Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for Profits don't have to copy business
I have worked in the private sector for a major multinational organisation for a number of years and am a great fan of "Good to Great". I was seconded into the development sector for a while and repeatedly heard how different the private and social sectors were and yet how anxious they were to become more business minded. My perspective was that the social sector is not...
Published on 9 Nov 2007 by G. Parcell

versus
1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not for me
medical student
adviced to read this.
it was vague and ambiguous to me.
i think its just for business minds/workers.
Published on 18 Aug 2009 by Ms. S. M. Elyas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for Profits don't have to copy business, 9 Nov 2007
By 
G. Parcell "Geoff" (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good to Great and the Social Sectors: A Monograph to Accompany Good to Great (Paperback)
I have worked in the private sector for a major multinational organisation for a number of years and am a great fan of "Good to Great". I was seconded into the development sector for a while and repeatedly heard how different the private and social sectors were and yet how anxious they were to become more business minded. My perspective was that the social sector is not as different as people think it is and that not every process in business is appropriate to be transfered. When I came across the Monograph it brought simple clarity to my unexpressed thoughts. So if you are in the Social sector and striving to set Missions, Visions and Goals, have a read of the Monograph. You might just decide you want to read the original Good to Great too!

I learned a lot from my secondment and now work across both sectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read both, 6 Aug 2007
By 
Tim Pope "Tim" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good to Great and the Social Sectors: A Monograph to Accompany Good to Great (Paperback)
My former director encouraged me to read good to great in preparation for a job interview. It helped crystalise a lot of what I thought about what I wanted to achieve, but always wondered how to apply it to the public and voluntary sector. This monograph shows how it is possible.

I didn't get the job. But I got a much stronger convinction about the value of what great social sector organisations should be trying to achieve. And now I have got the promotion...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leadership in non-profit organisations a real challenge., 10 Sep 2006
By 
L. Bitsch-Larsen (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good to Great and the Social Sectors: A Monograph to Accompany Good to Great (Paperback)
This monography is about leadership, real leadership, not primarily leadership in business, but also leadership in the non-profit sector, which can be even more challenging.

Jim Collins is very direct in his stile. "... many widely practiced business norms fall somwhere between mediocre and good. Few are great."

The misunderstanding of using business-like concepts araises from the focus on earnings, instead of focus on output and resources.

"We need a new language." A new laguage that can describe the quality of output in a school system or in any other non-profit or public service funtion. The bottom line in a non-profit business is not earnings. It is well educated kids in the school system, high quality treamnet in the public hospitals, well caretaking of elderly in the elderly sector etc..

Lars Bitsch-Larsen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good things in small packages, 16 May 2009
This review is from: Good to Great and the Social Sectors: A Monograph to Accompany Good to Great (Paperback)
This slim volume, which can be read in isolation from the original, and much more substantial, 'Good to Great', addresses that fundamental question which has beset many western governments and social sector organizations in recent years: would they benefit from being run as businesses? The core of the argument is that financial indices are not good measures of output for non-profit organizations, but that many of the disciplines that constitute a well-run business are eminently exportable. Well-argued, very readable and with a sound evidential base, this should be a must-read for every politician, civil servant and other non-profit organization executive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short version of Good to Great, 7 Sep 2010
By 
Don Lucey "SORE FINGER" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good to Great and the Social Sectors: A Monograph to Accompany Good to Great (Paperback)
I would recommend buying this book first(Good to Great and the Social Sectors) rather than "Good to Great".

This book summarises the Jim Collins theory and leaves out most of the research details and stories that are included in "Good to Great".
The book is an easy read.

I recommend it for people involved in business or the social sector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 22 July 2010
By 
Ron Dougan (Midlands England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good to Great and the Social Sectors: A Monograph to Accompany Good to Great (Paperback)
I like Jim Collin's books, always based on sound evidence and always comes up with something new you can take and use in the real world.

Ron Dougan CEO Trent & Dove Housing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good to Great and the Social Sectors: A Monograph to Accompany Good to Great (Paperback)
As described - quick delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 20 copies arrived perect condition now with the Governing body, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good to Great and the Social Sectors: A Monograph to Accompany Good to Great (Paperback)
20 copies arrived perect condition now with the Governing body to support our away day at teh end of May
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good to Great and the Social Sectors: A Monograph to Accompany Good to Great (Paperback)
This book really gets you thinking. A great inspirational read.

It provides a very different way to look at social businesses and the need
for multiple ways to view success
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not for me, 18 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Good to Great and the Social Sectors: A Monograph to Accompany Good to Great (Paperback)
medical student
adviced to read this.
it was vague and ambiguous to me.
i think its just for business minds/workers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good to Great and the Social Sectors: A Monograph to Accompany Good to Great
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews