Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hulk Smash!!
After the let down and stupidity of the "Civil War" event (you're not american unless you have A Myspace and watch Nascar), there was a lot of anticipation for WWH. Part of a trilogy of Hulk sagas, starting with Planet Hulk and ending with Skaar: Son Of The Hulk, WWH, doesn't fail to deliver what it promised, hulk smashing things.

Having returned from Sakaar,...
Published on 12 Jun 2008 by Mrs. L. M. N. Riach

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The post-Civil War civil war, Hulk style.
I'm just catching up on all things Hulk, having just got my hands on this story and the previous one, Planet Hulk. I think both are decent stories, and the concepts are great. With Civil War happening, the Marvel bosses had to get rid of Hulk otherwise the civil war would be over very shortly. So they got him out of the way and the result was Planet Hulk...
Published 14 months ago by Culleton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hulk Smash!!, 12 Jun 2008
By 
Mrs. L. M. N. Riach "Not Mrs L.M.N Riach" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WORLD WAR HULK (Paperback)
After the let down and stupidity of the "Civil War" event (you're not american unless you have A Myspace and watch Nascar), there was a lot of anticipation for WWH. Part of a trilogy of Hulk sagas, starting with Planet Hulk and ending with Skaar: Son Of The Hulk, WWH, doesn't fail to deliver what it promised, hulk smashing things.

Having returned from Sakaar, Hulk is seeking revenge for its destruction. The action never reall lets up from th start, with Hulk taking on the Avengers, Fantastic Four, Dr Strange and the Sentry.

Reading WWH Hulk is a bit like reading a Hulk Vs thread on the internet, and although a massive fan of the Hulk since Planet, the excuses used for him winning are sometimes a bit shoddy, something some on the internet refer to as "plot armor", he's so angry he can do anything because it moves the plot along.

John Romita Jr, one of the better artists of Marvel's stock, does well. Sometimes during the many fight scenes his art begins to suffer and not make a lot of sense, but it's good enough to convey the emotions of characters without making things so bad you don't want to read.

All in all, it's everything I ever wanted from a Hulk book. It has enough depth to make it more than just a bunch of maniacs kicking each other, but enough smashing to be fair to the violence expected from Hulk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hulk Smash Everyone, 30 Sep 2008
By 
Antonio Baptista M. Russo "Toryu" (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WORLD WAR HULK (Paperback)
Here is a book whose cover and title say it all.
With a good story and simple theme (revenge), the book excels for the sheer feeling of might you get when reading it.
The art by John Romita Jr. really expresses the rage the Hulk is in, giving him that "Hulk smash" look that everyone is truly afraid.
The writing by Greg Pak makes the dialogues that the Hulk has with everyone add an extra feel to it.
One of the Hulk's line describes his rage the best: Never stop making them pay.
It is, in my oppinion, a good reading that adds a great story to the Green Giant library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The post-Civil War civil war, Hulk style., 12 Aug 2013
By 
Culleton (Winchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WORLD WAR HULK (Paperback)
I'm just catching up on all things Hulk, having just got my hands on this story and the previous one, Planet Hulk. I think both are decent stories, and the concepts are great. With Civil War happening, the Marvel bosses had to get rid of Hulk otherwise the civil war would be over very shortly. So they got him out of the way and the result was Planet Hulk.

But now Hulk has returned, post Civil War, to carry out a little civil war of his own. Totally bitter and twisted and full of rage more than ever about the events that happened that caused PLanet Hulk in the first place, Hulk is out for revenge.

The men responsible? Mr Fantastic, Dr Strange, Black Bolt and Iron Man. Taking out Black Bolt with ease on the Moon, Hulk appears above New York with his posse of Warbound (see Planet Hulk for more about these), giving the citizens 24 hours to get out of the city before all hell breaks loose.

Then all hell breaks loose.

Stronger than ever, fuelled by his rage, Hulk has no problems smashing his way through our heroes. It's not just the four that he's after either - more heroes take the side of Iron Man et al, but they are all taken out easily and imprisoned, Hulk and his Warbound setting up a gladiatorial arena and pitting our heroes against each other in a mirror of what took place in the early stages of Planet Hulk.

With no Thor available, can anyone withstand the might of the Green Goliath? Enter the Sentry. Can his power of a million exploding suns save the day? Or will it come down to Rick Jones, who has no power at all, but knows Hulk more than anyone?

This is definitely readable. I particularly enjoyed the parts where ordinary citizens were involved. Not all content with evacuating New York, many stayed behind to see their supposed heroes getting their tails kicked. After the Stamford incident and the Superhero Civil War, some folk have just had enough of super types.

I would have given this an extra star, but the artwork is not brilliant. Romita Jr is ok, he's just not what I like at the moment, and there are far superior artists out there. Let's say 3.5 stars out of 5, which isn't bad at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Planet Hulk, 21 July 2010
By 
Mark J. L. Mariassy "BFG" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WORLD WAR HULK (Paperback)
This is not really a bad book, it just suffers due to the quality of the preceding book 'Planet Hulk'. Both the story and the art here are just not as good/effective as in 'Planet Hulk' and I was therefore quite dissapointed. While I am a fan of John Romita Jr's artwork, he is quite character specific. For instance I loved his run on Amazing Spiderman and also, although you would not think it, his work on the 'Armour Wars II' storeyline in Iron Man (showing my age here) but I have never felt that he quite got Hulk right. There seems to be a lack of detail which just does not make the artwork emotive enough. You're looking at pictures , but without being drawn in as much, they just don't seem to be as expressive or convey feeling.
I was new to Greg Pak before reading 'Planet Hulk' but throughly enjoyed it and so had high hopes for the second installment, but it just did not have the same 'oomph'. Ironically it seems like Greg Pak is very capable when dealing with a whole world and characters that are entirely of his own creation, but not so hot here when it is our world with known characters that someone else has created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hulk, Smash, 12 Aug 2013
This follow up to Planet Hulk is fantastic fun. Admittedly it lakes some of careful storytelling of other titles, but in many ways it is exactly what we want from Hulk, the big green guy smashing stuff up. The plot is simple, Hulk is out for revenge and he blames everyone. What follows is a series of fights that sees Hulk smash his way through the Marvel roster. This is all brought to life in beautiful detail and vivid colour, which more than makes up for the lack of plot. Big, dumb and full of mindless violence, just like the Hulk.
Smashing fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but a bit uneventful, 26 July 2010
By 
Mr. J. Forsyth (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WORLD WAR HULK (Paperback)
Bit of a let down after planet hulk. If Planet Hulk is a surprisingly inteligent showing numerous perspectives of the Hulk, this is somewhat onesided. He's big, green, hard as nails etc. It's only good for the other side of the story, the charecters who sent him, but because Hulks so tough there roles arent really very influential on the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars staright forward and enjoyable., 11 Oct 2008
This review is from: WORLD WAR HULK (Paperback)
The idea behind world war hulk is simple enough, and simple is good here it is all about the action. Sadly presented here is the world war hulk mini series which covers the overall story arc but large meaty portions of the story were done in spin offs, and while less important they certainly added to the world wide aspect of it, where as here it seems to be set in new york. The art by John Romita jr is as good as always, very clear and easy to follow. Well worth checking out for all marvelites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hulk Smash Marvel Universe, 27 Jun 2014
This review is from: WORLD WAR HULK (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading it,more action than Planet Hulk I couldn't put it down I read it all in 2 hours
its a shame it also has less pages than Planet Hulk all in all a good read for any Hulk fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OK not as good as planet hulk, 13 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WORLD WAR HULK (Paperback)
This is an ok read but no where near as good as planet hulk. If like me you read planet hulk and want to see what happens after then buy it and it will entertain you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service., 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WORLD WAR HULK (Paperback)
As described and looking forward to gifting it to the person who has requested it via a wish list. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WORLD WAR HULK
WORLD WAR HULK by John Romita Jr (Paperback - 3 Jan 2008)
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews