seminars numerous times when the author has been speaking. The book is a natural follow on and the knowledge and enthusiasm of the author shines through in the text, as much as it does in person.

This book fills a gap in the market and if you are a practising complementary or sports therapist, then you will find this an invaluable source of reference. A book that no self respecting therapist's bookshelf should be without.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
Lotus Publishing have done very well to add this book to their list of excellent tomes in the field of anatomy and bodywork. There have been other published works on the topic of Muscle Energy Techniques (MET), but this one is head and shoulders above the rest.

John Gibbons has managed to achieve that rare thing of making this book 'reader friendly', yet, not remotely in a 'dumbing down' fashion. Some other works that I have read on the topic have blinded me with science, making a very practical subject into pure academia.

Muscle Energy Technique is not, actually, anything to do with 'energy' ¡V unless you take holistic methodology to the extreme in that 'all is energy'. When I first encountered the concept, over 30 years ago, I had assumed that it was akin to Applied Kinesiology or a similar method of combining the energy body with the musculature of the body ¡V not a bit of it! The concept was discovered by Fred Mitchell Sr. DO in 1948 who described it as a form of osteopathic manipulative diagnosis and treatment in which the patient's muscles are actively used on request, from a precisely controlled position, in a specific direction and against a distinctly executed physician counterforce. That convoluted sounding definition disguises a practice that is a simple yet very effective procedure that has helped countless body workers to achieve better and more long lasting results with patients who have muscular imbalances.

John's book is direct, methodical, well laid out and beautifully illustrated. He assumes that his reader is a beginner to the subject so topics such as anatomical terminology and planes of body motion are initially discussed. The next chapter discusses the muscles and their function in which he describes the different types of muscles, composition of muscles fibres, physiology of muscular contraction, muscle reflexes and musculoskeletal mechanics. This is all extremely well done in a way that many physical therapy practitioners would do well to read and internally digest. It never ceases to amaze me how many physiotherapists and osteopaths have not kept abreast of the new and exciting physiology that has been presented over the past decade.

Chapter Four discusses the theory of Muscle Energy Techniques. It outlines the different benefits that range from restoring normal tone to hyper tonic muscles to boosting local circulation. The physiological effects of MET is dealt with very well. I was particularly impressed with the explanations of muscles that become 'tight', 'short' or 'taut'. The relationships of the Core muscles is well documented here and will be welcome by many physiotherapists and others who practice Pilates. Sacroiliac and pelvic stability is explained in a somewhat shortened down to earth way, whereas this topic is surely worth more text -however, this is carping. Poor posture and 'Pain Spasm Cycle' is dealt with very well

There follows three 'practical' chapters describing how to assess and MET treat each muscle complex. These are on the upper body, lower body and trunk/pelvis with the hip. Some of the assessments offer alternatives to the main one. Each muscle assessment and treatment is accompanied with details of the muscle (origin, insertion, action and nerve supply) shown with super diagrams. The assessments and treatments themselves are beautifully described and accompanied with photographs of the author with his model. The final chapter deals with specific testing for muscle weakness. The author deals with four muscles in detail - the gluteus maximus, gluteus medius, serratus anterior and the lower fibres of the trapezius. Each one is dealt with in a very matter of fact and down to earth way which is quite refreshing these days. I learnt quite a lot on the interactions of the gluteus maximus and the 'firing' pattern of hip joint extension.

Several pages in this practical book may be photocopied by the reader to help with their own assessment and treatment schedules. All in all, this is an excellent practical book with superb illustrations and photographs that has been painstakingly researched and written in an attempt to help the physical therapist create a new and different dimension in the treatment of his/her patient. I would thoroughly recommend it to you.

This review first appeared in Positive Health PH Online
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
I was recomended this book by my chiropractic as she said the Techniques would be helpful in building up strength and I might find it benificial to me as I have Multiple Sclerosis
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2012
Basically I like this text book because I didn't fall asleep within the first page. Muscle Energy Techniques is a great book, from the opening pages you understand that the author does not assume that all of its readers are PhDs in musculo/skeletal medicine. You can see this in his efforts to start at the basics with a general lesson in anatomical terminology. This is followed by an excelent chapter on MET theory with even more excellent diagrams which at a glance are understandable. Great chapters on muscle imbalance and Core muscle relationships, concepts which we think we understand, but do we really? Well we do now.However the bulk of the book is taken up by Musle energy techniques. Each major muscle is in there with its usual Origin, Insertion, Action , and Nerve, followed by how to test and what action to be taken.
This book is a must read for all physical therapists/students and related professionals.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)