Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alan Brazil - The 5 goal wonder
As a talk sport listener and ITFC fan I took no convincing in buying this great book. It reads as if Alan is presenting his show and is very funny at times. It was very interesting to see why he lost his job there and how we all got him reinstated. Dont ever let him go again as he is MR TalkSport. The order of stories were strange at times and I wish there had been more...
Published on 6 Nov. 2006 by Mr. Dean Mitchell

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible
i thought this book was one of the worst sporting biographies I have ever read,which I was surprised at bearing in mind it was written by the talented Mike Parry.However I guess there is only so much you can write about someone and his drinking exploits. The guy seems to pride himself on his ability to get freebies and the amount of alcohol he can drink....well...
Published on 11 Oct. 2007 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 11 Oct. 2007
This review is from: There's an Awful Lot of Bubbly in Brazil: The Life and Times of a Bon Viveur (Paperback)
i thought this book was one of the worst sporting biographies I have ever read,which I was surprised at bearing in mind it was written by the talented Mike Parry.However I guess there is only so much you can write about someone and his drinking exploits. The guy seems to pride himself on his ability to get freebies and the amount of alcohol he can drink....well congratulations on being successful at both those pursuits but I'm afraid the bookwritng has failed miserably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bland stuff, 25 July 2007
This review is from: There's an Awful Lot of Bubbly in Brazil: The Life and Times of a Bon Viveur (Paperback)
This is tedious repetitive stuff. Apart from a couple of chapters from his playing days and his time at Celtic this is a pretty bland effort. There is a limit on describing how many times you have drunk champagne with "Porky" and the hilarious "anecdotes" are pretty laboured. At times its a bit like listening to David Brent's admiration for Finchy.

Mickey Quinn did this subject much better a couple of years ago. Save your money for a pint. The bad news is that his second book is supposed to be even worse....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Was this written to satisfy a bet?, 4 Jan. 2009
This review is from: There's an Awful Lot of Bubbly in Brazil: The Life and Times of a Bon Viveur (Paperback)
It seems Brazil bet Parry he could not write a book with the words 'champagne' or 'bubbly' on every page for the first two thirds of the book, and Parry won the wager.

If you do read this book, skip to the part where Alan finally starts talking about his football career, and how he rightly took on a former youth coach in court. The chapter or two about Ipswich, Spurs and Man U are worth a look. However, forget the first few chapters, which ram home the point that Alan Brazil drinks champagne at every opportunity, and which say little else.

Pity really, as I love his breakfast show and shall continue to listen wth pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alan Brazil - The 5 goal wonder, 6 Nov. 2006
By 
Mr. Dean Mitchell "deanoitfc" (Great Notley) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a talk sport listener and ITFC fan I took no convincing in buying this great book. It reads as if Alan is presenting his show and is very funny at times. It was very interesting to see why he lost his job there and how we all got him reinstated. Dont ever let him go again as he is MR TalkSport. The order of stories were strange at times and I wish there had been more about Ipswich Town and beating the yellow peril. This is a perfect book for a holiday or a long flight (On Singapore Airlines of course!!!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mike Parry"s book?, 18 Oct. 2007
This review is from: There's an Awful Lot of Bubbly in Brazil: The Life and Times of a Bon Viveur (Paperback)
The queston that needs to be asked is why is this book written by mega-bore Mike Parry,who just happens to be Brazils boss.It reads like the Mike Parry version of Brazils life not his own.Its as if Parry wrote it and showed it to Brazil the day before it was published.The first chapter makes you want to throw up,its all about Brazil being fired by guess who?Yes you have guessed it MikeParry. How can Parry be objective about one of his own employees?.And there is only so much you can take reading about all his freebies(does he ever pay for anything?) and getting drunk.Instead of criticizing Brazils huge alcohol intake Parry just encourages it,its all one big laugh. Will Alan Brazil be writing Mike Parrys book?

This really is a wasted opportunity.There is a decent story to be told about why a promising career went downhill after he left Ipswich especially the two moves to Man Utd and Spurs which were nothing short of a disaster, but get a decent writer to write it not someone with the writing skills of a two year old.Someone who is willing to tell Brazil"s story warts and all.As Brazil would say save your money and buy yourself a bottle of wine. Very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Talk sport best, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great. Read for talk sport fans. Brazil at his best with Porky along for company and entertainment value. A master team at work and play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bazil, 3 Nov. 2006
By 
Mr. F. Odozi "fodozi" (vancouver) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you like football and like being a socializer you will love this book. The stories in the book are funny and are told in an honest way.

This is one of the best books I have read and would read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars funny, entertaining and with some excellent anecdotes, 7 Nov. 2006
By 
Chris Hall "reviewmeister general" (South West, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Like many I've enjoyed the talksport breakfast show for many years. The book very much focuses on his time on the radio (it's ghost written by his colleague and friend Mike Parry [porky]). The chapters cover the good times and the bad, and expose Mr Brazil as exactly what we know him to be - a fun, generous and entertaining man with great warmth and respect for most around him.

Other areas include his youth, love for the game, his close bond with Ipswich Town and also the difficult times. These include some of his transfers away from Ipswich and the fun, and at the same time deadly serious, run ins with the powers that be at Talk Sport.

A well written and flowing read: highly recommended for those who not only enjoy the radio show but football in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite Good, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book would have liked more stuff from Alan's playing days but overall an entertaining book with some good anecdotes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY ENTERT S INING, 11 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the book was great. it add me laughing good read
I would read another book on the same subject excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

There's an Awful Lot of Bubbly in Brazil: The Life and Times of a Bon Viveur
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews