Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, someone who appreciates breath as the imperative.
As a yoga teacher, teaching new students to listen to the breath requires a surfeit of superlatives and alternatives. Sabatini is expert at reviewing the breath in all its guises, showing how it can still and move the body during yoga practice and beyond. Her sensitivity of the subject demonstrates her deep knowledge of the exoteric and esoteric effects the breath can...
Published on 8 Nov 2000 by barbara.wright@btinternet.com

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Esoteric poems rather than a genuine guide to inner stillness - I returned it for a refund
This book is 'pretty', but totally lacking in substance.
In fact, it is the only book I have ever returned for a refund.
Instead of calming, I found it frustrating and irritating, because I was looking for the inspiration and guidance it promised, but I couldn't find it.
The description promises to guide us through the process of learning how to breathe...
Published 1 day ago by Sunshine


Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, someone who appreciates breath as the imperative., 8 Nov 2000
As a yoga teacher, teaching new students to listen to the breath requires a surfeit of superlatives and alternatives. Sabatini is expert at reviewing the breath in all its guises, showing how it can still and move the body during yoga practice and beyond. Her sensitivity of the subject demonstrates her deep knowledge of the exoteric and esoteric effects the breath can have on the body, and how once contacted can result in everyday life changes (not just during practice). Without overburdening the reader with detail, her style of prose is appropriate for individual digestion and appreciation, or to share within a like-minded group. As soon as I start to read something from the book, my attention goes to my breath - something which has never happened before. A real bedside (and lifetime) companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last - the perfect yoga book!, 15 Nov 2000
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an absolute gem. I have been practising yoga for many years, and have been delighted to find a book that can actually enhance my practice. It works on so may levels... You can read it as poetry, you can choose one or two pages to meditate on, it works as an inspiration to practice, and also as a clear and helpful instruction manual. The pictures are beautiful - the way it's been presented is appropriate, but it is the underlying spirit and simple yet profound insights that make this my desert island book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the gift of the breath, 13 Mar 2006
"Breath: the essence of yoga" gets as close to the bone and heart of breathing and its infinite hidden treasures as any writing can get. It is the kind of book that heightens our awareness of simply listening to the breath. It also sharpens the presence of the mind with razor precision to the subtleties of inhaling and exhaling, the importance of the breath in relation to the spine,and allowing the body¡¯s natural intelligence to awaken. Sabatini was a student of Vanda Scaravelli, and the book's images and insights bear testimony to Scaravelli¡¯s life and legacy. The text is distilled from transcripts of Sabatini¡¯s classes recorded in 1998, deftly woven and arranged to read like an anthology of poetry. I viewed the entire text as a sacred sutra on the breath--I recited them as if they were ancient mantras. Each of Sabatini¡¯s poetic sketches is beautifully crafted, and the insights they release would take other writers pages to summon. A truly rare gift that deserves the widest possible readership in all languages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Esoteric poems rather than a genuine guide to inner stillness - I returned it for a refund, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breath: The Essence of Yoga - A Guide to Inner Stillness (Paperback)
This book is 'pretty', but totally lacking in substance.
In fact, it is the only book I have ever returned for a refund.
Instead of calming, I found it frustrating and irritating, because I was looking for the inspiration and guidance it promised, but I couldn't find it.
The description promises to guide us through the process of learning how to breathe properly and then how to incorporate this with simple yoga positions. But it doesn't deliver.
The book is laid out as a series of short 'poems' - super-short half-sentences and micro-paragraphs, with often fewer than 30 words per page, plus an occasional line drawing.
If you were a complete beginner, you would really struggle to create any kind of pranayama / breathing awareness practice from this book. Its passages are more esoteric than instructional.
The description says that "The book's main aim is to show that that if you learn how to reconnect with the breath you can experience enormous benefits such as renewed energy and a greater calmness." It may well be. But it forgets the 'how to learn' bit, whislt marketing itself to beginners.
It is much more suited to experienced yogis and meditators, who could use its short abstract passages as inspiration for meditation and awareness - if they want to.
It's not a bad book, if you're looking for. It's simply that it doesn't deliver the promise in the description and for me it felt contrived and lacking in substance. Sorry...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what i was looking for, 3 Jan 2014
By 
SKY (Nottinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breath: The Essence of Yoga - A Guide to Inner Stillness (Paperback)
This is a beautiful book. I keep it out and look at it for inspiration almost every day, it goes well with my yoga practice and mindfulness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars definatley one for your collection!!, 14 Feb 2007
This review is from: Breath: The Essence of Yoga - A Guide to Inner Stillness (Paperback)
You've gotta get it!!

I have the first edition of this book with the blue cover, Sandra's descriptions of the breath in all aspectc of doing and non doing, stillness and asana are beautiful. I got the book when I was a student teacher, but now as a teacher I bring it into class often. I definatley reccomend this book wheather you are a regular class goes or a teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gentle book, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sabatini is hugely empathic to the reader and light on explanation so there are not dozens of pages of text to read before you get to the crux of the matter. It is a little like an ideas book as she includes useful pieces of awareness and guidance that are gently written and the postures are little basic drawings which work well for me as they communicate better than photographs of model yogis.

She spends time on 4 breathing techniques and 6 yoga postures plus the sun salutation. There is definitely something about less is more and so she gives permission to spend time observing the self in a very few postures.

Little drawn images are dotted throughout which give `ideas' without the intellect getting in the way.

A book to have in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breath, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Leslie C. Edwards (Devon u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breath: The Essence of Yoga - A Guide to Inner Stillness (Paperback)
Book arrived in good time, this is a excellent work by an accomplished yogini, for anyone studying the healthy art of yoga. Its a wonderful guide to improving one's health .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simply beautiful, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been going to yoga classes for years and avoided texts as I wanted to learn through practice.
This is one book I would recommend for its simplicity and beautiful illustrations -even of what a breath looks like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super, 21 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breath: The Essence of Yoga - A Guide to Inner Stillness (Paperback)
This book was recommended by my Yoga teacher.
Sarah Sabatini seems to have the nack of relaying
calm and the words and tecniques are a joy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breath: The Essence of Yoga - A Guide to Inner Stillness
Breath: The Essence of Yoga - A Guide to Inner Stillness by Sandra Sabatini (Paperback - 20 Dec 2006)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews