Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book
Fantastic easy to read once you start you don't want to put it down. Makes you wish you had followed your dream.
Published 15 months ago by Miss Michelle Trussler

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Reunion in Barsaloi
I guess you might be expecting a very passionate second part of the "white Massai". The curiosity drove me to buy the second part. I wanted to know what happened.
The second part is just a description, day by day, of the trip that the author did in 2004 to visit her Kenyan Family. One book for 2 weeks visit that could be resumed in: The Kenyan family received her...
Published on 5 Oct. 2009 by Dr. Jl Prieto


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars book, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reunion in Barsaloi (Paperback)
brilliant story of what happens when she goes back and how the family respond to her i would recommend this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting as a follow-up to White Masai but unable to hold the same fascination
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed all of the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reunion in Barsaloi, 30 April 2009
By 
Dr. Jeanette Moore (N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reunion in Barsaloi (Hardcover)
Reunion in Barsaloi
Having lived in Kenya and spent many holidays at Diani Beach, and having gone on safaris to Samburu, I was unable to put the book down until I had finished reading the entire copy. I also read the White Masai and Return from Africa which evoked unforgettable memories of our years living and working in East Africa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heart warming, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wasn't sure I would enjoy this book, but I absolutely loved it. I would thoroughly recommend it as it just rounds off the 'White Masai' story which I also enjoyed thoroughly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting conclusion to an emotional tale., 5 Feb. 2007
By 
Angela Speck "Pop_culture_geek" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reunion in Barsaloi (Hardcover)
"Reunion in Barsaloi" is essential reading if you've read "The White Masai". This book explores Hofmann's return to Kenya more than a decade after she fled her Masai husband. Although her style is as engaging as ever, this book lacked the substance of the first. It seemed almost a memorial to the many loved ones she left behind, and does indeed make for moving reading, but perhaps not quite as much so as the first novel. Being African myself, I loved the emotions she evoked with her numerous passages describing the changes to Africa, and couldn't help but feel regret about many of them - as I believe she does. It is also interesting to read how her and her "ex" husband establish a peace of sorts, and how there remains, if not love, a deep affection between them. I very much hope that should she decide to take her daughter to meet her Kenyan family, she would write a memoir of this too - I'd definitely buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sequel that transports you into Kenya, 4 Aug. 2009
This review is from: Reunion in Barsaloi (Paperback)
After reading 'The White Masai', which I thought was excellent, I was worried that this sequel would not be as good. I had no need to worry!

The book follows Corinne Hofmann, who after fourteen years returns to her beloved Kenya to visit her ex husband and his family. You feel transported into her life, as she accurately and passionately re-tells all that happened on her trip 'home'.

The book is half the length of 'The White Masai', but the 158 pages packs in more love, drama and adventure than I ever thought possible.

I would recommend this book to anyone, but it would be especially good if you have an interest in Kenya, or the Masai tribe. It is also a book to be read as a sequel, not on its own. Read 'The White Masai' first.

Buy it! You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars revisited, 7 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reunion in Barsaloi (Paperback)
To return to the country after a gap of 14 years, i found this book just as interesting as white maasi..Descriptions of the every day way of life,which has change but in many ways still the same old. diffinitely worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You need to have read the White Masai first, 10 Aug. 2010
By 
Red Jonah (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reunion in Barsaloi (Paperback)
This book tidies up the loose ends and answers some of the questions that the reader has at the end of the White Masai. Factual and moving in places. Not an excellent book, but worth reading all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Ending to The White Massai, 7 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Reunion in Barsaloi (Paperback)
This was a great story ending the trilogy of The White Maasai. Thoroughly enjoyed all 3 books and after visiting Kenya and the Maasai area I could identify with it
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reunion in Barsaloi
Reunion in Barsaloi by Corinne Hofmann (Paperback - 26 April 2007)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews