Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating!!
this is an absolute must for all fans of Paul Talling's website of the same name.It gives an insight into the lesser known side of London,from hospitals to pubs,left to decay or be demolished to make way for yet more luxury flats (rabbit hutches) or offices.Its very sad to see the old,beautiful buildings like the numourus public houses being demolished,its like pulling...
Published on 8 May 2008 by A. Hubbard

versus
44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too small
Am I the only one who was shocked to find how small this book is? Of course, I should have checked the dimensions before buying, but somehow I don't feel too stupid for assuming that a book of beautifully shot photographs would be of a size where they can be appreciated... not some titchy pocket book.
Published on 27 Dec. 2008 by David Bootle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decay & decline in London, 7 Dec. 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "paul m" (Benfleet) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Derelict London (Paperback)
As mentioned by other reviewers the first thing that strikes you about this book is its size, about 6 inches high by 5 inches wide.

Like the Tardis it seems bigger on the inside and generally follows the format of a page of text explaining the page of pictures opposite. The book is organised into 9 losely defined categories - Living, working, eating & drinking, relaxing, serving, travelling, fighting, resting and regenerating.

The pictures feature aspects of London in decline and decay, and are generally unfussy and straight forward, they are accompanied with explanatory text which gives a brief insight into the subject past and how it has arrived at it present state.
For Londoners like me who grew up before the widespread regeneration will find it brings back memories of the 70s and 80s when large areas were derelict or in decline, and serve to record the last remnants of an older London.

The only real criticism I have is that a lot of the photos are closely cropped or close up and as a result are difficult to place in context, be it general decline or pockets of decay in pools of modern development. For that reason, I'll give it 4 stars, well worth a look if you are interested in the urban lifecycle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic little book!, 11 July 2008
By 
Claire Wilson (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Derelict London (Paperback)
This book is fascinating, a great insight to history in our city that we might often miss. The photos are well taken.

I would highly recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little book..., 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derelict London (Paperback)
..that's full of "well I never knew that" facts. It is worth buying just for the Russian tank in South London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Derelict London, 2 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derelict London (Paperback)
Very interesting little book and the pictures alone are worth the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 22 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derelict London (Paperback)
Who would have thought that such a title would prove such an interesting and entertaining read. Especially if (like me) you know some of the locations first hand The photography is very good and yes I agree it would be nicer if thr book was a bit bigger, but then so would the price! Go to the website if you want to see bigger pics and updates.Hopefully there's more to come given the way that London is contsantly being 'developed' Keep up the good work!
chrisl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant, 8 Sept. 2008
This review is from: Derelict London (Paperback)
This is a splendid book which is interesting, thought provoking and a wonderful guide to the decaying parts of our capital. The photographs are atmospheric, the stories enlightening and moving and I would recommend this book (and indeed the website of the same name) to anyone who has ever passed a derelict building and wondered what was there before or what the story of the place was.

The author Paul is also a lovely guy whom I've had email chats with a few times now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: Derelict London (Paperback)
A 'toilet book' but full of fascinating tips and photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derelict London (Paperback)
AS ADVERTISED.MANY THANKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A strange and subtle book, 22 Mar. 2013
By 
Peasant (Deepest England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Derelict London (Paperback)
I lived in London once, briefly; I could never get to grips with it. Talking to lifelong Londoners, I realised later that they deal with the city's ungraspable vastness by breaking it up, mentally, into smaller, more intimate localities. Within these, landmark buildings are of great psychological importance. Not the landmarks that the tourist sees; the monuments and great institutions, but the local landmarks of pubs, factory buildings and railway stations. When there is so much rapid change and rebuilding, these take on a deep significance to those who have seen them all their lives. Taken for granted while in use, once they become threatened, they are disproportionately treasured as links to the past, pivotal points in daily journeys.

Somehow the small scale of this book adds to this feeling of intimacy. Here Talling collects a number of buildings which stand empty and decaying. Some are obsolete functional structures of little charm, but others are flamboyant and characterful. Some photos feature no more than ugly patches of rubbish-strewn waste ground. And this is where I miss his point. I do not understand what Talling is focusing on. Is this just a random selection of images? Why does a photo of a rusting Ford Cortina make the grade? Yes, it is an "iconic" car, yet it is hardly relevant here.

When I (rarely) go to the capital these days, I find myself a gawping yokel like those in Thomas Rowlandson's cartoons. It never ceases to astound me, as the train carries me past the rear-end of the London which the pedestrian sees, how, in a city with some of the highest land values on the globe, there remain so many broken down areas and boarded up sites. Of course land use changes, but some sites remain unchanged, gently making the transition from dereliction to archaeology, for decades. If this book had been more thoughtful, with a text which did more to explore the history and context of the buildings, I would have liked it better. As it is, it was tantalising and ultimately unsatisfactory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really great book, a thorough and appalling survey of impending architectural losses!, 10 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derelict London (Paperback)
Another fine book on English architecture.

This fine book of beautiful photographs,a thorough survey of London's threatened historic buildings, would be improved with additional photographs and background information.

Having written that, I still highly recommend this as an important book, a must for anyone interested in the architecture of London.
Gregory Hubbard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Derelict London
Derelict London by Paul Talling (Paperback - 24 April 2008)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews