Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The (Very!) Complete Inspector Morse
In 'The Complete Inspector Morse' David Bishop has produced an absolute Morse tour de force. No matter (Morse-related) remains unvisited - Bishop has even reviewed his fellow Morse-related authors... To say that this book is an absolute necessity for each and every one of the millions of Morse fans worldwide is an understatement.
All of Colin Dexter's brilliant...
Published on 18 Jun 2002 by Flying High

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars This is described as a new revised edition, I ...
This is described as a new revised edition, I was somewhat surprised to find out how out of date it is. Other than that it does have a lot of interesting background information.
Published 27 days ago by R PAYNE


Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The (Very!) Complete Inspector Morse, 18 Jun 2002
In 'The Complete Inspector Morse' David Bishop has produced an absolute Morse tour de force. No matter (Morse-related) remains unvisited - Bishop has even reviewed his fellow Morse-related authors... To say that this book is an absolute necessity for each and every one of the millions of Morse fans worldwide is an understatement.
All of Colin Dexter's brilliant original novels are reviewed and annotated in an extremely intriguing way - for instance, both Morse's love of the demon drink (and Lewis's resistance!) are chronicled together with his love of pornography (not translated to the small screen...) His love life (or lack of same) are there too, together with fully detailed overviews of the stories and cross references to (amongst other things)crosswords and Morse's eclectic musical selections.
The fascinating sideways look continues with a review of each and every television story - some of the previous detail being added to. In particular, I found the annotation of the appearances of Dexter in his progeny's screen life amusing along with the cat and mouse game played throughout both books and tv in respect of Morse's first name. In fact, it could be said that the book is a notable 'endeavour' in this respect!
The tome concludes with a list of references to other material related to Morse - including Internet sites, but, for the most poignant section of the book, you will need to return to the Foreword - a short appreciation of John Thaw, who will remain immortalised as Morse and, of course, much missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for all fans., 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am re-watching the dvds and this guide is a real boon. All the important information about the cast/episodes. Morse in book form and loads of extra stuff you might miss. The music used in each episode - what Morse drinks...

Enhances you enjoyment of the brilliant series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This is described as a new revised edition, I ..., 27 Oct 2014
By 
R PAYNE (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is described as a new revised edition, I was somewhat surprised to find out how out of date it is. Other than that it does have a lot of interesting background information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A slightly unrevised edition, 13 Oct 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading the 2002 edition three years ago, I emailed the publishers to notify them of some errors and misprints and also ask them for the author's email address, but they never replied. Having received my copy of the revised edition this morning, I was disappointed that only some mistakes have been corrected. Below is a list of the errors that still exist in the new edition.

1. p. 16 The sentence 'Crowther insists Morse is summoned' sounds awkward ('Crowther insists that Morse be summoned' would make more sense); 'He goes to the hospital and asks Sue asks for a photograph of herself': 'asks' is repeated after 'Sue'.

2. p. 26 The Shakespeare quotation is not from 'Henry IV, Part 2' but 'Henry VI, Part 2': Bishop has copied this mistake from Dexter himself. It isn't a misprint by the novels' publishers (Macmillan/Pan), existing in the Omnibus and individual editions of 'Last Seen Wearing' that I've seen. As I guess that his publishers won't help me contact Dexter directly or indirectly (I've given up on publishers), I hope someone close to the novelist here alerts him to this error.

3. p. 42 The murderer is 'Charles', not 'Conrad', Richards.

4. p. 51 Sarah's surname - as spelt in the novel - is 'Jonstone', not 'Johnston'.

5. p. 110 Morse hears Mozart's Piano Concerto 14, not a Handel concerto, a mistake also occurring in the DVD subtitles. The Handel is actually heard in a later scene (when Morse drives into Oxford), at which point Bishop and the DVD subtitles incorrectly ascribe the music to Haydn: curiously, Bishop identified the music correctly - Handel - in his 2002 edition. What sounds like a Haydn quartet is heard earlier at Morse's office while speaking on the phone. The Mozart aria isn't from 'Don Giovanni' but 'The Marriage of Figaro' ('Porgi amor'): the DVD subtitles identify this correctly. 'Chopin's "Don Giovanni"' should read 'Mozart's...'. (There's a piece not mentioned by Bishop and which I don't recognize, heard when Lewis calls on Morse in his office and switches off the radio.)

6. p. 116 The snippet heard isn't Mozart's E flat 'Sinfonia Concertante', though at first it does sound like the second movement: it could be a Handel, and if it is, Bishop identified it correctly in the 2002 edition, here most probably adopting the mistake from the DVD subtitles.

7. p. 119 'awash was' should read '...with'.

8. p. 120 The aria heard is not from Verdi's 'Falstaff' but Puccini's 'Manon Lescaut' (Manon's 'Sola, perduta, abbandonata'), though we see the record cover of Verdi's opera (this error also appears in the subtitles of the DVD, from which - like the Handel, Haydn, and Mozart above - Bishop may have copied it).

9. p. 135 'The inspector...switches it off at Jane's request': it's she who turns off the music, not Morse; the work heard in the scene with Mrs Warbut at the end isn't Bach's 'St John Passion' but Alain's 'De Jules Lemaitre' (identified on Helen Roulston's site).

10. p. 153 Bishop misses the 3rd Schumann String Quartet heard when Lewis visits Morse: this piece is identified on Roulston's site.

11. p. 163 'Justorum Anime' should be '...animae', and the anthem isn't 'Tudor' but by Orlande de Lassus.

12. p. 208 Lady Emily plays Mozart's Piano Sonata in D KV 311 when told of Harry's death, not Beethoven's Piano Concerto 4, which is heard earlier (when she and Jessica first meet): this error also exists in the subtitles.

13. p. 211 'Nicole' is misspelt as 'Nicola'.

14. p. 213 'Signora Ascolta' should read 'Signore...'.

15. p. 222 'Che Faro Senza Eurydice' should be '...Euridice', and 'Orfeo et Eurydice' (a Franco-Italian title?) should read '...ed Euridice'; 'Misere' should be 'Miserere'.

16. p. 226 '(91st movement)' must be '(1st...)'.

17. p. 234 Though 'Traume' from the 'Wesendonck-Lieder' was recorded and is included in Volume 3 of the 'Morse' CD (Virgin), it doesn't appear anywhere in 'Twilight of the Gods' which I watched so many times in order to track down the moment when the song is supposed to be sung: Gwladys Probert sings only from Brunnhilde's Immolation Scene, not the song (why 'Traume' was recorded in the first place is a mystery: this song - rather than the GOTTERDAMMERUNG finale - should've been used to conclude the episode).

18. p. 254 'a Mozart' should read 'Mozart's'.

19. p. 259 'Knappertsbusch' is misspelt as 'Knappertbusch'.

PS I think reference should be made in the 'Identity Parade' section to Patricia Hodge's most famous TV role Phyllida Trant (Mrs Erskine-Brown) and Peter Blythe's equally famous portrayal of Samuel Ballard in the popular courtroom show 'Rumpole of the Bailey' (the former appears in 'Ghost in the Machine', the latter in 'The Death of the Self').

PPS The third edition, which features material on the sequel LEWIS, will be released during the first week of February 2008.

A. Bahbahani
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BOOK, 24 Feb 2013
By 
J. K. Marie "daisywooks" (Scottish Borders) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am using this book to help me plot my own novel - how to plot red herrings into the narrative. This book is an excellent resource. Highly recommended. Brilliantly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete "Inspector Morse"
The Complete "Inspector Morse" by David Bishop (Hardcover - 8 Oct 2009)
Used & New from: £4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews