Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning photography
Great photography and a nice browser of our nearest neighbours. Possibly could have done with a little more information to go with the pics. Makes you want to know more about our solar system which a book such as the Dorling Kindesley "Universe" provides in abundance. The DK book would be my choice: great value for money with lots more photos and information. In fact...
Published on 31 May 2007 by Socrates

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't live up to its promise.
Compared to Sparrow's slightly earlier extravaganza 'Cosmos', this book is a pallid companion. There is nothing in this book (aside from a dozen or more added pictures - some of which are incorrectly pre-pressed) that wasn't covered in considerable, and substantially more spectacular detail in the former... (which naturally also includes the rest of the Universe for the...
Published 11 months ago by Frank D


Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning photography, 31 May 2007
By 
Socrates (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great photography and a nice browser of our nearest neighbours. Possibly could have done with a little more information to go with the pics. Makes you want to know more about our solar system which a book such as the Dorling Kindesley "Universe" provides in abundance. The DK book would be my choice: great value for money with lots more photos and information. In fact Giles Sparrow contributed to this. Good as an engaging short pictorial guide but leaves you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely worth getting, 23 Nov 2006
By 
Matt Verboom (Alton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Planets: A Journey Through the Solar sytem: A Journey Through the Solar System (Hardcover)
This book is fully up to date, now that Pluto isn't a classed as a planet, with beautiful pictures and easy writing. I will be getting of this book out of the cupboard even if it just for looking at these amazing pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Print, 16 April 2009
By 
Nazmi Kamal (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Planets: A Journey Through the Solar sytem: A Journey Through the Solar System (Hardcover)
This book is astonishing. Although images take up most of page spaces inside, the little captions included and occasional texts provide very precise information and easy to understand. Better on, Images speak louder than words in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't live up to its promise., 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Compared to Sparrow's slightly earlier extravaganza 'Cosmos', this book is a pallid companion. There is nothing in this book (aside from a dozen or more added pictures - some of which are incorrectly pre-pressed) that wasn't covered in considerable, and substantially more spectacular detail in the former... (which naturally also includes the rest of the Universe for the price......)

One doubts that Sparrow spent more than 10 minutes on each six line caption - and not a few contain technical inexactitudes. One wonders how statements like 'Buzz Aldrin landed the LM on the Moon' can escape proper editing...., or that the photo shown was 'taken just before the Eagle touched down' ..... when it was taken after....?

Sparrow is an extremely competent and well informed writer, but the sloppiness of this production does him no credit.

Readers should also note that the latest reprint (2008) is 55% smaller than the original 2006 edition, virtually turning it into fieldguide-format (and presumably turning a better profit for the publisher?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Planets, 4 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: The Planets: A Journey Through the Solar sytem: A Journey Through the Solar System (Hardcover)
I agree with the person before that the photography is just brilliant. It could of done with more information with the Moons and stuff and more about the Atmosphere of the Planets and Moons and not just about what you can see on them. I wonder if they'll update it and publish another one when they'll reached gone beyond Pluto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I was a tiny bit disappointed, 19 Feb 2014
By 
K. Weston "Katie" (Crawley) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Planets: A Journey Through the Solar sytem: A Journey Through the Solar System (Hardcover)
I loved the book but maybe my expectations of the quality of the photos was too high. The photos were ok but not brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars well worth purchasing, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Planets: A Journey Through the Solar sytem: A Journey Through the Solar System (Hardcover)
excellent illustrations,i found it difficult to put down,more text would have been helpfull though and measurements would have been better in miles not kms;
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Planets, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Planets: A Journey Through the Solar sytem: A Journey Through the Solar System (Hardcover)
A very very competent book about the latest finding in our Solar System - and with really detailed descriptions of the planets and their moon - down to the smallest of the moon.

I very much enjoyed the read and the many, many fantastic photographs.

Rene, Copenhagen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars christmas present, 1 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Planets: A Journey Through the Solar sytem: A Journey Through the Solar System (Hardcover)
bought these books for my grandson for his christmas
he was really delighted with them as he is into that kind of
thing,I also thought they were very informative for his age
and really good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Planets: A Journey Through the Solar sytem: A Journey Through the Solar System
12.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews