Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exciting!
My eldest daughter loves Harry Potter but this is too advanced and scary for my youngest daughter (4) We struggle to find bedtime stories I can read to them and keep them both gripped. This is it! Igraine is a witty, clever and courageous heroine, every character fascinates and the plot twists, turns, excites and left us never wanting to go to bed. If your children...
Published on 11 Sept. 2009 by L. Crawford

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a book for young children
I agree with the previous reviewer, it's not a bad book but without much depth. It's very safe and childish with elements of whimsical, but not very original on the whole. Yes there are castles, chivalry, dragons, magic but it's so predictable it's boring. Characters are simplistic, no one allowed to be in danger for long, every turn of the books ends happily, for goodies...
Published on 21 Jan. 2010 by Victoria PK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exciting!, 11 Sept. 2009
By 
L. Crawford (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My eldest daughter loves Harry Potter but this is too advanced and scary for my youngest daughter (4) We struggle to find bedtime stories I can read to them and keep them both gripped. This is it! Igraine is a witty, clever and courageous heroine, every character fascinates and the plot twists, turns, excites and left us never wanting to go to bed. If your children love castles, chivalry, dragons, magic and grumpy cats - this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect adventure for 6-8 year olds - to read or be read to, 24 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Igraine the Brave (Paperback)
My 8-year-old daughter read and loved this and recommended I read this to her 6-year-old brother. He too loved it, though I'd worried the female heroine might put him off. It's charmingly written - and illustrated - and a galloping adventure with good, strong characters and plenty of humour too. Funke is an incredibly talented children's writer for this age and slightly older.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Igraine the brave, 2 Jun. 2012
By 
Clare O'Beara - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Igraine the Brave (Paperback)
A younger child's heroic fantasy. Plenty of good and bad characters, and the wizardly parents are transformed into appealing pigs early on so Igraine, who only wants to wear armour and fight battles, has to take on tasks beyond her years. A good story for independent-minded girls and all the descriptions of a magic castle repelling beseigers, not to mention a giant, a dragon and a solitary woeful knight once defeated by cheating and dragged back to the world of his conqueror to try again, will keep boys entertained too. There is danger but not very sustained and nothing to conjure nightmares. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What's wrong with happy endings?, 24 Sept. 2010
I disagree with the previous review in the fact that it is "mostly for girls and younger children." Yes it is a 'safe' book, but it is not at all predictable; unless you have before read about a magic spell that went wrong turning the heroins parents into pigs, which can only be reversed using giants hairs?????? My whole family enjoyed this book which is quite an achievement, i would definately recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 16 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Igraine the Brave (Paperback)
I love Ms. Funke's work. This one is for younger readers, but great for everyone who loves a magical adventure story. Great characters, magic, duels, simple but interesting plot, and a feisty young heroine. Who could ask for anything more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A female knight, 25 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Igraine the Brave (Paperback)
This book was fab when I read it I couldn't put it down I would say it is for any age. I am reading ink heart and I think this author is the BEST!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a book for young children, 21 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Igraine the Brave (Paperback)
I agree with the previous reviewer, it's not a bad book but without much depth. It's very safe and childish with elements of whimsical, but not very original on the whole. Yes there are castles, chivalry, dragons, magic but it's so predictable it's boring. Characters are simplistic, no one allowed to be in danger for long, every turn of the books ends happily, for goodies every plan goes on smoothly, badies are punished and so on. I think it's suitable for under 8-10s only, and mostly girls, adventurous boys or children above 8 might find it too safe and predictable. Recommended for children who like adventures but don't like to be scared or provoked to think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A present so I can't comment...., 18 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Igraine the Brave (Paperback)
It's a good sized book for an eight year old- and I presume my little girl will be hooked immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Igraine the Brave
Igraine the Brave by Cornelia Funke (Paperback - 7 April 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews