Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST for any aspiring day skipper
This RYA publication is an absolute must if you aspire to Day Skipper. Its all there. Simple, concise and well written. It includes all the latest content. You really need little else to guide an experienced sailor to demonstrate day skipper competence. Usually recommended by sailing schools.
Published on 27 May 2011 by Philip Fryer

versus
48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money if you have got shorebased text
Like most people doing their Day Skipper practical exam, I'd taken a shorebased couorse over the winter. As part of this we were issued with the RYA shorebased text - a great little book. I wanted to know more about the practical aspects so purchased this practical course notes text assuming (as it was by the same publisher) that it would compliment the shorebased notes...
Published on 26 Oct 2009 by 1st year GEP medic


Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money if you have got shorebased text, 26 Oct 2009
This review is from: Day Skipper: Practical Course Notes (Rya505) (Paperback)
Like most people doing their Day Skipper practical exam, I'd taken a shorebased couorse over the winter. As part of this we were issued with the RYA shorebased text - a great little book. I wanted to know more about the practical aspects so purchased this practical course notes text assuming (as it was by the same publisher) that it would compliment the shorebased notes and fill in the gaps. However I was very disappointed to see that much of the book is IDENTICAL to the shorebased book - much of the content and in some cases exact copies of the pages! It isn't cheap for such a small text and I'm afraid I feel well and truly had - I might as well have bought the same book twice! Shame on you RYA...

If you already have shorebased notes then please don't bother with this - there is very little new content and you will end up as frustrated as me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST for any aspiring day skipper, 27 May 2011
By 
Philip Fryer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Day Skipper: Practical Course Notes (Rya505) (Paperback)
This RYA publication is an absolute must if you aspire to Day Skipper. Its all there. Simple, concise and well written. It includes all the latest content. You really need little else to guide an experienced sailor to demonstrate day skipper competence. Usually recommended by sailing schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, 27 Sep 2010
This review is from: Day Skipper: Practical Course Notes (Rya505) (Paperback)
A good book for bringing one up to date with what can be expected on the day skipper course,with very helpful explanations and diagrams of many differing maneuvers and scenarios,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Production, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Day Skipper: Practical Course Notes (Rya505) (Paperback)
Probably one of the most essential aids you could carry on any vessel. Very clear and concise. Fabulous to have on board as a quick reference when needed. We are all capable of short term memory loss and this is exactly where this little publication comes into a class of it's own.
One word to describe this publication - "INVALUABLE"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book with Day Skipper Summary, 11 Aug 2010
By 
Jan Janssen "JJ" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Day Skipper: Practical Course Notes (Rya505) (Paperback)
This is a good book that provides a decent summary of the day skipper course. I would have expected a little more detail though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good primer for the practical course, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Day Skipper: Practical Course Notes (Rya505) (Paperback)
This proved a handy primer for the Day Skipper practical course and on occasion during the course was a useful aide memoir. It's OK - but basic, and I'm not sure I'd buy it again over a more comprehensive text book. If you're at all serious about your yachting you'll probably move on well past this quite quickly - so perhaps just borrow one if you can for the short time you'll use it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 Aug 2014
This review is from: Day Skipper: Practical Course Notes (Rya505) (Paperback)
Very good book. All things explained and easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Day Skipper: Practical Course Notes (Rya505) (Paperback)
Does what it says.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Day Skipper: Practical Course Notes (Rya505)
Day Skipper: Practical Course Notes (Rya505) by Royal Yachting Association (Paperback - 13 Jan 2005)
9.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews