Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does Exactly What It Says on the Tin!
This collection of articles provides a multitude of insights into the complex and mysterious world of horse-racing. While no-one should expect to find the key to successful betting here, you can expect to learn a great deal that will help you make wiser, more informed decisions - bearing in mind that every horse race is an opportunity to lose money! Tally-ho!
Published on 5 Mar. 2012 by Dr. A. B. Thomas

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Definitive for novices
Arrived within 3 days, read at a single sitting, is full of sound information for beginners and novices alike, definitive enough to put learners on the right track, however it is more of a compendium of 'advice' articles written by journalists and has any number of misconceptions based upon conventional wisdom, for instance; most professional bettors who knows their stuff...
Published on 25 Feb. 2013 by Topcat1958


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does Exactly What It Says on the Tin!, 5 Mar. 2012
By 
Dr. A. B. Thomas "Alan Thomas" (Warrington, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Betting on Horses (Paperback)
This collection of articles provides a multitude of insights into the complex and mysterious world of horse-racing. While no-one should expect to find the key to successful betting here, you can expect to learn a great deal that will help you make wiser, more informed decisions - bearing in mind that every horse race is an opportunity to lose money! Tally-ho!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Definitive for novices, 25 Feb. 2013
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Betting on Horses (Paperback)
Arrived within 3 days, read at a single sitting, is full of sound information for beginners and novices alike, definitive enough to put learners on the right track, however it is more of a compendium of 'advice' articles written by journalists and has any number of misconceptions based upon conventional wisdom, for instance; most professional bettors who knows their stuff when it comes to National Hunt racing will tell you that a pound in weight will only be equivalent to a length at longer distances when appraising allotted handicap marks or compiling ratings, however you are welcome to doubt that whilst we pro's continue selecting far more winners than journalists do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good general overview, if a bit basic, 28 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Betting on Horses (Paperback)
As an experienced punter I found this to be fairly basic throughout, only offering added insight in the odd paragraph. For someone like my Dad who only occationally has a bet it's quite a good book, however, for those experienced in the field it does come across as at times basic.

I did find some of the chapters quite arrogant, and the constant references/plugs to the Racing Post become a bit repetitive. Still, worth a read (it's on sale through the RP Shop for half this price, so buy it there then pass it to a mate).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top class..., 4 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Betting on Horses (Paperback)
Top class book, with some easy to follow information relating to the racing post website and some good ideas, alot to take in but well worth reading a few times. Would recommend reading in conjunction with well handicapped horses by jon gibby
Just started a blog interpreting ideas from this book -[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars uk horse race betting book, 18 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Betting on Horses (Paperback)
Received book in rapid time, only read a few pages and my knowledge of this wonderful sport has 10 folded, i cant wait to read the rest of it,although i am saving it for when i return to work as i work away. I am sure i will read it over and over again when i am stuck in a hotel room at night as there are loads of different stats to take in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Covers more ground than an outside drawn horse at Chester., 18 Aug. 2013
By 
Bluecashmere. (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Betting on Horses (Paperback)
This book is a compendium of the thoughts of professionals in the racing game, almost entirely drawn from The Racing Post. It covers a wide area and offers plenty of thoughts to educate and stimulate beginners and those who wish to extend their knowledge, as well as make their investments more profitable.

There is little with which most seasoned punters would disagree but in fairness most of the material can be found in a number of similar books now available. There is, perhaps, little that is original or controversial, but the material is well organised and unlike many such books this one has a valuable index. It's worth returning to after the initial reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part of a range really worth buying if you like a flutter, 13 Dec. 2011
By 
J. Creighton (Haverhill, Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Betting on Horses (Paperback)
This is a great book I mean the entire range of books in 'The Definitive' format.

It covers subjects that arent really covered in other books like for example horses prefer right or left tracks, covers line up a possible winner and how to judge a tipster.

this was such a detailed book I bought several other guides in the range for areas I dont bet on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived quickly, informative for beginners, thanks., 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Betting on Horses (Paperback)
Arrived quickly , informative for beginners, thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BETTING ON HORSES, 30 Mar. 2012
By 
Mr. D Green (MEXICO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Betting on Horses (Paperback)
THIS book arrived today . by the time i got to page 17 this book learned me more than i learned myself by trial and error in 16 years of gambling . it also learned me more than i learned from fellow punters in my whole life . im up to page 65 now and im addicted , i cant put it down . i imagine i will have finished this book within 4 days. think it cost me £11 and probably the best £11 i ever spent .anybody who would gamble on horses without reading this book is simply as stupid as i used to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Point your punting in the right direction, 29 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Definitive Guide to Betting on Horses (Paperback)
A good range of advice and articles, from the basic to the quite complex. There will be something in this book for everyone. Read what the experienced professionals think about betting and use their knowledge to improve your own chances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Definitive Guide to Betting on Horses
The Definitive Guide to Betting on Horses by Nick Pulford (Paperback - 16 Sept. 2011)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews