Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars12
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£25.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 May 2007
Great photography and a nice browser of our nearest neighbours. Possibly could have done with a little more information to go with the pics. Makes you want to know more about our solar system which a book such as the Dorling Kindesley "Universe" provides in abundance. The DK book would be my choice: great value for money with lots more photos and information. In fact Giles Sparrow contributed to this. Good as an engaging short pictorial guide but leaves you wanting more.
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
Compared to Sparrow's slightly earlier extravaganza 'Cosmos', this book is a pallid companion. There is nothing in this book (aside from a dozen or more added pictures - some of which are incorrectly pre-pressed) that wasn't covered in considerable, and substantially more spectacular detail in the former... (which naturally also includes the rest of the Universe for the price......)

One doubts that Sparrow spent more than 10 minutes on each six line caption - and not a few contain technical inexactitudes. One wonders how statements like 'Buzz Aldrin landed the LM on the Moon' can escape proper editing...., or that the photo shown was 'taken just before the Eagle touched down' ..... when it was taken after....?

Sparrow is an extremely competent and well informed writer, but the sloppiness of this production does him no credit.

Readers should also note that the latest reprint (2008) is 55% smaller than the original 2006 edition, virtually turning it into fieldguide-format (and presumably turning a better profit for the publisher?)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2009
This book is astonishing. Although images take up most of page spaces inside, the little captions included and occasional texts provide very precise information and easy to understand. Better on, Images speak louder than words in this book.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2006
This book is fully up to date, now that Pluto isn't a classed as a planet, with beautiful pictures and easy writing. I will be getting of this book out of the cupboard even if it just for looking at these amazing pictures.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
A very very competent book about the latest finding in our Solar System - and with really detailed descriptions of the planets and their moon - down to the smallest of the moon.

I very much enjoyed the read and the many, many fantastic photographs.

Rene, Copenhagen
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2010
I agree with the person before that the photography is just brilliant. It could of done with more information with the Moons and stuff and more about the Atmosphere of the Planets and Moons and not just about what you can see on them. I wonder if they'll update it and publish another one when they'll reached gone beyond Pluto.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
excellent illustrations,i found it difficult to put down,more text would have been helpfull though and measurements would have been better in miles not kms;
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
I loved the book but maybe my expectations of the quality of the photos was too high. The photos were ok but not brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
A beautiful book for anyone interested in outer space. Beautiful pictures. Well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
Awesome pictures with clear and precise info. A feast for all ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)