Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books ever!! Classic Masterpiece, 10 Oct 2012
This review is from: Animation in Sugar: 14 Beautifully Hand-crafted Modelling Projects for Celebration Cakes (Hardcover)
I am really excited to have this book. It gives you recipes from cookies to cake, marshmallow and cake pops. You will find step by step instructions for everything you have to do before decorating the cake (making the sponge, making the suryp, covering the cake and the board e.t.c) Every project has its own mini treat, a mini cake or a cookie or a pop which is similar to the cake design. I was also very pleased to find actual instructions on how to make cute characters. And most important! Every project has great step by step pictures. This is one of the BEST 2 books I own, and I have a lot of books about modelling and cake decorating. This book is a classic! Well done to the Carlos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sugarcraft dreams are made of this, 15 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animation in Sugar: 14 Beautifully Hand-crafted Modelling Projects for Celebration Cakes (Hardcover)
Possibly the most clear, informative and best illustrated book on sugarcraft modelling I have seen yet. Perfect balance of instructions, tips and high-quality photographs including templates. I am a self-taught fan of sugarcraft modelling with several years of experience but this book has much to offer both me or the beginner. Carlos Lischetti's distinctive style creates elegant, fun and dramatic looking models for cake toppers which will astound your recipients with the depth of the imaginative beauty and innovation, and yet astound you how simple some of them really are. Includes some basics such as an essential equipment guide, tutor tips in baking and covering a cake with board for the optimum foundation for his modelling projects for celebration cakes and how to use supports and dummy cakes. Leaves plenty of room for the advanced sugarcrafter to pick up perfecting tips and new ideas too. I defy anyone not to get goosebumps from the wonder of his creations: "Animation in sugar" moves the average sugar model into a totally new dimension. 14 varied projects with standing, sitting, fine or stocky models gives you plenty of things to copy or to earn from in your own creations. I haven't been able to put it down this morning since the post man arrived and can't wait to follow his first model with my own twist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for any sugarcrafter, 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animation in Sugar: 14 Beautifully Hand-crafted Modelling Projects for Celebration Cakes (Hardcover)
Just received this long anticipated book and wasn't disappointed. Really well written and laid out, with such elegant looking figures. Step by step instructions, recipes tips and techniques with really useful suggestions on how to transport figurines and how to get the proportions correct. Lovely book to have in your collection to refer to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I defy anyone to give less than 5 stars!, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animation in Sugar: 14 Beautifully Hand-crafted Modelling Projects for Celebration Cakes (Hardcover)
Fabulous book! ... I own literally hundreds of sugarcraft books and this is definitely in my top 3! When I first looked at it I nearly cried as it's SO beautiful - sorry, not sure I should really admit to that! ... The projects are stunning yet broken down into really simple steps that anyone could attempt. I can't wait to have a free afternoon to embark on a project.
I really can't imagine anyone not loving this book ... go on BUY IT - pretty certain you won't be disappointed. X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait!, 3 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animation in Sugar: 14 Beautifully Hand-crafted Modelling Projects for Celebration Cakes (Hardcover)
An amazing book! With wonderful projects from an elegant bride & groom a cute baby & a fabulous fairy & a great baking grandma! can't wait to get stuck in and have a go! Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight!, 3 Jan 2013
By 
Janet Wilman (SW FRANCE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animation in Sugar: 14 Beautifully Hand-crafted Modelling Projects for Celebration Cakes (Hardcover)
Beautiful book, an inspiration, have bought the face moulds to go with it. The recipes for cakes, fillings and cake pops are wonderful as well. Every thing works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carlos Lischetti, Master Sugarcrafter!, 18 Feb 2013
By 
Lola Creole (London,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animation in Sugar: 14 Beautifully Hand-crafted Modelling Projects for Celebration Cakes (Hardcover)
I have followed Carlos Lischetti's wonderful blog for years as I have always marvelled at his amazing sugar creations. I was thrilled when he announced that a book was coming out and delighted when it arrived. It's exactly as described on the cover - 14 beautifully crafted modelling projects that at first, may look impossible to recreate. However the clear, concise instructions and lovely photography mean that anyone should feel confident enough to have a go. An absolute must for anyone interested in sugar art. Congratulations Carlos!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Book, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animation in Sugar: 14 Beautifully Hand-crafted Modelling Projects for Celebration Cakes (Hardcover)
I don't often feel the need to write a review but, my copy arrived yesterday and I couldn't put it down.

It is a work of art in its own right. Not to mention logical and easy to follow. Everything from the tools you need, how to use them, how to make and cover the cakes to the actual modelling of these characters - complete with templates in the back.

It all just works so well.

I just can't wait to get started!

Just buy this book - you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful book, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animation in Sugar: 14 Beautifully Hand-crafted Modelling Projects for Celebration Cakes (Hardcover)
I have many 'how to' sugarcraft books, you know the type, flowers, models, cake finishes and etc. This book however is the first that has left me in absolute awe of the beauty of the models created. The instructions for each model/project are easy to follow with enough photos of the different stages of the model making. Another plus is that as well as the projects, the book offers cake, biscuit and fillings recipes.

The only downside to this book I have found is that it leaves you wanting more. I can't wait for the author to publish another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORK OF ART, 24 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animation in Sugar: 14 Beautifully Hand-crafted Modelling Projects for Celebration Cakes (Hardcover)
Great detail explinations of the projects step by step with magnificent photographs , it is a delight
So easy to undertand great techniques
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Animation in Sugar: 14 Beautifully Hand-crafted Modelling Projects for Celebration Cakes
£18.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews