Customer Reviews


11 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect CV, 5 Aug. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Perfect CV (Paperback)
If you want to get ahead in your career then I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants their CV to get noticed. The most important information you may need to know in order to do a good CV is in this book. It's broken down in chapters making it easy on the eye - so you won't get bored. And you can go back for reference quite easily. If it could have more of something I would say more examples of CVs. But this is not a very bad negative since it's the advice from the author that is most important. Besides for the price of this book it's definitely worth the money. I've flicked through other books and they are not as good plus they cost more (probably double for what you would pay for this). This book should be read alongside 'The Perfect Interview' - also by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what you need to know, 25 May 2009
By 
OrganicGreen "Knowledge is King and books a g... (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Perfect CV (Paperback)
I work as an IT professional. I have been using the book for years to write my CVs. Many of my friends have also borrowed this book from me. It is very quick to read and easy to understand. There is no need to waste your time ready fat CV books that would take you days/weeks to complete. This just tells you what you need to know to write a professional looking and sounding CV. How to lay it out on the page. What to put & what not to put in it. Write your mission statement. & much much more. You CV will look & read in a very professional manor. Also look at "The Perfect Interview".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars End that Jaded Feeling at Work Feeling with this Book, 22 Nov. 2011
By 
I. Beautyman (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Perfect CV (Paperback)
Feeling a little jaded in your current job?

Or perhaps you feel trapped - unable to move to new pastures because of the recession's impact on job availability? If changing the job you have seems an unrealistic option in today's climate then the next best thing is to see the opportunities in where you are now.

To kick start a change in your thinking read Max Eggert's "Perfect CV". Follow the simple process to define you career achievements to date and give your self esteem an immediate boost.

Eggert asks the reader to list those moments when you have thought to yourself, "I really did well there". Then add in some further analysis such as who was it for, who was involved and link it with any means of measuring it's impact. Finally add in the benefits brought about by your action.

He gives the example "improved debt collection time from 85 to 54 days thus ensuring maximum cash flow".

Alternatives are "assisted clients' understanding of fitness classes thus increasing customer satisfaction and gym membership renewals" or "simplified staff feedback forms which increased response rate by 50%".

Follow through on this process and you will also achieve a CV to feel proud of. But who needs a CV in this climate? This time will pass, things will pick up - we know this because they always do. What are you going to have in your CV when this happens? Reviewing your current achievements and looking to those you want to add will give clarity on how you want to develop in your current job. While many sit and wallow in the stagnant job market, use it to get ahead and you'll be ready for when the market picks up.

But this book now when you have the time to shape your achievements or in six months when you're asked to forward a CV as soon as possible for that "ideal job" - which would you choose?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for job-seekers, 20 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Perfect CV (Paperback)
This book helped me get my big break! There is a lot of sense in here and if you follow Eggert's examples your CV will get noticed. To be read alongside "The Perfect Interview" by anyone looking for a cool career move, these books will help you make the most of the experience and talents you have, and get you thinking positively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect CV, 11 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect CV (Paperback)
Don't ever pay anyone to rework your CV. Buy this book instead! A valuable reference point to keep your CV updated and fresh. Some of it is common sense, but how often do you actually apply this common sense in reality?! It's written from the perspective of HR advisers who will screen your CV and so gives you the best shot of getting past through the first possible line of rejection :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very helpful, 24 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Perfect CV (Paperback)
Great help. Much more concise, and far more useful than the other books I bought on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Increase your chances of finding a job, 17 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Perfect CV (Paperback)
The book is very good - it is simple and presents good examples that you can link to your own experience. I particulalry liked the way it took examples of experiences from our personal lives and showed how they could be used within a paid employment environment - particularly useful for people returning to work or starting out in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No nonsense guide, 27 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Perfect CV (Paperback)
I bought this as I need to update my CV and it was fantastic. Couple areas are repeated but on the whole its necessary reading for anyone who wants their CV to be taken seriously. The other great part is that they have examples (good and bad) in the appendix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality, 21 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Perfect CV (Paperback)
Excellent purchase, good quality. Historical content is good. Once finished, I hope to get the perfect job. I already have you other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect CV book, 23 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Perfect CV (Paperback)
I did love this book. Not only all advice makes sense anyway, but shows the picture from the point of view of the recruiter. It serves as valuable insight and a clear guideline amidst all the debate and opinions on what CVs should be and look like. And the bonus is that it is so much fun to read!! Loved the style, it is funny, it is clear, it is easy. I loved it and recommend it to anybody thinking to set up a basic CV or put their existing one in order. My interviews are now much more pleasant since I notice recruiters do understand what my background is and sometimes even praise the CV itself! (not that it guarantees the job though).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Perfect CV
Perfect CV by Max Eggert (Paperback - 5 July 2007)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews