Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book
I have been taught on some CPD courses by John, and his book compliments his teaching style. I am a Sports Therapist and a lecturer in Sports Therapy and find this book very useful for both clinical and teaching elements.

The images are very good, clear and effective. The terminology is also very good - easy to read and understand.

I would recommend...
Published on 29 Jan 2012 by Katy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but lacks depth
The book is in many ways very good, clealy written and well illustrated with good information.
However I found it a lacked depth, probably a great book for massage therapists, personal trainers, sports therapists, chek practitioners ect. But I think if you're an osteopath chiropractor or physiotherapist the information is just way too basic. I didn't get anything new...
Published 6 months ago by G. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 29 Jan 2012
This review is from: Muscle Energy Techniques: A Practical Handbook for Physical Therapists (Paperback)
I have been taught on some CPD courses by John, and his book compliments his teaching style. I am a Sports Therapist and a lecturer in Sports Therapy and find this book very useful for both clinical and teaching elements.

The images are very good, clear and effective. The terminology is also very good - easy to read and understand.

I would recommend this book for any student studying sports therapy, physiotherapy, or similar, and would recommend this book for any qualified therapists working in the industry as an excellent support book for work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best MET book around, 20 Jan 2012
This review is from: Muscle Energy Techniques: A Practical Handbook for Physical Therapists (Paperback)
Having attended previous courses with John Gibbons, I am a fan of his teaching style, and the presentation of this book is no different, and it certainly does not disappoint.

As a lecturer in sports therapy, I have found the book an invaluable tool to accompany my own teaching, with the excellent images and clear and concise diagrams.

The main selling point of this book is the quality you get for the price, highly recommended and a must buy for all sports therapists, physio's, chiropractors, osteopaths and remedial massage therapists, whether qualified or currently studying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By Julian Berriman, 19 Mar 2012
This review is from: Muscle Energy Techniques: A Practical Handbook for Physical Therapists (Paperback)
Having worked as a sports masseur and osteopath for the last 15 years it is refreshing to come across a text which provides such a clear and logical presentation of the theory and application of METs. The author has presented quite a technical subject with the clarity that only comes from truly understanding the subject area. Clearly, this level of understanding can only be gained through years of thoughtful practice. The author also exhibits an excellent appreciation of how we learn. This is reflected in the balanced use of text and imagery which together provides the user with an invaluable aid to effective practive. A must have for the established and aspiring soft tissue specialist alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise and good value for money, 22 Jan 2012
This review is from: Muscle Energy Techniques: A Practical Handbook for Physical Therapists (Paperback)
This is a clearly written book with great pictures to complement the description of the techniques. It is written in such a way that it can appeal to a student of manual therapy but can also make a useful reference book for the practicing therapist because it is easy to navigate through. I believe it will de-mystify METs for many therapists and greatly assist students in making the most of an extremely effective treatment modality much earlier in their careers. Because the book is laid out so clearly and the techniques are presented so concisely I think it could be a great help in increasing a student's/therapist's confidence in utilising these techniques in the treatment of key dysfunctional areas of the body. In addition I think it is good value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful for helping build up strength, 24 Mar 2013
By 
A. M. Boyt "Mandy" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was recomended this book by my chiropractic as she said the Techniques would be helpful in building up strength and I might find it benificial to me as I have Multiple Sclerosis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 9 Jan 2012
This review is from: Muscle Energy Techniques: A Practical Handbook for Physical Therapists (Paperback)
This book is fantastic and working as a clinical pilates instructor i have found it invaluable. For anyone in the pilates field who cares about furthering their knowledge (particularly after doing his workshops) this book is a must as it is a clear, concise, uncluttered reference book. You will not regret buying it for a single second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muscle Energy Techniques by John Gibbons, 1 Jan 2012
This review is from: Muscle Energy Techniques: A Practical Handbook for Physical Therapists (Paperback)
The Authors knowledge and experience shines through the subject of Muscle Energy Techniques in this book - it's a none waffle text which works exceedily well and is suitable for the beginner to the more advanced therapist already using MET's and wish to add additional tools to their repertoire.

Early in the book there is a superb section of core stability/muscle firing patterns - since using this information it has made a big different to my treatments.

The books covers all the major muscle groups and offers an assessment and treatment for each. The page layout is clear and uncluttered with really good photos (not B&W) like some.

Great value for money. Definately but it ... it wont just sit on your bookself collecting dust.

Sports Massage & Remedial Therapist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars muscle energy techniques, john gibbons, 25 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Muscle Energy Techniques: A Practical Handbook for Physical Therapists (Paperback)
Very good book, with clearly defined instructional guidance, my congratulations to John Gibbons for a very clear and concise book

Tim Maber
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended Book, 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: Muscle Energy Techniques: A Practical Handbook for Physical Therapists (Paperback)
I have been a practising therapist and lecturer for nearly 20 years and have found this book to be one of the best I have ever come across. It is well laid out, explained simply yet informatively and illustrated with some excellent photographs to enhance the text.

I have attended seminars numerous times when the author has been speaking. The book is a natural follow on and the knowledge and enthusiasm of the author shines through in the text, as much as it does in person.

This book fills a gap in the market and if you are a practising complementary or sports therapist, then you will find this an invaluable source of reference. A book that no self respecting therapist's bookshelf should be without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 14 Dec 2011
This review is from: Muscle Energy Techniques: A Practical Handbook for Physical Therapists (Paperback)
This Practical handbook has been skillfully written by the author with the student and therapist's needs in mind. Initial Chapters cover musculo-skeletal anatomy, postural dysfunctions as well as core stability and myofascial sling systems so that MET are put into perspective for their uses.
However in my opinion the MET section is the highlight of the book, its fantastically clear photos and well structured presentation allow easy understanding for the student as well as easy referencing for the already experienced practitioner.
The author goes through assessment of the area/muscle, which includes functional assessment before clearly demonstrating the specific MET move and its variations if appropriate. Care has obviously been taken to demonstrate good delivery of the technique which takes into consideration the importance of practitioner s posture.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Muscle Energy Techniques: A Practical Handbook for Physical Therapists
13.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews