Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book
Fantastic easy to read once you start you don't want to put it down. Makes you wish you had followed your dream.
Published 11 months ago by Miss Michelle Trussler

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Reunion in Barsaloi
I guess you might be expecting a very passionate second part of the "white Massai". The curiosity drove me to buy the second part. I wanted to know what happened.
The second part is just a description, day by day, of the trip that the author did in 2004 to visit her Kenyan Family. One book for 2 weeks visit that could be resumed in: The Kenyan family received her...
Published on 5 Oct 2009 by Dr. Jl Prieto


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Reunion in Barsaloi, 5 Oct 2009
By 
Dr. Jl Prieto - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reunion in Barsaloi (Paperback)
I guess you might be expecting a very passionate second part of the "white Massai". The curiosity drove me to buy the second part. I wanted to know what happened.
The second part is just a description, day by day, of the trip that the author did in 2004 to visit her Kenyan Family. One book for 2 weeks visit that could be resumed in: The Kenyan family received her very well, she explains her emotions and nothing exciting happens. I hope the release of this second part was not just a commercial move taking advantage of the success of the White Massai. That would be very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Zzzzzzz......, 18 April 2011
By 
C. Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reunion in Barsaloi (Paperback)
I enjoyed The White Masai so was really looking forward to what happened when Corinne went back after 14 years. This book was a 2 week trip drawn out till it was threadbare to make a book. In a nutshell, her 'African Family' welcomed her back (although the fact that they are only the least bit interested in Corinne for her money, seems to completely escape her notice ......surely no one can be that thick skinned!......some even come right up to her asking for money for goodness sake!) Well, I guess she did make her own money off the back of them via the books, so all's fair in love and war as they say. Anyway she went back for 2 weeks, didn't take her daughter so there was no big Father and Daughter reunion that I expected, and basically done nothing other than get up, visit some old places she used to go to, go to bed, get up next day and do same......ate 3 meals a day, mainly goat of course, and this was the whole book !

Save your money, you haven't missed anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing sequel to The White Masai, 24 Mar 2007
By 
J. Kisseih (Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reunion in Barsaloi (Hardcover)
The White Masai was absolutely brilliant and a book I would highly recommend - however this book was really quite disappointing and very drawn out and kept recapping on events already covered in the first book. The material contained in Corinne's second book could have been covered in a magazine article which would have made an interesting recap of Corinne's story and the outcome of her reunion - it definitely doesn't warrant a whole book though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic easy to read once you start you don't want to put it down. Makes you wish you had followed your dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reunion in Barsaloi (Paperback)
This is not usually my type of read but after reading The White Masai which was recommended by a friend, I just had to read the sequels. Excellent account of a women thrust into a different culture. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 14 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good sequel to the white masai i really enjoyed this story and in some ways it was better than the original. would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an experience to go back to that beautiful country ..would love to see the film that was made of her life. Excellent read ,could not put it down ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect ending to the perfect story, 8 Aug 2006
This review is from: Reunion in Barsaloi (Hardcover)
I read Return to Barsolai in one day, soon after reading The White Masai for the first time. Although it's not as captivating as the first memoir, I must say it's likely because endings are never as exciting as beginnings. It's definitely a must-read for anyone who loved White Masai, or wants to learn more about what life in modern-day Africa is like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not comparable, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is short, lacks the detail of the original and really isn't worth reading. Yes, Corrine finds Lketinga and he's ok, that's the only interesting detail to be said about it. Nowhere near as good as the White Masai
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Sequel!, 10 Aug 2006
By 
Ms. G. S. Gibson (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reunion in Barsaloi (Hardcover)
After reading 'The White Masai' over a space of 2 days, I simply could not wait to read 'Reunion in Barsaloi'. Seeing that the release date of the novel was not until September 2nd, I got in touch with Corinne's publishers in London and with the help of one person, I got to read this book long before it's UK release date.

Corinne Hofmann leaves out no details and kindly shares her life with her readers. I was intrigued to find out what would happen when she returns to her African family and her once Masai Warrior lover. The book is so touching, and seeing that I have a keen interest in the culture which surrounds Africa, particularly the Swahili language, I found myself pleased when I was able to read one of the Swahili words within the novel and think "I know what that means!"

Having never been to Kenya before, but having a few friends who come from that part of the world, Corinne Hofmann has only made my desire to travel to Africa much more intense.

This book is a wonderful sequel and I really cannot wait now until the movie of "The White Masai" is released throughout the UK.

Anyone who has read the first book, will definitely enjoy this as a followup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reunion in Barsaloi
Reunion in Barsaloi by Corinne Hofmann (Hardcover - 9 Feb 2006)
Used & New from: £1.18
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews