Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating!!
this is an absolute must for all fans of Paul Talling's website of the same name.It gives an insight into the lesser known side of London,from hospitals to pubs,left to decay or be demolished to make way for yet more luxury flats (rabbit hutches) or offices.Its very sad to see the old,beautiful buildings like the numourus public houses being demolished,its like pulling...
Published on 8 May 2008 by A. Hubbard

versus
44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too small
Am I the only one who was shocked to find how small this book is? Of course, I should have checked the dimensions before buying, but somehow I don't feel too stupid for assuming that a book of beautifully shot photographs would be of a size where they can be appreciated... not some titchy pocket book.
Published on 27 Dec. 2008 by David Bootle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating!!, 8 May 2008
By 
A. Hubbard (norfolk,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derelict London (Paperback)
this is an absolute must for all fans of Paul Talling's website of the same name.It gives an insight into the lesser known side of London,from hospitals to pubs,left to decay or be demolished to make way for yet more luxury flats (rabbit hutches) or offices.Its very sad to see the old,beautiful buildings like the numourus public houses being demolished,its like pulling the heart out of London's history...................Buy this book its brilliant!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too small, 27 Dec. 2008
By 
David Bootle (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Derelict London (Paperback)
Am I the only one who was shocked to find how small this book is? Of course, I should have checked the dimensions before buying, but somehow I don't feel too stupid for assuming that a book of beautifully shot photographs would be of a size where they can be appreciated... not some titchy pocket book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Urban decrepitude, 18 July 2011
By 
Emma Bryan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derelict London (Paperback)
This book would be brilliant in any size - this is a good and handy poscket one but, large to really show of the photography would also be good!
If you are interested in urban decay this book is a must! Whilst London is constantly shaking herself up to become more chic, more trendy & more stylishly in vogue and with buildings being ripped from their foundations in order to redevelop and maximise the (financial) return, these small often forgotten & definitely neglected pockets tell stories, hold histories and memories that without this book would all perish with them...
A personal interest if you are a Lonodoner but perhaps London from a different perspective if you are just visiting :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 29 April 2008
By 
A. L. Rispoli (SW London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Derelict London (Paperback)
An excellent book, my only criticism being there is not enough of it!! The places are photographed beautifully, there is a full history of the buildings and to finish off with a section documenting some buildings that have been restored and renovated is pure class! This book does not disappoint, it is the most interesting book I have read in a long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Didn't do enough to grab my interest, 22 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derelict London (Paperback)
Unforunately the book is not as interesting as the website - only a few words and a small single photo for each location is not enough to draw you in. I bought this after enjoying David Long's Spectacular Vernacular, which strikes a much better balance. Derelict London is like a child's book in comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real History!, 23 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derelict London (Paperback)
It's such a shame that so many beautiful buildings have gone to ruin. As you read this book you may wonder like me that these buildings are like time capsules built In a London that Is decades and even centuries from the London we recognize today. can you Imagine the changes that they have stood through?.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derelict London (Paperback)
A bigger book would be a definite improvement. It was a present and it is an underwhelming present. I knew it would be small but wasn't prepared for how awkward it would be to read. Having said that the book is fascinating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 7 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derelict London (Paperback)
I have been on some of Paul's London walks and they really bring the books to life. You get to see and hear bits about London that are not in the more standard, and may I say boring, tourist guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 21 Jan. 2012
By 
Mrs. J. Aljaf (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Derelict London (Paperback)
Fantastic little book with great pics and just the right amount of blurb. I love the scruffy corners of London and this book feeds my interest! Many of the photographs depict long since demolished buildings so it's a wonderful bit of nostaglia too - albeit on a low key scale (no glitz and glamour here!) The book is smaller than I initially expected (approx 13.5 cm x 15.5 cm), however every page features a full page colour photograph faced by a short piece of information about the site depicted. I found the book through the associated website and my only minor dissapointment was that not all of the photos featured on the website appear in the book. In particular, I missed those of some of the old venues such as the Astoria. The website also features pics from early gigs - not in the book so check them out online! Overall, this book is a definite recommend, and as an added bonus is good value as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London is falling down..., 20 Sept. 2008
By 
Philip Walker (London - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Derelict London (Paperback)
Loved this! A great reference to parts of London we see every day, but ignore so easily.

One of the buildings I walk past going to work every day is in here, and I look at it now, and soak in the History.

This is a great little book, if you love London and its history, you will really enjoy Derelict London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Derelict London
Derelict London by Paul Talling (Paperback - 24 April 2008)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews