Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Skimming the Hebrides
I enjoyed "Heights of Madness" and so was enthusiastic about buying Jonny Muir's next book. There are two sorts of travel reader, those who have never been there but may want to, and those that have been and want to find out more/have their impressions confirmed/say they could have done it so much better themselves. I fall into the "been there" category (though I...
Published on 29 Aug 2011 by Squiz

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More Fiction than fact
I read the three sections covering Lewis, Harris and St Kilda and I had to give up. Inaccuracies were peppered throughout and gave the impression the "diary" format was written from memory. In places it certainly lacked knowledge of the geography and history.
Published on 24 Oct 2012 by excile9


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Skimming the Hebrides, 29 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isles at the Edge of the Sea (Paperback)
I enjoyed "Heights of Madness" and so was enthusiastic about buying Jonny Muir's next book. There are two sorts of travel reader, those who have never been there but may want to, and those that have been and want to find out more/have their impressions confirmed/say they could have done it so much better themselves. I fall into the "been there" category (though I haven't visited Bute, Eigg, Barra, Colonsay or St. Kilda). After reading Jonny Muir's account, when I do visit these I certainly don't intend camping: I don't have his resilience when it comes to being nearly blown away or flooded out, nor do I intend running marathons or hill races. The same humour that emerged in "Heights of Madness" is exhibited here, and it makes for a sparkling, if slight read. My only quibble is that it feels a little bit as if he has wondered "What next for a book?" and pre-ordered his experiences to fit a chapter each. but having said this anyone who survives the Rum midge deserves to get at least a chapter out of it.

Despite this, his enthusiasm for the Hebrides is infectious and I hope some time in the future wife Fi gets to experience the bits where he most missed her. This book could obviously only be a taster for any individual island, but having read it anyone who has not been to the Hebrides should be heading there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great book, 22 Aug 2011
I was inspired to book a summer holiday incorporating many of the islands Jonny muir writes about . he is a very likeable character. An easy read and a book that has being passed round the whole family- kindle and paperback .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far out!, 25 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isles at the Edge of the Sea (Paperback)
It's difficult to write a good travel book, and a camping trip to Scottish islands might sound unpromising. However, nothing could be further from the case if you read Jonny Muir's Isles at the Edge of the Sea. Jonny travels to some of the remotest Scottish isles, including Tiree, Eigg, Rum, Barra, and Berneray, going as far as St Kilda - 40 miles west of North Uist. The book gives extremely vivid and lighthearted descriptions of the terrain and the people, combined with a gripping as well as humorous account of Jonny's adventurous travels. It made me feel as if I were travelling with the author - and glad that I wasn't! Reading the book is much less arduous! Isles at the Edge of the Sea is more than a piece of autobiography: the locations are well researched, and accompanied by accounts of these islands' history and topography. There are some fine colour photographs in the middle too. The book is not only a fascinating piece of autobiography, but an excellent travel guide for tourists in these remoter parts. It is a great read, and definitely to be recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, 28 April 2012
By 
Sheila A. Grant (Kilmarnock, Ayrshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isles at the Edge of the Sea (Paperback)
What a wonderful book for anyone interested in sailing or the islands of Scotland. It is a great read, an adventure story with wonderful images of the isles off the coast of Scotland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outdoor writer who is going places, 13 Jun 2011
By 
Deep Reader - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Isles at the Edge of the Sea (Paperback)
Jonny Muir is going places all right. Already he has toured the highest locations throughout Britain and Ireland. In his latest book with, surely, many more titles to come, he covers what must be his most loved territory. From Arran to Isla to Colonsay, eventually to the outer isles and St Kilda - and there is not much more 'outer' before you get to Labrador. This is a delightful account of his journey through the Isles at the Edge of the Sea, as the Vikings termed them (coming, as they did, from the other side). Characterised by Jonny's sense of adventure, and his sense of humour, this book is going to take a major trick with all lovers of islands, but particularly our own. Jonny follows in the footprints of such as Tom Weir and Hamish Brown, Robert Macfarlane and Cameron McNeish with a book that will be read and enjoyed far into the future by people who will carry it in their pockets, handbags and rucksacks as they go. Sandstone Press has also produced a handsome volume with a beautiful cover and 16 pages of the author's own colour photographs. The Wild PlacesHamish's Groats End Walk: One Man & His Dog on a Hill Route Through Britain & IrelandHamish's Mountain Walk (Non-Fiction)To Ride The Mountain Winds: A History of Aerial Mountaineering and Rescue[[ASIN:1905207697 The Munros in WinterThe Munros - Scotland's Highest MountainsBlazing Paddles: A Scottish Coastal Odyssey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More Fiction than fact, 24 Oct 2012
This review is from: Isles at the Edge of the Sea (Paperback)
I read the three sections covering Lewis, Harris and St Kilda and I had to give up. Inaccuracies were peppered throughout and gave the impression the "diary" format was written from memory. In places it certainly lacked knowledge of the geography and history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Middle range of such books, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isles at the Edge of the Sea (Paperback)
I have a collection of books of this genre , i.e. about Islands and other remote places and within this genre this book is in the middle to lower range as regards interest and quality of writing. It's still worth buying, having and reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars his views, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Isles at the Edge of the Sea (Paperback)
a bit overpersonalised and opinionated but some bits intriguing. really too big a subject to fit into a smaller book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Isles at the Edge of the Sea
Isles at the Edge of the Sea by Jonny Muir (Paperback - 31 May 2011)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews