Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kerracher Man.
This is a true story about the life of a family who settled in what must be one of the most remote aeras of Sutherland In North West Scotland.
Not only is it a remote area it is also a very scenic area, surrounded by some of the most beautiful Highland scenery to be found including nearby " Eas A' Chual Aluinn", Gaelic for (Waterfall of the beautiful tresses)...
Published 15 months ago by KLB Kid

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the kerracher man
I enjoyed this book , but felt it lacked substance. I think more about the wife and children and how they coped, it was a little bit like the Waltons. good book for younger readers.
Published on 9 Jun 2011 by Patrick Troy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kerracher Man., 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a true story about the life of a family who settled in what must be one of the most remote aeras of Sutherland In North West Scotland.
Not only is it a remote area it is also a very scenic area, surrounded by some of the most beautiful Highland scenery to be found including nearby " Eas A' Chual Aluinn", Gaelic for (Waterfall of the beautiful tresses) which is the highest waterfall in Britain.
It appears that the author is a family decendent of Kerracher and starts by trying to make a new life for himself and his family, quite a hard task to undertake in such a remote area,but as the story goes on you will see it all becomes worthwhile in the long run.
From the begining the trials of getting a caravan, which is to be their initial home, over to Kerracher, to the refurbishment of the house, the long walks over the hill to get to the main road and their vehicle in order to get provisions and in time to get their children to and from school shows just how hard it can be in such a remote area.
However just think of the peace in such an area, well that is until the Highland midge decides to come out to play, when millions of the little blighters attack you on a warm damp evening when there is little or no wind.
As the summer draws to a close there will be the ever noisy sound of the red deer throughout the annual rutting season. Try going to sleep with that racket going on??? Now that is what I would call a good life.
The winter time can be a bit of a challenge with the long dark nights that begin about 3.30pm and finish around 9.00am the next day, but there is nothing better than sitting around a good peat fire in the hearth listening to the hiss of the tilly lamp and enjoying the heat it provides especially if mother nature decides that there will be a long spell of winter weather.
The peats would of course have been cut the previous spring by yourselves.
Also think what it would be like having fresh eggs from your own hens and fresh milk from you cow as well as all the home baking. What a pleasure it must be to be able to be self sufficient and Eric and his wife have made a very good job of it.
Then when the summer comes around again there will be long days with daylight hours lasting until nearly midnight and daybreak at around about 2.00am.
Throughout the summer months there generally is an abundant supply of fish in the loch, all that is needed is for you to go and catch them.
Kerracher is not a million miles from where I originally belong and what I have written is what I remember from my own younger days and Eric has taken the time to describe that in full detail.
This is an excellent book full of excellent reading.
I reccomend it to anyone who is interested in the history or geography of North West Sutherland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read for those cosy winter nights in!!, 1 Nov 2008
This review is from: The Kerracher Man (Non-Fiction) (Paperback)
Everything to make a good read - Adventure, humour, mystery, tragedy, history, geography, nature; it's all there. Once started you want to find out more, laugh with them, celebrate with them, dispair with them, be amazed at the visual imagery created. Once finished you'll want to dip back into different chapters to reread your favourites. Well worth the price. Look forward to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the kerracher man, 9 Jun 2011
By 
Patrick Troy (Dublin Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kerracher Man (Non-Fiction) (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book , but felt it lacked substance. I think more about the wife and children and how they coped, it was a little bit like the Waltons. good book for younger readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very readable, 7 Oct 2008
By 
Mrs. Marion A. Martin "Marion" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kerracher Man (Non-Fiction) (Paperback)
Loved this book. Once I started I kept reading until I finished. Great story of an 'ordinary' family which chose to face enormous challenges by moving back to their family home in a remote part of Scotland. Even the cover picture conjures up all sort of images - a caravan on a home-made barge! What risks the family took! Read about them for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not riveting, 14 Jan 2013
By 
C. McClelland - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A nice overview of the trials and tribulations of giving up a 'normal' life for living in the wilds of Scotland. I was impressed by the author's tenacity and motivation, especially when times were tough. However, for me it was definitely not a page turner! I think this was to do with the writing style more than anything else - there was little flow, and the chapters seemed disjointed. Agreeing with the other reviewers on here, the writing also lacked depth and feeling, "I did this... then that happened". I'll definitely read it though to the end though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The location is the star of the book, 7 Mar 2012
By 
Glasgow Reader (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Kerracher Man (Non-Fiction) (Paperback)
This is a pleasant, undemanding read which I would recommend. Its the story of how Eric MacLeod gave up his job/career in 1976 to occupy a remote, run-down croft in the West Highlands. This was no "Good Life" escape however, the croft had been in his family for some time and his family connections to the land undoubtedly helped him as he struggled to get established, and to find ways of earning a living. The book is in no way a "how to survive" guide, and I didn't emerge from it with any great insights into the author, or his family. Indeed, I ended up slightly puzzled by the very abrupt end to their life in Kerracher after some of their livestock was killed.
What I particularly enjoyed about this book was his descriptions of the local area, people, wildlife etc. His love of the place shines out clearly in those parts of the book and makes it more enjoyable.
So, all-in-all I'd recommend the book as a pleasant way of passing a few hours - it will no doubt also supply some motivation to visit the area, which can only be a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but lacked more personal imput, 27 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Kerracher Man (Non-Fiction) (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book, but felt that it was a bit 'shallow'. I think the author could have told us more about his family, perhaps more indepth and made the book much more interesting. There was a lot of description about the area and this made it more realistic and I could imagine the house and surrounding areas. At times it was funny and made reading enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read almost as if you were there, 2 Aug 2009
By 
Wilma Moscrop (Greenlaw Berwickshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kerracher Man (Non-Fiction) (Paperback)
What a wonderful book it conjured up so many images for me.
My grandparents lived at Rheantraid and my mother was born there. I have visited it and it is as remote as the book suggests!!
I had heard so many stories this book brought them all to life for me. An amazing read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The kerracher man, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book. The book is about a family,(with 2 young children), who decide to move to the family croft on the edge of a loch. The only way into and out of the croft is either by boat via the loch or a mile and a half walk ! When they arrive the croft needs totally renavating. There are not even basic's there - no running water,(only the stream), no electricity or even generator, no bathroom and not even a toilet !
This book tells the story of how the family go about sorting out the croft and everyday life.
A good book :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the kerracher man, 17 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kerracher Man (Non-Fiction) (Paperback)
This is a book you will not want to put down.A very good read. It's about how Eric MacLeod gave up a well paid job in the South of England to live the self-sufficency lifestyle in the West Highlands of Scotland, with his wife Ruth and their 2 daughters.The book follows their adventure of living the GOOD LIFE for the 16 years they were there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kerracher Man (Non-Fiction)
The Kerracher Man (Non-Fiction) by Eric MacLeod (Paperback - 30 July 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews