Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than booze. . ., 21 Aug 2012
By 
I. Ponting - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Autocourse Grand Prix Who's Who (Hardcover)
Steve Small's a good egg. For the price of a gallon and a half of posh lager - I'm approximating here, but you get the drift - he has produced what is, without question, the most comprehensive tome ever compiled on grand prix drivers. Indeed, if I was exiled to a desert island, and told I could take along only one book on the subject of motor racing, this would have to be that volume.
The GP Who's Who does precisely what it says on the tin, featuring every man (and a gal or two) to have started a race since the championship began in 1950, all the way through to the last straggler spluttering back to the pits at the end of season 2011. But beyond that, way beyond the scope of anything that's ever been published before, there is layer upon layer of compelling detail which makes the book indispensable.
Each driver, from the greats like Fangio, Clark and Senna to fellers I'd never heard of, such as the splendidly named Alfonso de Portago, Fred Wacker Jnr and Ottorino Volonterio, gets a pithy, painstaking profile, a picture (in almost every case) and a statistical breakdown relating his fortune in every grand prix in which he left the grid.
While clearly a labour of love, the GPWW is also highly professional, with brilliant production values throughout its 800-plus crammed pages. Thus it's equally ideal for a satisfyingly heavy-duty read or for eternal dipping-in sessions, which are pretty well guaranteed to throw up delightful nuggets of obscure informatio - for instance, that the aforementioned Wacker was a jazz-playing socialite when he wasn't behind the wheel of his nifty Gordini back in the mid-1950s.
You know you can do without the beer (for a while) but, trust me, if you love the grand prix game, you can't afford to be without this book. Cheers, Steve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 24 Sep 2012
By 
P. N. I. Jeffrey "Paul Jeffrey" (Solihull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Autocourse Grand Prix Who's Who (Hardcover)
It is pricey and bulky but inside the slipcase lies more detail on all GP drivers since 1950, than could be found elsewhere. Extensively updated and with several new drivers added it is a big improvement on previous editions. Some of the pictures are superb, shown off by the high quality paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We need more stars for this one!, 14 Aug 2012
This review is from: Autocourse Grand Prix Who's Who (Hardcover)
Having owned the 2nd and 3rd editions of Grand Prix Who's Who it was difficult to imagine how they could be improved, I needn't have worried, Steve Small has improved the book in every way, added more content and detail plus the new drivers to have competed since 1999. This is a must have for any F1 enthusiast, the level of detail is superb, especially his slant on each driver and what each is doing today, the addition of colour photos and several never seen before shots is awesome. I now can't wait for the 5th edition, hope it's not another 12 years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book of epic proportions!, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autocourse Grand Prix Who's Who (Hardcover)
If you're a fan of Formula One but don't know a lot about the history, this book is a must. I've got the first edition of Who's Who so this one is well worth buying to fill the gaps I have and a lot of the bios have been re-written as well.

It is a big book (half a stone) but easily worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autocourse Grand Prix Who's Who (Hardcover)
Huge colour images
Detailed biographies of most successful or memorable drivers
Results for all F1 races competed in by every driver since the start of F1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful., 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autocourse Grand Prix Who's Who (Hardcover)
An amazing book the research that must have gone into this book is unbelievable.The best F.1 book i have in my bookcase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book, detailed, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autocourse Grand Prix Who's Who (Hardcover)
A fantastic book, detailed, colourful and informative. Masses of information, statistics that are accurate. Lovely pictures in it, and the book is solid and good durability. Can read for ages and the text allows you plenty of opportunity to imagine and think. Glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheaper on Amazon.com, 23 Jan 2013
This review is from: Autocourse Grand Prix Who's Who (Hardcover)
A fantastic reference book on every driver to ever race in F1 and highly recommended but it is cheaper on Amazon.com @ US$59.
You can cancel your gym membership and train with this book instead. It weighs a ton and you'll have arms like Arnie by the time you finish reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Autocourse Grand Prix Who's Who
Autocourse Grand Prix Who's Who by Jackie Stewart (Hardcover - 24 July 2012)
£56.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews