Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars24
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 September 2008
This is a beautifully illustrated book with a simple tale of a mother and son going off to market to buy ingredients for pancakes as a special treat. The son invites all their friends as they meet them and it looks like there won't be enough to go around, until everyone arrives with something to add to the party. The central theme is Kenya's national motto - harambee, pulling together - and the rewards of sharing. There's a nicely laid out factual section at the end about everyday life in rural Kenya with a map and even a recipe for pancakes. My 7 year old enjoyed reading this alone and then to me and we both learned new things about Kenya.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2009
What a truly wonderful story.
This book is has wonderful pictures/beautifully illustrated.
The facts at the back of the book and the pancake receipe are an added bonus
Will be getting a few more for Christmas presents
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2009
A great book to use with KS 1 & Foundation children. It was used as part of an African Fortnight topic, allowing you to cover many areas of the curriculum with this book. The children particularly enjoyed the food aspect.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
A fabulous resouce being well used in school. The children love it and have took it to heart to the point that they are also buying it for themselves to have at home.
Rhyming language works brilliantly - "You have a little bit and a little bit more, Mama."
Both Y1 classes also love the detail in the pictures. Each time they listen to it, they find something else they had missed before.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
Lovely story about community, working together being friendly open and generous. Lovely facts about Kenya. Great for maths language. I read it to my class of 4-5year olds,slightly long but they enjoyed it. Read it before pancake Tuesday and used it as an aid for our pancake cookery lesson. Lovely illustrations, well worth having on the library shelf.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
This book is a joy to read and is one of my four-year-olds firm favourites.This book definitely stands out from the rest and gives children an insight into another way of life.It also reminds us all to share.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
Mama Panya and her son Adika set off for market. Adika is keen to know if Mama will be making pancakes that night. Once she says yes, he makes sure to invite all of their friends! Mama is nervous, as she is only carrying two coins, but Adika is confident that they will buy enough. Of course, they do, as all their guests bring gifts to share at the meal - fish, plantains, butter, milk and spices - as well as the gift of friendship itself.

This is a brilliant story for introducing toddlers to the idea of life in other countries. The illustrations, and the way in which the story is written - not to mention the odd bit of Kiswahili thrown in for good measure - really help transport the reader to Kenya. As well as the story itself, there's some great additional material in the back of the book to explain more about village life in Kenya, to introduce some of the trees and animals that we see in the illustrations, to give further information about Kiswahili and Kenya and, last of all, there's a recipe for Mama Panya's pancakes!

My two-and-a-half-year-old daughter really loves this book. She loves looking for Mama Panya's dog in all the pictures, and joining in with the story where she can. She has found the rather exotic names of all the characters fun to repeat and remember, and she has enjoyed learning a bit about Mama Panya's life, and how it is different from ours.

This review refers to the paperback edition of 'Mama Panya's Pancakes' published by Barefoot Books.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2015
Came the next day! Lovely book used this with my class to look at story's from other cultures. There is also a recipe in the back to make the pancakes from the story and a few activity ideas!
Great purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
A lovely book. A simple tale, beautifully illustrated. My 5 year old grand daughter loved it, as did and her three year old brother who listened intently and enjoyed looking the pictures on his own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
A great book! My Year One class asked it to be read a number of times. Recipe for pancakes in the book plus lots of information about Kenya and Swahili. Great for a topic on Kenya!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.