Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TVCentury21 is almost reborn.
As someone who was lucky to get the original comic from 1965-1970, finding these stories getting re released was to me like finding buried treasure. I was quite surprised that I could still remember some of the stories, such an impact these images had made on me.
And just like the originals these are printed in vibrant colours on glossy paper.
Here's a list of...
Published on 23 Dec. 2009 by Armchair Pundit

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, though nicely reproduced.
I must admit I was looking forward to seeing the early reprints of TV21's Gerry Anderson comic strips.
Unfortunately the reprints are not early enough for me.
In Vol 1 you might expect to find the first episodes from the very first TV21s, it ain't so.
So if your looking to re-read the old stuff you will be disappointed.
However what is here is nicely...
Published on 13 May 2009 by spectrus


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TVCentury21 is almost reborn., 23 Dec. 2009
By 
Armchair Pundit "Armchair Pundit." (Durham City, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Century 21: Classic Comic Strips from the Worlds of Gerry Anderson Volume 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
As someone who was lucky to get the original comic from 1965-1970, finding these stories getting re released was to me like finding buried treasure. I was quite surprised that I could still remember some of the stories, such an impact these images had made on me.
And just like the originals these are printed in vibrant colours on glossy paper.
Here's a list of contents.
~~~~
Firball XL5 - The Astran Assassination - Artist's - Mike Noble, Eric Eden and Ron Embleton.
Possibly XL5's best ever comic story, Steve Zodiac encounters the Astrans and becomes embroiled in political intrigue on their home planet. The Astrans are probably the comic worlds most unusual aliens, ever, multi coloured jelly beans sitting on a plate would be an accurate description. This epic story also spans across the worlds of Lady Penelope (Thunderbirds) and Stingray.
Thunderbirds - Chain Reaction - artist - Frank Bellamy.
An out of control space cargo freighter causes devastation in the pacific.
Stingray - The Haunting of Station 17 - artist - Ron Embleton.
A creepy story involving Troy, Phones and commander Shore.
Captain Scarlet - The Football King -artist - Mike Noble.
A football loving King is threatend by the mysterons. Most of this story is black and white.
Lady Penelope - The Luveniam Affair - artist - Frank Langford.
Lady Penelope faces danger from enemy agents inside their mountain base.
Thunderbirds - The Devils Crag - artist - Frank Bellamy.
The Tracy brothers must save the life of a reckless young mountaineer who feels he has something to prove.
Zero X - Planet Of Bones - artist - Mike Noble.
The Zero X crew encounter a surreal situation on an alien planet.
Stingray - Superjunk - artist - Gerry Embleton.
The Stingray crew investigate a Chinese Junk that is more then it appears.
Thunderbirds - Starburst - artist - Brian Lewis.
The Thunderbirds must rescue an astronaut left behind on a alien planet. (Black and White.)
Captain Scarlet - Leviathan - artist - Mike Noble, Don Harley and Frank Bellamy.
Scarlet must thwart the mysterons latest plan which involves a WW2 U-Boat.(Mostly black and white.)
~~~~
For people who think comic art begins and ends with Marvel and DC you are in for a pleasant surprise, Frank Bellamy's and Mike Noble's artwork is SUPERB.
If you like these as much as I did why not get volumes 2, 3 and 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars back to the future, 23 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Century 21: Classic Comic Strips from the Worlds of Gerry Anderson Volume 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
Fabulous labour of love compilation of old TV Century 21 strips from a variety of titles. The stories selected here are connected across the Anderson universe which was one of the great strengths of the comics, and the gorgeous artwork is beautifully remastered and in some cases looks better than it did originally.

Lots of stuff from the greatest unsung British comics artist, Mike Noble; very entertaining to watch even this mighty talent fail absolutely to pull off a terrifying version of a giant . . . mouse.

Artists: Mike Noble, Frank Bellamy, Eric Eden, Ron & Gerry Embleton, Don Harley, Frank Langford, Brian Lewis.

Very, very good value and hugely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stand by for action, 14 Jun. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Century 21: Classic Comic Strips from the Worlds of Gerry Anderson Volume 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
If you were born in the late 50s then you were probably of the generation who read TV Century 21 aka TV21 tabloid comic in the mid-60s to get your fix of Fireball XL5, Stingray, Thunderbirds and Captain Scarlet.
This is the first of two volumes reprinting some of the material from the original material the artists handed in for printing rather than sourcing the comicbook itself. Getting hold of early TV21s is hard enough in good condition. This way is easier.
This is some of the best work of the likes of Mike Noble, Frank Bellamy and the Embleton brothers, Ron and Gerry. Amongst the stories in this book is a multi-cross-over Astran assassination story and Stingray and the haunted castle. Jaw-dropping brilliance.
This book is already selling out so chase down your copy or hope there's a second edition.
SFCrowsnest Guru
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but what about the spreads?, 13 May 2010
By 
T. J. M. Klerk (Amsterdam, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Century 21: Classic Comic Strips from the Worlds of Gerry Anderson Volume 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
I won't repeat the positive remarks on this book and the series that followed. Wonderfully printed and worth having.
One big problem remains: several comics spread over two pages. In TV21 this was not so much a problem with the 16 or 24 tabloid pages. But in a bound book the pictures and text that run near the spine become hard to read and the panels cannot be properly appreciated because you cannot view them flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The way the future was, 9 Aug. 2011
By 
Squirr-El (The Metropolis, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Century 21: Classic Comic Strips from the Worlds of Gerry Anderson Volume 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
I grew up in the 1960s reading DC and Marvel comics, but I remember there were some British comics back then that stood out in quality and scope. I was too young for `Eagle', which started several years before I was born, bur I remember the start of The Trigan Empire in ‘Ranger’ and then continued in 'Look and Learn', which I would read in the public library every Saturday, and the comic book event of my childhood, which was the debut of Gerry Anderson's `TV21' comic. I couldn't name the artists then, but I could recognise Frank Bellamy's work, which stood out above anyone else's, even 1960s' Marvel. Allegedly, Stan Lee offered to let him draw anything he wanted if he'd work for Marvel.

In recent years there have been quality reprints of The Trigan Empire from a Dutch publisher, and Titan Books have been reprinting the Dan Dare strips from `Eagle', which has led to an appreciation of Frank Hampson's work (and the reprints have now reached the Frank Bellamy period!). Now, in these Century 21 volumes (volume 5 is scheduled as I type), we have the start of the ongoing reprinting of the classic TV21 stories from the mid-late 1960s, and the high-point of the British comic book (2000AD was a different format and in a different style). TV21 featured stories drawn from the various Gerry Anderson TV series, with a few back-ups created for the comic, but set in the Anderson ‘universe’.

The TV21 format was the same "widescreen" that `Eagle' and its rivals were published in, and the publishers of Century 21 have found the archive of the original artwork, which they are using for these volumes. There are some gaps, and these have been filled by digitally remastered scans from the published comic book pages, but the vast majority of the pages presented here are taken from the originals. Some of the stories were presented as two-page spreads in the centre of the comic; as this is a bound book, the pages have been reprinted with a bit of overlap, so you don’t lose any artwork in the binding – something American publishers should take note of.

This volume, containing 149 pages of comics, presents The epic Fireball XL5 ‘Astran Assassination’ story by Mike Noble; three Thunderbirds stories – two by Frank Bellamy and one by his successor Brian Lewis; two Stingray stories, one each by Ron and Gerry Embleton; two Captain Scarlet stories, one by Mike Noble and one by Frank Bellamy (colour page), Mike Noble & Don Harley (b&w pages); Lady Penelope by Frank Langford; and Zero X by Mike Noble. These stories are drawn from 1965-1969. The Fireball story also contains the Stingray and Lady Penelope pages that featured cross-over continuity in this story.

This is indeed one of the treasures of the British comics industry, and will probably come as quite a shock to American comic book enthusiasts in terms of quality and scope. And considering it sold almost a million copies a week in the mid to late 1960s (and more if you include its spin-off titles), it also outsold even the top-selling American comics by a margin of two or three to one.

Further Treasures of the British Empire:
Frank Bellamy's Heros the Spartan
Classic Dan Dare: Trip to Trouble (Dan Dare (Graphic Novel)) (Dan Dare: Pilot of the Future)
Latest volume to date, featuring Frank Hampson's artwork
Classic Dan Dare: Voyage to Venus Part 1
First volume of the series, featuring Frank Hampson's artwork
Trigan Empire: The Invaders from Gallas v. 1
First volume of the complete Don Lawrence series (he was followed by Oliver Frey)
Century 21: Classic Comic Strips from the Worlds of Gerry Anderson Volume 2: v. 2
Century 21: Classic Comic Strips from the Worlds of Gerry Anderson Vol 4: Above and Beyond
Century 21: Classic Comic Strips from the Worlds of Gerry Anderson Volume 3
Further volumes of this series
Ron Embleton's Wulf the Briton: The Complete Adventures
Another full-colour classic from the 1950s
Karl The Viking The Complete Don Lawrence (deluxe 4 volume set)
Black & white artwork.
King of Crooks (featuring The Spider)
Jerry Siegel creates a British comic classic.
The Steel Claw: Vanishing Man
Another classic British comic series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Century 21: Classic Comic Strips from the Worlds of Gerry Anderson Volume 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
I was fortunate to be sent a hardback copy of this book by Gerry Anderson who told me that he took great pride in the way that the book had turned out. It's quite obvious why he should have been so pleased with the results. The book has been produced to a very high standard and, while it offers only a sample of reprinted stories, it marks the start of an excellent series. Collect the set and enjoy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 60's comics come back to life, 12 July 2009
By 
Glenn M. Renshaw (Newbury, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Century 21: Classic Comic Strips from the Worlds of Gerry Anderson Volume 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
Century21; classic comic strips from the world of Gerry Anderson
Volume 1; Adventures in the 21st Century
Volume 2; Invasion in the 21st Century

As a kid growing up in the 60's we had an abundance of new and exciting things that came into our lives; music, art, TV, the white heat of technology (as Harold Wilson so succinctly put it) and so on. In the midst of the many gems were comics; such as Beano, Dandy, Marvel comics, Hotspur and so much more. Amongst that wonderful array of mind blowing titillation was a comic that hit the newsstand in January 23rd 1965 (printed as 2065 to give it a futuristic appeal) that was titled TV21. This comic featured Fireball XL5, Captain Scarlett, Zero X, Thunderbirds and many more stories in wonderful art work design. The brains behind this wonderful and exciting creation was the one and only Gerry Anderson; creator, writer and producer of his colour supermarionette puppet TV shows that mesmerised us kids up and down the country after we had finished school in those glorious and psychedelic days.

Flipping through these marvellous collections (in two volumes) of nostalgic flashbacks brought back so many wonderful and joyous memories; stories that still come vividly alive as they once did all those years ago. These volumes are a must for anybody who grew up in those magical mystery tour days.

Century 21 Volume 1 is followed by Volume 2 with more wonderful and exciting stories. In both books it give you a brief synopsis of the comic and its success and how it evolved over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you're my age..., 20 Mar. 2011
By 
S. D. Spicer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Century 21: Classic Comic Strips from the Worlds of Gerry Anderson Volume 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
...you'll 'get' this book. For those of us that grew up with TV21, the new century was a world of opportunity and we couldn't wait. Now, that optimism has turned to disillusion, but this book of reprints still ignites the flame. Crucially, rather than just samples, the complete stories are there to remind you of what should have happened. For three hours I was a happy 10 year old again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars i don`t remember any of these comic strips, 22 May 2012
By 
P. barton (LONDON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Century 21: Classic Comic Strips from the Worlds of Gerry Anderson Volume 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
i don`t know where i was when these first came out but i don`t remember any of them, well printed and very colurful they are typical of their age , artwork is great and well drawn, i still can`t recall any of these not one little bit ?????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 3 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Century 21: Classic Comic Strips from the Worlds of Gerry Anderson Volume 1: v. 1 (Paperback)
This is a very excellent collection of Gerry Anderson comics. I would recommend it for any fan of Gerry Andersons work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Century 21: Classic Comic Strips from the Worlds of Gerry Anderson Volume 1: v. 1
Used & New from: £13.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews