Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating
Being a Breastfeeding Counsellor student, I was very much looking forward to reading this book, as the hormone has fascinated me with its role in childbirth and breastfeeding. But I was amazed to find out so much more and the importance of the hormone in every day life. It is a scientific subject but the book is simply written and the chapters are easy to digest. A...
Published on 20 Jan 2012 by Emma_BFC

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The oxytocin smorgasbord
On the whole, this is an interesting book exploring the magic of the hormone oxytocin, its widely varied effects, and the gaps in our knowledge about it.

The author describes the `calm and connection' system, and contrasts this with the `fight or flight' system, which has already been widely researched. She posits that modern life gives little opportunity for...
Published on 1 Feb 2012 by K. Hall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 20 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Oxytocin Factor: Tapping the Hormone of Calm, Love and Healing (Paperback)
Being a Breastfeeding Counsellor student, I was very much looking forward to reading this book, as the hormone has fascinated me with its role in childbirth and breastfeeding. But I was amazed to find out so much more and the importance of the hormone in every day life. It is a scientific subject but the book is simply written and the chapters are easy to digest. A thoroughly enjoyable read with lots of 'ahhh, I see' moments!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The oxytocin smorgasbord, 1 Feb 2012
By 
K. Hall (Reading UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Oxytocin Factor: Tapping the Hormone of Calm, Love and Healing (Paperback)
On the whole, this is an interesting book exploring the magic of the hormone oxytocin, its widely varied effects, and the gaps in our knowledge about it.

The author describes the `calm and connection' system, and contrasts this with the `fight or flight' system, which has already been widely researched. She posits that modern life gives little opportunity for human beings to enjoy the various conditions of rest, relaxation, and pleasant interactions, which cause a natural increase in levels of oxytocin.

The book is divided into parts, and begins with an explanation of the physiological processes involved in the calm and connection system. All this makes a lot of sense, although much of it is based on research with rats.

The section on the effects of oxytocin is the most interesting part of the book. It shows that oxytocin increases sociability, curiosity and nurturing behaviour, and decreases anxiety and fear. It enhances recognition and calm, and alleviates pain. It improves the ability to learn; and, in different circumstances, either raises or lowers blood pressure. It moderates body temperature and enables a mother to moderate her baby's body temperature. It regulates appetite and makes digestion more effective. It aids growth and healing, and the flow of breastmilk, and the contractions to birth our babies. All of these different effects have the result of enabling animals to grow and to reproduce.

The chapter on breastfeeding is fascinating. However I noticed here and elsewhere some remarks that I know are not supported by evidence, including that mothers who have had a c/section have more difficulties in breastfeeding, the assumption that colic is a stomach disorder, and the assertion that breastfeeding women must avoid alcohol. This leads me to wonder how much of the rest of the content of the book is actually based on real evidence of human experience and behaviour.

Certainly the final section of the book is almost entirely based on speculation about the gaps in our knowledge, and uncritically discusses the role of oxytocin in acupunture and other complementary medicine.

I found much that was useful in this book, particularly on the subject of bonding, and specifically in relation to fathers, which is very relevant for me in my work. However I found the speculation in the final chapters vague and disconnected. I was surprised, given the original assertion that modern life is not conducive to natural oxytocin release, to read that the author is looking forward to oxytocin being available as an drug that can be administered for various conditions. I had expected the book to conclude that human beings need to use our knowledge of natural oxytocin to engage in more behaviour, or create more circumstances, where oxytocin is naturally maximised; not just to pop a pill to achieve all those beneficial effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book!, 19 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Oxytocin Factor: Tapping the Hormone of Calm, Love and Healing (Paperback)
A very informative book that is extremely well written. It is easy to understand and therefore easy to take the information in. The book is written in short sections which include diagrams to help explain items further. It has a fantastic index at the end of the book which makes this an excellent reference book also. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and it really amazed me how much this previously little known-about hormone does!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The secret to calm and contentment, 23 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Oxytocin Factor: Tapping the Hormone of Calm, Love and Healing (Paperback)
`The Oxytocin Factor' reveals to the lay as well as professional audience a secret so prevailing that it has remained unseen until now; and this revelation points the way towards the wonderful possibility of increasing our chances of living in a state of health and well-being.
The basics of the body`s `fight or flight' hormonal response to stress have been appreciated for a long time thanks to the publication of extensive research, but it was assumed that the opposite of being in 'fight or flight' mode was simply to not be in that mode.
This absorbing and enjoyable book reveals the opposite end of the see-saw, and identifies and describes for us the physiological state of 'calm and connection'; the healthy antidote to our fast-paced and often lonely and disconnected modern lives.
Professor Kerstin Uvnas Moberg, using occasional diagrams and summary tables at the end of some of the more information-stuffed chapters, brings to life these opposing physiological systems. She describes the hitherto unconsidered and unknown areas of effect and systems of working of the hormone and neurotransmitter, oxytocin.
She reveals its importance not just as a substance concerned with labour and breastfeeding, but as a vital part of those elusive states of healing, closeness, relationship with food, openness to relationship, trust, calm and contentment in both men and women.
Those concerned with childbirth and mothering will grasp the relevance of having an up-to-date understanding of the `shy hormone', but proven and speculative areas, for example, alternative therapies, where oxytocin possibly plays the starring role, are clearly illuminated, so this is a valuable and captivating read for many people.
She considers the basis for the values and standards by which we live today, and the opposing and very different way to which we are also biologically adapted and intrinsically structured.
Kerstin Uvnas Moberg explains the relevant physiology and the results of her research findings, and those of others, with the warmth of a mother (her own experience of motherhood aroused her curiosity in oxytocin) and the clarity and far-sightedness of the respected Professor that she is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and insightful, 15 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Oxytocin Factor: Tapping the Hormone of Calm, Love and Healing (Paperback)
The Oxytocin Factor answered questions that I hadn't realised I needed to ask.

Written with simplicity and warmth, it explores a previously neglected area - one that has far reaching implications to the lives of everyone, young and old.

Whether you are a nursing mother experiencing that rush of love for your child; whether you are someone who values the peace and calm of yogic meditation; or if you are someone who craves an escape from daily chaos, this book explains why these feelings happen, and why they are so important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxytocin Factor: Tapping the Hormone of Calm, Love and Healing (Paperback)
An excellent book, so much of it makes common sense, have recommended it to others on my MSc, an excellent resource if you are undertaking any sort of research on normal birth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this Book!!, 30 May 2013
This review is from: The Oxytocin Factor: Tapping the Hormone of Calm, Love and Healing (Paperback)
I thoughly enjoyed reading this book, as a Breastfeeding counsellour i am constantly using excepts from this book to show expectant parents, it really helps explain the importance of skin to skin for both mum and dad!!, the dads are always very interested as its something special that they can do to, not only in support of their children but also as an emotional support to their partners. I would reccomend this book, both as an fascinating read, but also as an important teaching aid for anyone helping support parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful in preparation for natural childbirth., 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Oxytocin Factor: Tapping the Hormone of Calm, Love and Healing (Paperback)
Very useful in finding out more about how oxytocin affects us and although it uses scientific language it wasn't too ' heavy' to read. I wanted to find out more about oxytocin and childbirth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Oxytocin Factor, 11 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Oxytocin Factor: Tapping the Hormone of Calm, Love and Healing (Paperback)
A very readable book yet based entirely on scientific research. It shows what we are capable of and how we can use science to tap into feelgood factors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, the science behind our emotional response, 21 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have enjoyed reading this, a bit heavy early on but when you get past that very interesting. Hopefully there will be more research in this area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Oxytocin Factor: Tapping the Hormone of Calm, Love and Healing
The Oxytocin Factor: Tapping the Hormone of Calm, Love and Healing by Kerstin Uvnas-Moberg (Paperback - 28 Jun 2011)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews