Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: Planet Hulk Omnibus (Paperback)
This is truly a brilliant graphic novel.
First off the setting. The Hulk went on a rampage in Las Vegas after being sent crazy by another gamma bomb and only the intervention of The Thing and The Human Torch of The Fantastic Four managed to stop him. Next Nick Fury of SHIELD sent the Hulk into space to destroy a space station called Godseye which could destroy any position on the Earth if it wished, what Nick Fury hadn't told The Hulk was that the space station was built by SHIELD. After The Hulk had defeated Godseye he was extracted from the Moon by SHIELD but he wasn't going in the direction of Earth...

This leads us to the beginning of Planet Hulk where a secret group, formed by; Black Bolt of the Inhumans, Mr Fantastic of the Fantastic Four, Tony Stark AKA Iron Man, Stephen Strange AKA Dr Strange, Professor Charles Xavier of the X-Men and Namor The Sub-Mariner, called The Illuminati. Only Black Bolt, Iron Man, Mr Fantastic and Dr Strange are behind the plot to send The Hulk away, though because of the events of House of M, Charles Xavier is unavailiable and The Sub-Mariner doesn't agree with the plot.
The four remaining Illuminati explain to The Hulk that he has constantly threatened the Earth with his power and they can't have that any more so they have sent him away to a "lush planet. Full of vegetation and game. But no intelligent life forms." so The Hulk can "finally find peace". But of course that plan doesn't work and the ship in knocked off course and sent through a wormhole to the planet Sakaar. What follows is the epic Planet Hulk storyline.

I have tried to avoid giving away any big plot developments within Planet Hulk and can understand why it is an epic story. Not only because of the length (14 comics in total) but because of the quality of the story as well. There are too many comics nowadays who claim to be great simply because of the length but this graphic novel can boast a brilliant story to go along with its length that doesn't make it seem as if the story is monotonous and never-ending.
The events within the graphci novel are so earth-shatteringly (or Sakaar-shatteringly) inportant to future storylines that it grows in quality as it goes on.
I do have one criticism though. I felt a bit cheated by the ending and that it could have gone on for a bit longer but in this graphic novel the inclusion of the, epic in it's own right, 49 page "Gladiator's Guidebook" makes up for the quickly brought on ending. With an incredibly comprehensive study of all the fictional characters in the graphic novel ,that you would only normally get from an encyclopedia printed on its own, is very well done and only adds to the atmosphere of the comics.

Because this comic spans over the Civil War storyline (and everything that follows from it), that occurs in The Hulks absence, World War Hulk sees The Hulk returning to a very different world. The time difference isn't brilliantly explained in Planet Hulk or World War Hulk but this lack of exposition makes it seem even more realistic.

I recommend listening to "Jeff Wayne's Warr of the Worlds" whilst reading this graphic novel. It really set an atmosphere for me that complemented the story.

Brilliant story and impressive length I'm sure that Planet Hulk will soon be included in the sentence "There's loads of great graphic novels; The Watchmen, The Dark Knight Returns and Maus."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enemy:Mad!, 10 July 2012
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Hulk Omnibus (Paperback)
Exiled from Earth by The Avengers, the Hulk finds himself drifting through space in a shuttle. Tricked & betrayed by his 'friends' Hulk is unsurprisingly, angry. When a navigation module error sees him thrown through a portal and crash-landing on the planet Sakaar. Weakened by the portal, the Hulk has an obedience disk installed and for the first time in his life, feels distinctly weak. But as his strength returns he finds himself thrust into the planet's gladiatoral system, finding friends along the way, when Hulk wins his freedom he inspires a revolution and soon the Sakaars legend of the Sakaarson/ Worldbreaker looks as though it is coming true. But which is the Hulk? Son of Sakaar or the Worldbreaker?

Brilliantly animated by Carlo Pagulayan and written by Greg Pak, this omnibus collects Incredible Hulk vol. 3 #92-105 & Giant-Size Hulk vol. 2 #1 - it also includes the Planet Hulk: Gladiator Guidebook by Anthony Flamini which further fleshs out the complex world of Sakaar, detailing the geography and culture of the different races. All in all, this is a well written Hulk romp that shows a different side to the Hulk; a creator & a uniter.

Recommended for Hulk fans - this purchase did not leave me angry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great in places, a good setup, 5 Nov. 2007
By 
Mr. Ga Case "Grizzly" (Berksire,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Planet Hulk Omnibus (Paperback)
i bought this comic in the knowledge of what is to come next, but first let me take you through the back story.

after the hulk goes on yet another rampage on earth Nick Fury decides he has had enough and then gets the hulk on a one way ride into space, the comic opens up with Reed Richards, Iron Man and other "friends" of the Hulk telling him that this is for his best intentions, of course, the Hulk is very angry.

so due to a navigational error the shuttle warps through a portal and crash lands on planet Sakaar. which is inhabited by various warped creatures which are designed beautifully. as the story goes on the Hulk realises that he must fight the corrupt leader to end the tyranny of the planet thus becoming the hero of the world.

this book has some great details in it and has what you would expect from a big green angry guy who smashes stuff for a living. so you can expect little in the way of dialogue (which is its downfall) the book is big on action and jumps between scenes rapidly, again, making it harder to know exactly whats going on at times.

overall its a good book and well worth a read if you want to see what happens next in the marvel universe, it will prove interesting to see after the great civil war series. :) happy reading
Gaz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hulking it out, 28 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Planet Hulk Omnibus (Paperback)
Before this I was never a very big fan of the Hulk. However this expansive volume really impressed me, the artwork is excellent and the story is good. Sending the Hulk away seems to have done him the world of good, on a world where the days of gladiatorial battles aren't over. He rises Russell Crowe style upwards to challenge the Emperor himself, even with that over with the battle isn't over. It never is with the Hulk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gladiator/Star Wars/Hulk, 24 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Hulk Omnibus (Paperback)
This is different to what I expected. Much deeper and more epic.

It starts very abruptly so you may want to get the prelude first. It's not essential but it helps with the build up. The start and middle of the story are excellent. There are quite a few distinguished and interesting characters, a good story and it all flows well (It helps that this section all appears to be by the same artist). The ending, however sort of fizzles out a bit, it should have been condensed down more to keep the pace up.

It is a big book however so it's still worth the money and it's a great epic while it lasts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 13 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Hulk Omnibus (Paperback)
This is the first comic i have bought for over 20 years and it reminded me how good they can be. there is no way i would by comics issue by issue but as an omnibus they are well worth it. This is an amazing collection, the story is fantastic and the Hulk is just about the coolest i have ever known. this is well worth it's money and i have just ordered the follow up omnibus WORLD WAR HULK and Marvel Civil War can't wait for them to arrive. 5 out of 5 for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Arc for the Incredible Hulk, 3 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. T. E. Rochester (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Hulk Omnibus (Paperback)
I haven't read much Hulk at all, but that didn't matter with this book.

Having read "The Road to Civil War", this book explains what happens next to the Hulk after he is blasted into space by his "friends".

As a Hulk novice, this book was perfect for me.
Little or no previous knowledge of Hulk or his universe is required - he lands on a new planet, and the reader is as much a stranger to this place and its people as he is.

The plot is fairly basic - evil dictator/emperor, Hulk smash/leads a rebellion, results, but the characterisation is great, as the variety of aliens on this planet add multiple layers of depth to this.
The ending leads up to the "World War Hulk" series.

The only downside I felt was the Gladiator Guidebook to Sakaar at the back of this volume. It gives a very in depth account of the history of the planet and its people, but having read the preceding issues, I felt it would've benefitted from being dispersed throughout rather than collected together at the back. Some of the issues/history in the book would've made more sense if I'd been able to read parts of this first. Nevertheless, it adds a great level of detail to a great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Hulk stories ever, 31 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Hulk Omnibus (Paperback)
This is one of the best Hulk stories ever done. Hulk is sent to another planet as exile and forced to fight for his freedom on a corrupt wasteland of a planet run by a tyrant. This story looks at everything that is the Hulk. His loneliness, his need to be wanted, his anger, what that anger truly is and at the end of the day where the Hulk fights in the annals of Marvel's greatest heroes.

I don't want to do spoilers because I don't want to ruin the story but this has Hulk fight as a gladiator, a freedom fighter and eventually a leader. There is always a constant threat which the hulk admits he likes and it really shows off a weakened Hulk needing friends and having to think pass just hitting things. It has some of the strongest characters Marvel has had for a while surrounding this and characters that honestly get the Hulk through and through. he finds friends that want him to be the Hulk not Banner.

This has a very sad ending and definitely buy it alongside World War Hulk because it follows directly alongside. This will make you rethink how you see all heroes in Marvel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hulk Smash, 22 July 2009
By 
M J. Tucker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Hulk Omnibus (Paperback)
Betrayed on earth Hulk is sent spinning into space wit hthe plan to crash land himn on an empty planet as Reed Richards has a hand in this it does not work, he crashes on a world at war.I know i wont be spoling the story to say that this is Hulks life from crash landing on an alien planet and his journey from slave/gladiator to rebel and king, along the way he destroys and smashes everything that tries to stop him.

This is the Hulk as the Hulk should be, he can talk and reason and has his own agenda not Banner's mind in Hulk's body but Hulk as Hulk. The ending is classic Hulk, and has left me wanting more.

The only thing about the otherwise faultless story is there is no indication of the passage of time aside from Hulk's hair growing back he could of been there days, or months or years, i still give this five stars as like a persian rug there must be one fault you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Hulk Omnibus (Paperback)
Arrived in a few days and one of my fav graphic novels! If you have not read this or not a massive hulk fan then you should buy this and change your mind :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Planet Hulk Omnibus
Planet Hulk Omnibus by Greg Pak (Paperback - 2 Aug. 2007)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews