Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secrets Revealed!
The 'Secrets' are the same 'secrets' that are behind anyone who excels in their chosen field: extreme focus, profound knowledge of the subject, total belief in your own ability and expertise, and plain hard work and determination! Mr Veitch's approach is similar to that exemplified by the legendary american 'gambler,' Pittsburg Phil. He too used a network of agents to put...
Published on 24 May 2009 by Mrs. Michelle P. Williams

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't stay
I have been fascinated by horse racing for many years and my punting has had mixed results. I know from experience that regular profits from betting are very hard to come by.
So the author is to be congratulated on becoming one of the most successful punters the UK has ever seen, with his results attributable to a combination of a sharp enquiring mind and limitless...
Published on 9 Dec 2009 by krsquared


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secrets Revealed!, 24 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The 'Secrets' are the same 'secrets' that are behind anyone who excels in their chosen field: extreme focus, profound knowledge of the subject, total belief in your own ability and expertise, and plain hard work and determination! Mr Veitch's approach is similar to that exemplified by the legendary american 'gambler,' Pittsburg Phil. He too used a network of agents to put on his bets, and had such a profound knowledge of his horses that he could 'visualize' how a race was going to be run. It's easier now with videos available, but in order to have that absolute confidence in your selections, you need to have done the groundwork and investigated how races are run, how horses are trained, and how they are placed - and why they lose! Mr Veitch describes how he devoted hours studying the form book - and ruefully acknowledges that now - with so many data bases available - that work can be done in a fraction of the time. But it still needs to be done. Basically, anyone can accumulate the required knowledge - how you use it is paramount.
Mr Veitch's approach also reminds me of the one outlined in Stewart Simpsons's book 'Always Back Winners,' in that one notes horses which indicate they have greater ability than the bare form suggests.
If you take his many examples and access the data available at the Racing Post website, you can follow some of Mr Veitch's thinking and planning. He is undoubtedly a very astute and intelligent 'gambler,' but he has the characteristics that would have made him a success in whatever field he chose. For anyone who has a serious interest in backing horses, this book is a rattling good read - entertaining and informative. The only thing is - he reminds me of Jerry Seinfeld!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't stay, 9 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been fascinated by horse racing for many years and my punting has had mixed results. I know from experience that regular profits from betting are very hard to come by.
So the author is to be congratulated on becoming one of the most successful punters the UK has ever seen, with his results attributable to a combination of a sharp enquiring mind and limitless determination.
The question at stake here though is do his exploits make for a good read and again I'd say the results are mixed. The first few chapters were certainly interesting as Veitch reveals how at the local bookies he found the perfect opportunity to put his analytical teenage mind to profitable use. Having started a maths degree at Cambridge he soon concluded there was more fun, cash and satisfaction to be gained from betting (and running a highly successful tipping line) & hence his studies were left uncompleted. He then describes how he went into hiding, fearing for his life, to evade a violent gangster who had demanded `money with menaces'.
So far so good. In the second half of the book Veitch describes how he took the bookies for over ten million pounds through a series of meticulously planned coups.
However there are few anecdotes to season the tale and little from racing's inner sanctum to involve the reader. Nor is there much here to help or encourage punters looking to improve their own results. David Nevison's first book is better value and certainly a more entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patrick veitch-Enemy number one., 3 May 2009
By 
Mark Brown (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read the book three times & the reviews & have come to my own conclusions.
I bought the book not expecting a "Beyer" type book where he goes into every detail on how to beat the bookies in the USA dirt tracks.
Mr Veitch has perfected the art of taking money from the bookies, so much so they do everything in their power to stop him or anyone remotely related through friends & family & aquaintances getting money on.
There are more than enough clues in the book to get an understanding of his methods if you look close enough & know where to look.
The only times I have been profitable in racing is when I studied all the time & have had a few accounts shut down.
The book lets you see whats required to win as much money,
£12-£20 Million-
Every aspect of a horse has to be studied & correlated to factors relevant to the race in question, with 16-20 hours form/video study per day.
He makes great relevance to the tracks horses run on & this has improved my betting immediately.
The bottom line is if your looking for an easy system to beat the bookies avoid this-if you want a diary of a punter with selections to peruse & study and also to enjoy-Buy it.

I think the mans a genius 10/10

Mark Brown
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not much to be gained from this book, 21 Sep 2009
His winning technique comes down to total dedication. Other than that he sheds little light on the subject.

It would have been of some use telling us how he analysed a race and how he built a library of videos of races (not easy now let alone back in those days).

Also there would have ben a good story in the mechanics of getting the bets on, but yet again no details were given.

His reason for leaving out these items was to 'not give away his secrets' which was a bit rich as the book was supposedly about how he was No 1.

Ultimately the book is little more than a few private anecdotes and repetition of 'how he won a lot of money'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 26 April 2009
By 
This book really takes you inside the life of a professional gambler. There is a huge amount of detail about Patrick Veitch's betting and the major operation needed to get his bets on. He also takes the reader through one full day, from the selection process in the morning to precise details of the betting in the afternoon and evening. Finally he covers betting theory, explaining what is needed to be successful, both in terms of the method and also the mental side, coping with the pressure and periods of losses.

A must read for anyone who likes a bet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review, 10 July 2009
By 
Mr. A. D. Leahy "anthonydl" (peterborough, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
extremely interesting book thats lets you into the mind of a genius of form reading and a master at betting, this book makes for a riveting read and how you need lots of different attributes to be successful at betting, wouldn't put anyone off buying it, just don't expect to become an instant millionaire after reading it!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ruffled A Few Feathers!, 22 Jun 2009
By 
Ms. O. Falconer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What the writer has done to the UK's bookmakers is awe inspiring. Those wanting to improve their betting can only stand to gain from reading how he did it.

Given how the bookmakers's have most things their won way, it's also pleasing that Veitch has ruffled a few feathers along the way. This is even evident from a blatant campaign of multiple negative reviews on this site. For example, the three most recent reviews all slate the book totally, were written in close succession, two under pseudonyms, with the third one calling the book an 'appallingly written' 'diary' by a 'self-xxxx' 'name dropper', all of which sentiments are expressed in the first of the three. (I have the book here and the diary part takes up less than 20% of the book, so I think we can see what is happening!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Divides Opinions, 2 May 2009
By 
M. Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is likely to divide opinion depending on what you want from it. If you're after knowing how a high staking professional gambler came to take the bookmakers for a fortune, how he operates and how to go about taking gambling seriously, then you'll love this book. On the other hand, if you want a book that flows like a beautifully written novel, ticking all the style boxes along the way, then you may not like it at all.

It's a matter of opinion. As a keen weekend gambler, eager to improve, I loved it and have read it a couple of times already. Someone who wants more of a general interest read may differ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enemy Number One, 20 May 2009
By 
good read of professional gambler, not to long, informative and
entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not enough secrets, 15 Oct 2009
i was very intrigued by the advance blurb for this autobiography as i am interested in horse racing and thought i would learn something i had not known before. instead i discovered a rather drab story of a man with no background who got hooked on gambling at an early age, and tried to make a career of it. there was too much detail of his run in with a murderer and his subsequent hiding from the world. there were some good yarns about individual betting coups, but overall i found it dull and not very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enemy Number One: The Secrets of the UK's Most Feared Professional Punter
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews