Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating
Being a Breastfeeding Counsellor student, I was very much looking forward to reading this book, as the hormone has fascinated me with its role in childbirth and breastfeeding. But I was amazed to find out so much more and the importance of the hormone in every day life. It is a scientific subject but the book is simply written and the chapters are easy to digest. A...
Published on 20 Jan 2012 by Emma_BFC

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The oxytocin smorgasbord
On the whole, this is an interesting book exploring the magic of the hormone oxytocin, its widely varied effects, and the gaps in our knowledge about it.

The author describes the `calm and connection' system, and contrasts this with the `fight or flight' system, which has already been widely researched. She posits that modern life gives little opportunity for...
Published on 1 Feb 2012 by K. Hall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting and detailed book., 6 Oct 2012
By 
Alyson (Saltash, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Oxytocin Factor: Tapping the Hormone of Calm, Love and Healing (Paperback)
A really interesting book, full of fascinating information about the wonderful hormone Oxytocin. Already aware of the implication of this hormone in breastfeeding and labour it was great to develop an understanding of the wider role ths hormone has in everyday life. One thing that was highlighted to me in reading the book was the importance of touch to maintain the calm/connection reaction. As a mental health nurse I can see the implications as many of our client group lead very isolated lives with little opportunity for positive touch.
Although scientific this book has been written in such a way as to make it very accessible to the lay audience with a number of key diagrams and boxes outlining key pices of information to aid understanding.
One of things I struggling with a little on a personal level was the extent of references to animal experientation which seem to factor throughout the book. However I guess that the sort of information gathered in this book would be difficult to obtain via any other means. Overall a very good book and recommended - especially if the animal experimentation does not trouble you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderous look at a hormone often overlooked, 21 May 2012
This review is from: The Oxytocin Factor: Tapping the Hormone of Calm, Love and Healing (Paperback)
In a world where birth has become medicalised, it is refreshing to read a book that covers the importance of oxytocin, not only in birth but in life. Not many people are aware of the benefits and importance of this wonderful hormone and its fantastic to have a book that provides such amazing information.
I have read this twice over and am into my third time as there is so much to absorb. I love the way in that the benefits of high oxytocin levels are explained and presented as well as the explanation as to how we can increase this wonder hormone.
A MUST read for any birth professional and even lay person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for therapists of any kind., 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is written so easily and yet with such a difficult subject. It is an essential read for anyone who works with pregnant women but also patients in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and informative, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good book very Informative. quite intense and medical. definitely worth a read if you are interested in studies ok f oxytocin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oxytocin, not just for nursing mums, 4 April 2012
This review is from: The Oxytocin Factor: Tapping the Hormone of Calm, Love and Healing (Paperback)
The Oxytocin Factor

This is a well written book. It is very informative without being too wordy. It is accessible to people of all levels of knowledge on hormones and the nervous system, the author strips it back to basics and uses simplified diagrams effectively.

I found The Oxytocin Factor easy to read, it was not boring as some other scientific books can be and I feel that I have learned a lot about the effects of oxytocin from it. I enjoyed the comparisons to the `fight or flight' response, brining in this which is much better known could bring a sense of familiarity to the book for those who are unsure if they could follow it.

I think this book would be a good read for anybody wanting more information on the subject, as a breast feeding mother I knew of the effects associated with nursing but had no idea just how much more there was to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Oxytocin Factor: Tapping the Hormone of Calm, Love and Healing
The Oxytocin Factor: Tapping the Hormone of Calm, Love and Healing by Kerstin Uvnas-Moberg (Paperback - 28 Jun 2011)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews