Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars17
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2007
I have worked in the private sector for a major multinational organisation for a number of years and am a great fan of "Good to Great". I was seconded into the development sector for a while and repeatedly heard how different the private and social sectors were and yet how anxious they were to become more business minded. My perspective was that the social sector is not as different as people think it is and that not every process in business is appropriate to be transfered. When I came across the Monograph it brought simple clarity to my unexpressed thoughts. So if you are in the Social sector and striving to set Missions, Visions and Goals, have a read of the Monograph. You might just decide you want to read the original Good to Great too!

I learned a lot from my secondment and now work across both sectors.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2007
My former director encouraged me to read good to great in preparation for a job interview. It helped crystalise a lot of what I thought about what I wanted to achieve, but always wondered how to apply it to the public and voluntary sector. This monograph shows how it is possible.

I didn't get the job. But I got a much stronger convinction about the value of what great social sector organisations should be trying to achieve. And now I have got the promotion...
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2009
This slim volume, which can be read in isolation from the original, and much more substantial, 'Good to Great', addresses that fundamental question which has beset many western governments and social sector organizations in recent years: would they benefit from being run as businesses? The core of the argument is that financial indices are not good measures of output for non-profit organizations, but that many of the disciplines that constitute a well-run business are eminently exportable. Well-argued, very readable and with a sound evidential base, this should be a must-read for every politician, civil servant and other non-profit organization executive.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2006
This monography is about leadership, real leadership, not primarily leadership in business, but also leadership in the non-profit sector, which can be even more challenging.

Jim Collins is very direct in his stile. "... many widely practiced business norms fall somwhere between mediocre and good. Few are great."

The misunderstanding of using business-like concepts araises from the focus on earnings, instead of focus on output and resources.

"We need a new language." A new laguage that can describe the quality of output in a school system or in any other non-profit or public service funtion. The bottom line in a non-profit business is not earnings. It is well educated kids in the school system, high quality treamnet in the public hospitals, well caretaking of elderly in the elderly sector etc..

Lars Bitsch-Larsen
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2010
I would recommend buying this book first(Good to Great and the Social Sectors) rather than "Good to Great".

This book summarises the Jim Collins theory and leaves out most of the research details and stories that are included in "Good to Great".
The book is an easy read.

I recommend it for people involved in business or the social sector.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2010
I like Jim Collin's books, always based on sound evidence and always comes up with something new you can take and use in the real world.

Ron Dougan CEO Trent & Dove Housing
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
This book really gets you thinking. A great inspirational read.

It provides a very different way to look at social businesses and the need
for multiple ways to view success
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
More or less what I expected in a U.S. text. Nevertheless, you are never to old to pick up several good ideas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
Excellent and a good response to those who think business models automatically transfer to the social sector
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
20 copies arrived perect condition now with the Governing body to support our away day at teh end of May
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)