Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rollercoaster of emotions!
Having read the very odd entry from Palmer's weekend diary entry, this was a must buy for any betting enthusiast. I spent 4 hours charging across London in order to have a copy for Monday mornings light reading on the train to work and the ensuing journeys; that plan is already out the window having finished the book by Monday evening! The joy of my 4 hour escapade on...
Published on 1 Mar. 2011 by Riches

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Drivel
This is without doubt the most tedious and badly written book on betting that it has ever been my misfortune to buy, it only cost me 5p and at that it was overpriced.
Published on 14 Jan. 2013 by William John Byrne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rollercoaster of emotions!, 1 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Born to Punt: Steve Palmer's Betting Year (Hardcover)
Having read the very odd entry from Palmer's weekend diary entry, this was a must buy for any betting enthusiast. I spent 4 hours charging across London in order to have a copy for Monday mornings light reading on the train to work and the ensuing journeys; that plan is already out the window having finished the book by Monday evening! The joy of my 4 hour escapade on Friday was that I benefited with 2 hours immediate reading time!

Absolutely hilarious from the start! For anyone that is regularly involved in financial combat with the bookmakers, or simply intrigued into what makes thousands of people regularly frit away their finances on a variety of sports, Steve's account is frightfully recognisable. Chasing the dream! The lazy boy lifestyle led with his accomplice through various fast-food establishments adds the required light humour!

I very rarely have a financial interest in golf tournaments which is Steve's main betting medium, but will follow his Wednesday column in the Racing Post with closer interest from now on in order to understand how his Sunday evenings entail! I even considered tonight that he is probably on the losing end of West Brom's controversial equaliser - having begun to understood his betting patterns and choices so carefully. I feel your pain Steve!

Sensational read, hopefully inspires more non-professional gamblers to come out with honest in sites into their gambling exploits instead of the current array of titles on offer purely highlighting their major gambles - no rollercoaster ride in those books unlike Steve's!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We await the update, 3 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born to Punt: Steve Palmer's Betting Year (Hardcover)
If you know what its like to wake up in this predominantly terrible, infuriating, venal and nihilistically sad story we're all living in, then you know that you need destractions...

Man made sport...man made sports betting...

But it is WE who decide how far we take it.....and steve palmer has accompanied the theatre with an attempt to make a few quid to support and fuel his love of the games that men play, existing along side them and turning a hope into a dream.

This book outlines all the glory and hope and failure and success a regular man can have in this torturous sham of a society...

We await the update master palmer....youve been doin well recently...

we await the facespit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars only for the truly addicted gambler, 20 July 2011
This review is from: Born to Punt: Steve Palmer's Betting Year (Hardcover)
not a book to buy if you`re looking at how to gamble succesfully,in fact it`s the reverse,what palmer does though,in his uniquely talented way is to portray the true feelings of the commited gambler,as any gambler will tell you,one day you`re feeling like the most wretched piece of humanity who ever walked the earth,the next day you`re smiling as if you`de had a lap dance off elle mcpherson,this is the story of his betting year,massive lows followed by massive highs,you`ll find yourself laughing at his laddish antics,then tutting at his self destructive phases and finally wonder,does this guy need a phycologist,whatever your views on the man himself,it`s an excellant read for any gambler
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book since the Bible, 11 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Born to Punt: Steve Palmer's Betting Year (Hardcover)
could not put this thrilling adventure down, read it cover to cover over the weekend and couldn't sleep a wink!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ifs and putts, 25 July 2012
This review is from: Born to Punt: Steve Palmer's Betting Year (Hardcover)
This does what it says on the tin - SP tells the tale of his numerous wagers throughout 2010
He is convinced that if can land a big win (minimum £30,000) he'll have a big enough kitty to abandon his 'day job' on the Racing Post and become a professional gambler.
Anyone who likes a bet will be able to relate to his string of near-misses.
It's also something of a cautionary tale as his available funds dry up as Christmas is coming.
Steve writes with a refreshing candour which makes this an entertaining and brisk read.
But he seems destined to fail with his long-term aim, largely through a lack of self-discipline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any punter !!!, 22 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born to Punt: Steve Palmer's Betting Year (Hardcover)
As regular Racing Post buyer but not a Palmer column reader (I will be now)I came upon this book by accident - but what a glorious accident!! A brilliant 'unputdownable' read and a must for any punter. Steve Palmer's 'warts and all' diary tells a familiar tale to all of us who 'love a punt' - the wonderful highs and disastrous lows are here in all their glory. Palmer's anti hero approach to life is refreshingly honest and utterly hilarious. I have opened a Twitter account just so I can keep up to date with his antics !!! Great read - thoroughly recommended. Get a girlfriend Steve - it might be the only thing that can save you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pub Bookie Pub Bookie Pub Bookie Pub Bookie, 3 Mar. 2012
By 
This review is from: Born to Punt: Steve Palmer's Betting Year (Hardcover)
This was great. Simple honest diary of a committed sports (mainly golf) punter and enthusiastic beer drinker with an ambition to give himself a large enough betting bank to work with. It's amusing and I find myself willing him to win the BIG one that will give him what he needs. As the diary days passed by, I found myself genuinely disappointed when he reported losses. His scatter-gun approach may hit the target one day; I hope it does - he deserves a bit of luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whens the next one out ?, 6 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Born to Punt: Steve Palmer's Betting Year (Hardcover)
Never lay up or lay off!.An easy pick up is hard to find.Steve Palmers diary is honest to a tee,i dont think i have ever left a pub early to see what an English ginger is up to ,only to find like us all he knows nothing really matters.BANG back to punting.Up there with some of the best sporting autos i have read.IDEAL GIFT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining!, 18 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Born to Punt: Steve Palmer's Betting Year (Hardcover)
Thorougly entertaining read whilst enjoying a large glass of Red! However would like to see more about selection criteria/betting strategies etc, or maybe that could form the basis of another book from Steve Palmer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Drivel, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born to Punt: Steve Palmer's Betting Year (Hardcover)
This is without doubt the most tedious and badly written book on betting that it has ever been my misfortune to buy, it only cost me 5p and at that it was overpriced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Born to Punt: Steve Palmer's Betting Year
Born to Punt: Steve Palmer's Betting Year by Steve Palmer (Hardcover - 22 Feb. 2011)
Used & New from: £1.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews